Follow Us:
Thursday, October 22, 2020

President’s rule to be revoked in Telangana; KCR set to take oath as CM

TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao to be sworn in as the first Chief Minister of the Telangana on Monday.

By: Press Trust of India | Hyderabad | Updated: June 1, 2014 7:39:02 pm
 Preparations underway for the swearing-in ceremony of Telangana Rashtriya Samithi (TRS) government in Hyderabad on Saturday. (Source: PTI) Preparations underway for the swearing-in ceremony of Telangana Rashtriya Samithi (TRS) government in Hyderabad on Saturday. (Source: PTI)

Telangana would come into existence as the 29th state of India on Monday, capping the decades-old struggle in the region for carving out a separate state from Andhra Pradesh.

President’s rule imposed in united Andhra Pradesh would be revoked partially on Monday to facilitate the swearing-in of a government in the newly-created Telangana headed by TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao. A notification is expected to be issued on Monday morning in this regard.

The Central rule would, however, continue in the residual AP until TDP Chief N Chandrababu Naidu takes charge as Chief Minister, which is likely on June 8.

Chandrasekhar Rao is scheduled to be sworn in as Chief Minister at 8.15 am at the Raj Bhavan here on Monday by Governor ESL Narasimhan, who will be the Governor for both Telangana and the residual Andhra Pradesh.

After taking oath as first Chief Minister of separate Telangana, Chandrasekhar Rao would attend the official celebration of ‘Telangana Formation Day’ at the sprawling Parade Grounds here.

The ruling TRS, other political parties and Telangana supporters have lined up a number of events in Hyderabad and elsewhere to celebrate the realisation of the decades-long dream.

TRS activists and supporters have already painted Hyderabad pink, the colour of TRS flag, by installing huge cut-outs, banners, festoons and balloons hailing their leader.

According to TRS sources, cultural programmes would be organised from 9 pm to 11.59 pm tonight and a dazzling display of fireworks would be held from mid-night at People’s Plaza and Tank Bund at the picturesque Hussain Sagar lake to celebrate the occasion. Chandrasekhar Rao’s daughter and MP Kavitha would attend the celebrations at Telangana Bhavan, the TRS headquarters here.

The journey towards achieving the goal of separate Telangana has been momentous and there have been a number of milestones in the saga. In 1956, Andhra and the then Hyderabad state were merged to form Andhra Pradesh, the first state to be formed on linguistic basis in the country. In 1969, an agitation for formation of separate Telangana began and about 300 people were reportedly killed in the agitation. In a big fillip to the separate Telangana agitation, BJP came out in support of separate statehood demand and it promised “one vote, two states” in the 1998 elections.

A group of Congress MLAs from Telangana submitted a memorandum to party president Sonia Gandhi in 2000 demanding separate statehood to the region. The separate Telangana agitation got a huge boost in 2001 when the then TDP leader K Chandrasekhar Rao quit the party and launched the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) to fight for separate state.

TDP announced support for separate Telangana demand in 2008 and it joined hands with TRS for the 2009 Lok Sabha and Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections. The Telangana agitation grew subsequently after Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy died in a chopper crash in September 2009 as he was seen as a formidable opponent of separate Telangana.

The TRS president began a fast-unto-death towards the end of 2009 and the then Union Home Minister P Chidambaram announced on December 9, 2009, that steps would be taken for formation of separate Telangana.

In the wake of strong protests in Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema, the Centre set up a commission, headed by retired Supreme Court judge B N Srikrishna, for more consultations on the issue. The Commission presented six options to the Centre. On July 30, 2013, the Congress Working Committee (CWC) favoured formation of separate Telangana.

The Union Cabinet approved the proposal to divide Andhra Pradesh in October 2013. After the Union Cabinet approved the bifurcation, a Group of Ministers (GoM) was appointed to go into the issue of AP’s division. The Union Cabinet approved the draft AP Reorganisation Bill on December 5, 2013, based on the recommendations of the GoM.

President Pranab Mukherjee referred the Bill to the AP Legislative Assembly for its views. The Bill was, however, rejected by the Assembly on January 30 this year amid din. The Bill was tabled in Parliament for passage and the Lok Sabha witnessed unprecedented scenes with a group of Congress MPs moving a no-confidence motion against the UPA government.  Uproarious scenes were witnessed in Lok Sabha with Seemandhra MP L Rajagopal using pepper-spray, though the Bill was passed in Parliament with the support of BJP.

Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy, who raised a banner of revolt against the decision to divide AP, resigned from his post when the Lok Sabha passed the Telangana Bill in February this year.

The process of bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh began following the passage of the Bill in Parliament and June 2 was declared as the ‘Appointed Day’ when Telangana would come into existence as the 29th state of India.

In the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections held last month, the ruling Congress suffered a humiliating defeat both in Seemandhra and also Telangana.
With 63 of 119 Assembly seats, TRS bagged majority in Telangana paving way for the party’s president K Chandrasekhar Rao to be sworn in as the first Chief Minister of the new state on Monday.



📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by