Pak violates ceasefire again,jawan killed in firing

Pak violates ceasefire again,jawan killed in firing

There was no loss of life or sustained injuries to anyone in the Pakistan firing.

An army jawan was killed as Pakistani troops resorted to mortar shelling on forward India positions in Bhimber Gali area of Mendhar on Tuesday afternoon,along the LoC in what is stated to be the second ceasefire violation of the day and the eighth in less than a week.

Identifying the deceased as Lance Naik Mohammad Firoz Khan of Hyderabad,a defence ministry spokesman Col R K Palta said that he sustained splinter Injuries when a shell exploded near him. He is survived by his wife and two children.

The Indian army retaliated. The heavy exchange of fire continued several hours after the firing that started at 5.30 PM from across the border,a Defence spokesman said on Tuesday night.

Only yesterday,one BSF jawan was injured in firing by Pakistani Rangers in Samba.


GOC 16 Corps expresses his deepest condolences to the family of deceased Lance Naik.

“There was no loss of life or injury to anyone in Pak firing on this side”,the spokesman said. Border Security Force (BSF) jawan,Constable M Basu was injured when Pakistani troops resorted to firing on Katav Border Out Post (BoP) along the International Border (IB) in Samba district on Monday.

On October 12,Pakistani Army troops resorted to firing of mortar shells,automatic and small arms firing in forward areas along LoC in Bharasingha and Mendhar battalion forward areas in Krishna Gati and Bhimber Gali sub-sector of Poonch.

On 11 October,Pakistani Army troops resorted to shelling of 82 mm mortars besides automatic and small arms firing in forward areas along LoC in Barasingha,Mendhar and Hamirpur sub-sectors of Poonch district forcing Indian troops to retaliate.

(ens report with PTI inputs)

Follow the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 real-time on Check the Lok Sabha election schedule, your Lok Sabha constituency details as well as where Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi are campaigning in the Lok Sabha Election. On Twitter, follow @Decision2019 for the latest news and analysis.