Follow Us:
Thursday, February 20, 2020

BJP names 63 candidates in J’khand, skips 5 AJSU seats

All the major leaders of the state have been awarded seats, including Arjun Munda, Raghubar Das and Saryu Rai.

Written by Deepu Sebastian Edmond | Ranchi | Updated: November 3, 2014 3:40:04 am

The BJP on Sunday evening released its first list of 63 candidates for the Jharkhand Assembly polls. The list included the name of an outgoing Congress MLA who had featured in the Congress’s list on Saturday. The leader had defected to the BJP earlier on Sunday.

Party sources say the rest of names for the House of 81 will be announced later as the discussions for a pre-poll alliance with the AJSU Party are on. The AJSU, which has demanded 10 seats, currently has six legislators. The BJP’s list does not mention candidates in five of the six AJSU seats – in Hatia, which the latter won in a bypoll, the BJP has named Seema Sharma.

All the major leaders of the state have been awarded seats, including Arjun Munda, Raghubar Das and Saryu Rai. The party has decided to retain 12 of its 18 MLAs. Two of the six were not given seats for extraneous reasons – Laxman Gilua became an MP after the Lok Sabha elections while Jharia’s Kunti Singh has managed to get son Sanjeev Singh to replace her. Baidyanath Ram of Latehar, a minister in the Arjun Munda cabinet, is one of the four to lose his ticket.

Of the four former bureaucrats who joined the party ahead of the polls, former cabinet affairs secretary J B Tubid will contest from Chaibasa while former ADGP Amitabh Choudhary, IG Laxman Singh and IG Sheetal Oraon have been ignored. The BJP has not yet announced anyone for Lohargada – the seat Oraon wants – as it is held by the AJSU.

Among those who got tickets are six outgoing MLAs who have defected: Anant Pratap Deo who was the Congress MLA from Bhawanathpur, two former JMM MLAs and three from the JVM(P). Deo, who also featured in the Congress list of 14 names released on Saturday, had defected to the BJP on Sunday afternoon.

JPP releases first list of candidates
Jamshedpur: The Jharkhand People’s Party (JPP) Sunday released its first list of candidates for the 10 Assembly constituencies, including six ST seats, for the upcoming Assembly elections in the state. JPP, which has already announced to contest all the 81 Assembly seats on its own, declared party chief Surya Singh Besra as its chief ministerial candidate. Addressing a press conference, Besra said the first list of 10 candidates had been finalised while screening of candidates for the remaining seats is on.    (PTI)

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by