Follow Us:
Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Chiefs of boards, panels too under pressure

Chairperson of the Central Social Welfare Board Prema Cariappa too has resigned. But not everyone is willing to go quietly.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Published: June 20, 2014 1:28:04 am

Governors, it seems, are not the only actors in the ongoing drama over high-profile resignations. Even before the Raj Bhavans controversy began, the cabinet secretariat had written to all ministries, asking for details of political appointees in the various commissions and boards, and their remaining tenures.
And some ministries have begun to send out signals to chairpersons of commissions attached to them that they might want to consider putting in their papers.

The vice-chairman of the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA), M Shashidhar Reddy, and five of its members have already resigned; three more are likely to follow in the coming days. Former D-G, CISF K M Singh, former civil aviation secretary K N Shrivastava, Maj Gen (retd) J K Bansal, former BARC director B Bhattacharjee, and former CBI special director K Salim Ali have quit their NDMA posts along with Reddy.

“I sent my resignation on June 16 itself. Though it is a fixed tenure of five years, and my term ends in December 2015, I decided to quit. The other members who tendered their resignation today got a call from the home secretary,” Reddy said.

The NDMA is headed by the Prime Minister. The vice-chairman enjoys the rank of cabinet minister, and its eight other members have the rank of union minister of state. The three members who have not resigned so far are former CRPF D-G J K Sinha, medical expert Muzaffar Ahmed, and former Secretary of the Department of Ocean Development Harsh K Gupta.

Chairperson of the Central Social Welfare Board Prema Cariappa too has resigned. But not everyone is willing to go quietly.

Kushal Singh, chairperson of the National Commission for Protection of Child Rights, has taken the government to court, alleging that she is being forced to resign. Citing a 2010 judicial order that says that incumbents in tenure posts do not need to resign with the change of government, Singh has said that resigning in response to “feelers” from the government would mean going against the mandate of the commission she heads.  The court has sent a notice to the ministry.

Dr Rajeshwar Oraon, chairman of the National Commission of Scheduled Tribes, said: “These are constitutional bodies and our being in office is not at the pleasure of the government.” Oraon’s tenure ends in October 2016. The WCD Ministry is learnt to have decided not to press for the resignation of NCW chief Mamta Sharma — a Congress politician  — whose tenure ends in August.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by