Actor, JNU professor, novelist in AAP 3rd list

Mixed bag of candidates as party announces names for 20 constituencies.

New Delhi | Updated: March 2, 2014 9:26:17 am

The Aam Aadmi Party, which released its third list for 20 Lok Sabha constituencies Saturday, has given tickets to a sociology professor, wife of the late TV actor Jaspal Bhatti, a Malayali novelist and former bureaucrats, among others. The party has fielded candidates for 70 constituencies so far.

From the north east Delhi constituency, AAP will field national executive member and JNU professor Anand Kumar against Congress MP and former head of the Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee Jai Prakash Agarwal.

While AAP workers had been pushing for former Delhi minister Rakhi Birla for the north west Delhi seat, the party gave the ticket to Mahendra Singh, who campaigned for the AAP during the Assembly elections. He will go up against sitting MP and Union Minister for Women and Child Development Krishna Tirath. The candidates for two other Lok Sabha seats in Delhi — South and New Delhi — are yet to be announced.

From Chandigarh, the party will pit TV actress Savita Bhatti against three-time sitting Congress MP Pawan Kumar Bansal.

The party also announced candidates from Madhya Pradesh, Orissa, Kerala and Bihar.

For the two seats in Kerala, the party will field former IPS officer Ajit Joy and Malayali novelist Sarah Joseph. Winner of the Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award for her book, Aalahayude Penmakkal, Joseph has been at the forefront of the feminist movement in the country. She will be pitted against Joint Parliamentary Committee Chairman P C Chacko from Thissur.

In Thiruvananthapuram, former UN official and IPS officer Joy will contest against Union Minister Shashi Tharoor. While Tharoor is a former UN under-secretary general, Joy had quit the IPS to join the UN’s office on drugs and crime. Joy had also campaigned for the AAP during the Delhi Assembly elections last year.

In Madhya Pradesh, RTI activist Rachna Dheengra will fight for the Bhopal seat against former CM and BJP MP Kailash Chandra. In Indore, another former diplomat, Anil Trivedi, will fight seven-time sitting BJP MP Sumitra Mahajan.

Prabhat Ranjan Das, a doctor-turned-activist, has been chosen for the Darbhanga constituency in Bihar. He will take on former cricketer and BJP MP Kirti Azad.

Other names announced by the AAP include activist Shailendra Singh Kushwaha, up against Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia from Guna, AAP leader Atul Mishra from Sagar and teacher Rajesh Sareram from Betul.

AAP hits the streets in Srinagar

SRINAGAR: The AAP Saturday officially began its election campaign from the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat by holding a ‘Jhadu Abiyan yatra’ in different parts of the city. AAP’s campaign was led by the party’s Srinagar Lok Sabha candidate Raja Muzaffar Bhat, a noted RTI activist. Bhat said the aim of his party is to eradicate corruption and highlight problems faced by locals. ENS

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App