Follow Us:
Monday, July 04, 2022

Govt lists eight new bills for Monsoon session

The NDA government will introduce eight new bills and take up 11 pending bills for consideration and passage during the Monsoon session beginning July 21, sources said.

Written by Liz Mathew | New Delhi |
Updated: January 27, 2017 10:42:41 am
monsoon session, parliament, land bill, new bill, lok sabha. nda, bjp, parliament monsoon session, latest news The session is scheduled to conclude on August 13.

The NDA government will introduce eight new bills and take up 11 pending bills for consideration and passage during the Monsoon session beginning July 21, sources said.

Government has listed the GST bill, Negotiable Instruments (Amendment) Bill, 2015 and the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes (Prevention of Atrocities) Amendment Bill, 2014, Delhi High Court (Amendment) Bill, 2015 and The Electricity (Amendment) Bill, 2014 for taking up during the session, which is expected to be stormy with the Opposition up in arms against the ruling party over the controversies involving Vyapam scam and allegations raised by Lalit Modi.

WATCH | Union Minister Sripad Naik On CM Candidate For Goa BJP

The list also includes the controversial Land bill – the Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Re-settlement (Second) Bill, 2015. But sources said the bill, which is currently with a Joint Committee, is unlikely to be taken up as the political parties have not been able to reach a consensus on it.

Best of Express Premium
UPSC Essentials: Key terms of the past weekPremium
ExplainSpeaking: Despite the fall, are Indian stock markets still overval...Premium
‘Peter Brook tried to destroy, recreate us. I wasn’t willing to be destro...Premium
In Gujarat, Covid crisis brings estranged couples together for second chancePremium

The list was finalised today after Parliamentary Affairs Minister M Venkaiah Naidu reviewed the status of the legislative proposals made by the ministries. Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Minister of Law & Justice Shri Sadananda Gowda, Minister of Minorities Welfare Najma Heptullah, Minister of Science & Technology Harsh Vardhan, Minister of Tribal Welfare Jual Oram, Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment Tawar Chand Gehlot, Minister of AYUSH Sripad Yasso Naik, Minister of Tourism and Culture Mahesh Sharma, Minister of State for Agriculture Mohanbhai Kalyanbhai Kandariya and MOS(Parliamentary Affairs) Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Secretaries of 30 Ministries/Departments attended today’s meeting.

The session is scheduled to conclude on August 13.

WATCH VIDEO | Shiv Sena Breaks 25-Year Alliance With BJP In Maharashtra, To Go Solo In BMC Elections

The bills for introduction are Negotiable Instruments (Amendment) Bill, 2015 ( To replace an Ordinance), the Bureau of Indian Standards (Amendment) Bill, 2015, the Consumer Protection (Amendment) Bill, 2015, the Constitution amendment bills relating to reservation of women in Panchayats and Local Bodies, the Road Transport & Safety Bill, 2015, the Merchant Shipping (Amendment) Bill, 2015 and the Human Deoxyribose Nucleic Acid (DNA) Profiling Bill, 2015.

Bills pending in Rajya Sabha, where the NDA does not enjoy majority are the Mental Health Care Bill, 2013, the Child Labour (Prohibition and Regulation) Amendment Bill, 2012, the Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Bill, 2013, the Whistle Blowers Protection (Amendment) Bill, 2015 as passed by Lok Sabha, the Real Estate (Regulation & Development) Bill, 2013 (presently with Select Committee), the Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection of Children) Amendment Bill, 2015 and the Appropriation Acts (Repeal) Bill, 2015.

The government, which held different meetings at highest level to discuss strategy to defend itself from the Opposition attack on the recent controversies involving its leaders, today constituted an expert group headed by NITI Ayog Vice Chairman Arvind Panagariya to collage caste count to counter the criticism over not releasing the caste census data in the first Socio Economic and Caste Census (SECC). Congress, CPI(M), DMK, SP, RJD and JD(U) have closed ranks on the issue and demanded that caste data should be released, which they calculate, would consolidate the OBC votes in upcoming Bihar polls.

Express Explained Go beyond the news. Understand the headlines with our Explained stories

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by