Follow Us:
Tuesday, December 07, 2021

How Gabbar Singh,Bhutto bit the dust in UP polls

Famous names,or even notorious ones,failed to carry the day as the UP poll results showed.

Written by Agencies | Lucknow |
March 7, 2012 5:02:52 pm

Famous names,or even notorious ones,failed to carry the day as the UP poll results showed.

Namesakes of famous people like Zulfiquar Bhutto,Mayawati and Talat Aziz and fictional film character Gabbar Singh bit the dust in Uttar Pradesh after hoping to capitalise on lucky coincidence for a poll victory.

If there’s one category that seems most popular at the just concluded Assembly elections,it’s the names of national and international political leaders.

A high-school passout,55-year-old Mayawati,the namesake of outgoing Chief Minister fielded by Congress,came fifth from Lakhimpur Kheri’s reserved Srinagar constituency,polling 12,195 votes.

The seat was won by Samajwadi party’s Ramsaran who got 69,776 votes. The Bahujan Samaj Party(BSP) supremo herself did not contest the elections.

Pakistan’s former ruler Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto died 35 years ago,but UP election has brought him back from the dead in the form of Agra South’s(BSP) contestant.

Bhutto came second polling 51,364 votes after BJP’s Yogendra Upadhayay whose victory margin was 22,960 votes.

Former Bangladesh President Zia-ul-Rahman has been revived,too,as BSP’s candidate from Aligarh’s Koil constituency. He came fourth polling 30,487 votes in the constituency wOn by SP nominee Zameerullah Khan who garnered 44,847 votes.

Firoz Khan alias Gabbar of BSP went down fighting to Mitrasen Yadav of Samajwadi Party from Bikapur constituency,losing by 1,868 votes.

A BSP candidate calling himself only by America got 48,655 votes from Saidpur but came a distant second to Subhash of SP losing by 41,969 votes.

A namesake of Salman Rushdie,Rushdi Miyan,whose actual name is Abbas Ali Zaidi,came second behind in Rudauli losing narrowly to SP’s Ram Chandra Yadav of BJP by 941 votes.

Political bigwigs may have a following among present-day politicians,but entertainers,too,have many takers. Ghazal singer Talat Aziz has made a comeback,only this time,he’s not crooning his way into drawing rooms.

Aziz,unlike the famous ghazal singer,is a woman and came fourth from Maharjganj’s Paniyara constituency. A seasoned Congress politician,she got 35,451 votes and lost to Deo Narayan alias G M Singh of BSP who sailed through with 56,114 votes.

There’s a namesake of former Prime Minister Chandrashekhar in the electoral fray,as well. Testing political waters as a Congress candidate from Bahraich,he came second losing to SP nominee Waqar Ahmad Shah by 15,000 votes.

Academicians have not been left out in UP’s electoral battleground either,with Congress’s Shakuntala Devi reminding masses in Kaimganj of the famous Indian mathematician with same name. She came fourth polling 19,833 votes in this seat won by SP candidate Ajit Kumar.

Philosophers and thinkers,too,are in the fray. There are two Vivekanands in the political battle. One is BSP candidate from Dariyabad in Barabanki who came second while a Nationalist Congress Party candidate,came 20th in Hata in Kushinagar.

Apart from the namesakes,battleground UP was equally interesting for the uniqueness of names of some candidates contesting the election.

Onscreen character Chulbul Pandey may have made a lasting impression on people’s minds in the 2010 blockbuster Dabangg,but in Allahabad’s Meja constituency,BSP’s Collector Pandey came second.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by