Follow Us:
Wednesday, August 17, 2022

With 8 Congress MLAs joining NPF, no Opposition in Nagaland

All 60 MLAs are part of the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) led by the NPF.

Written by Samudra Gupta Kashyap | Dhubri, Guwahati |
November 25, 2015 12:17:54 am

The Nagaland assembly now has no Opposition. Speaker Chotisuh Sazo has issued a notification formally recognising that all eight legislatures of Congress have joined the ruling Naga People’s Front (NPF), thus leaving the Opposition with no MLAs.

Tuesday’s development comes after months of rebellions and defections in Congress and NPF.

With CM T R Zeliang managing to set his house right and putting an end to internal bickering, the Assembly now has 46 MLAs from NPF, four from BJP, one from JD(U), one from NCP and eight Independents. All 60 MLAs are part of the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) led by the NPF.

Zeliang welcomed the development, saying efforts to form an opposition-less government in the state have finally become a reality, both “de-facto and de-jure”.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key-August 17, 2022: Why you should read ‘Remission’ or ‘Free Speech...Premium
BJP shake-up: Gadkari & Shivraj out of Parliamentary Board, Yediyurap...Premium
Crypto romance scams: ‘Asian women’ on Twitter are coming for...Premium
Cheetahs are set to arrive in India, what the big cats have to sayPremium


The eight Congress legislators who are now members of the NPF are SI Jamir, Tokheho Yepthomi, S Hukavi Zhimomi, Imtiwapang Aier, Imtikumzuk, Eshak Konyak, Khekaho Assumi and C Apok Jamir.

The state Congress unit has described the Speaker’s decision allowing its rebel MLAs to join the NPF as “daylight robbery.” State party president K Therie said in Kohima that the Speaker had not notified the party about its eight MLAs defecting to another party.

“The Speaker has arm-twisted anti-defection laws to dismiss the disqualification petition filed against eight Congress MLAs who violated party directives. The dismissal of the petition has disregarded the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, 2003, and the Speaker has demeaned the constitutional office he holds,” Therie said in a statement.


Zeliang, on his part, hailed the Speaker’s decision and said an opposition-less government would strengthen the ongoing Naga peace process.

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 25-11-2015 at 12:17:54 am
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by

Featured Stories