BJP accuses Congress of clumsy handling of Telangana issue

BJP accuses Congress of clumsy handling of Telangana issue

BJP spokesperson said that the party is firmly committed to the creation of Telangana.

BJP on Thursday claimed that “miserable failure” of the Congress to create a separate Telangana peacefully,its lack of ideological commitment on the issue and internal divisions within the ruling party have led to an anarchic situation in Andhra Pradesh.

“The Centre has miserably failed to create a separate state of Telangana peacefully. Instead of arriving at a peaceful bifurcation of the state,the Congress has created a chaotic situation and divided the people of Telangana and Seemandhra regions,” BJP spokesperson Prakash Javadekar said.

The party alleged that the “clumsy handling” of the issue by the Congress has created an “anarchic situation” in the state.

It said Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy is opposed to bifurcation of the state.


“He is up and against the handling of the situation by the central leadership. This can happen only in the Congress,wherein its own chief minister is against the (Congress) party’s decision,” Javadekar said.

BJP maintained that the situation has deteriorated as Congress has no ideological commitment to the issue and is only concerned about electoral convenience.

“The anxiety and apprehensions in Seemandhra region are actually the reflection of serious concerns of the people there and speaks volumes about the inaptitude of the Congress government,” Javadekar said.

The main Opposition said it is firmly committed to the creation of Telangana as it feels this will pave the way for the peaceful coexistence of the states and rapid economic progress.

Asked about TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu reaching out to the BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi,Javadekar stated that it shows the growing support for the Gujarat chief minister cutting across regions.

Follow the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 real-time on Check the Lok Sabha election schedule, your Lok Sabha constituency details as well as where Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi are campaigning in the Lok Sabha Election. On Twitter, follow @Decision2019 for the latest news and analysis.