Ex Maya lieutenants forms alliance to challenge BSPhttps://indianexpress.com/article/india/india-others/ex-maya-lieutenants-forms-alliance-to-challenge-bsp/

Ex Maya lieutenants forms alliance to challenge BSP

BSP supremo Mayawati's former lieutenants have joined hands to float a new alliance with the sole objective of challenging their former party.

BSP supremo Mayawati’s former lieutenants have joined hands to float a new alliance with the sole objective of challenging their former party.

The new alliance – Adhikar Manch – which has decided to contest all the 80 seats in the state,launched its poll campaign even before the dates of the Lok Sabha elections were announced. The group comprises leaders who were considered as trusted lieutenants of Mayawati and Kanshiram.

The campaign is being led by regional party Apna Dal headed by Sone Lal Patel,who was once a BSP rank holder.

In the last general election,the party forged an alliance with the BJP,but failed to open an account.This time the party has decided to align with the smaller regional parties,with a hope of making an impact.


Another alliance partner Bhartiya Samaj Party,too is an off shoot of the ruling BSP. Bhartiya Samaj Party is led by Om Prakash Rajbhar,who was once a trusted lieutenant of Mayawati.

Having influence in Rajbhar community,he made a foray in the electoral politics in last polls. The party which bagged 3.8 per cent votes in the last Assembly elections,will now contest 18 parliamentary seats in eastern UP.

“Though I was approached by the Samajwadi Party,which wanted me to contest from Ghosi,I declined the offer and decided to align with like-minded parties,” Rajbhar said.

“My party will contest on 18 seats in Poorvanchal region of the state,for which candidates have already been finalised,” Rajbhar said.

Adhikar Manch kickstarted its campaign from Chandauli,from where Bhartiya Samaj Party has fielded Tulsi Singh Rajput as its candidate.

Another former lieutenant of the BSP supremo,who will be challenging her authority in the coming Lok Sabha polls is R K Chaudhary. The sitting MLA from Mohanlalganj seat was once a minister in Mayawati’s cabinet.Chaudhary’s differences with the BSP supremo over certain issues led to his ouster from the party.

Like his peers,Chaudhary too floated his own party BS4,and with a share of seven seats in the newly formed alliance he is busy finalising candidates.

National Loktantrik Hind Party (NLHP) chief Masood,who was a minister in the Mayawati government,before he was shown doors by the party supremo,plans to contest from at least six seats.

The other constituents of the Adhikar Manch include Vanchit Jamat Party,Lokpriya Samaj Party and Bhartiya Sarvodaya Party of Raja Ram Pal,former BSP state president.

“Seat sharing between all the constituents has been finalised. It has been decided that all the alliance partners will campaign for candidates,” Bhartiya Samaj Party Om Prakash Rajbhar said.