Opposition MLAs evicted from UP Assembly after protests

Azam Khan said strict action should be taken against the MLAs, whom he accused of committing contempt of the House by jumping into the Well even before the start of proceedings.

Written by Maulshree Seth | Lucknow | Updated: August 24, 2016 4:44:08 am
UP assembly, UP assembly uproar, UP assembly protests, Uttar Pradesh, azam khan, uttar pradesh elections 2017, up polls, monsoon session, uttar pradesh assembly, akhilesh yadav government, up government, bulandshahr gangrape, dalit atrocities, bjp, rld, bsp, apna dal, indian express news Marshals take away protesting MLAs, Tuesday. (Source: Express photo by Vishal Srivastav)

Pandemonium prevailed in the state Assembly on the second day of Monsoon Session Tuesday as Opposition parties sought to corner the Akhilesh Yadav government over several issues ranging from sugarcane dues and Bulandshahr gangrape to “atrocities against Dalits and Muslims”, prompting the Speaker to order the marshals to evict the protesting legislators.

BSP, BJP, RLD and Apna Dal members had trooped into the well of the House with placards and banners even before the Assembly proceedings started. While BSP members donned caps with slogans “Daliton par atyachar nahi chalega (atrocities on Dalits will not be tolerated)” and banners highlighting the issue of cane dues, BJP legislators raised the issues of law and order, electricity, women security.

RLD members too raised the issue of non-payment of cane dues while Peace Party member Ayub was seen with the banner “Adityanath ke goondon ko giraftar karo (arrest goons of Adityanath)”.

Amidst the din, Speaker Mata Prasad Pandey tried to pacify the members to return to their seats for Question Hour, but in vain.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Azam Khan said strict action should be taken against the MLAs, whom he accused of committing contempt of the House by jumping into the Well even before the start of proceedings and arrival of the Speaker.

On his demand, a resolution was passed with voice vote to remove the agitating legislators following which the Speaker asked the marshals to evict them.

On their way out, some of the MLAs were seen using force against marshals. Later, all the BSP, BJP and Congress members vacated the House and sat on dharna in the gallery outside raising slogans.

Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, meanwhile, tabled a supplementary budget of Rs 25,347.87 crore with a larger section of Opposition sitting on dharna outside.

In the gallery outside, BSP members raised slogans such as ‘Daliton pe atyachaar band karo…’, ‘Bulandshahr ke balatkariyon ko fansi do’, ‘Akhilesh Yadav hosh mein aao’. They also accused SP of atrocities against Muslims. BJP members raised slogans against “worsening law and order”.

Congress MLAs, including Ajay Kumar Lallu, Pankaj Mallik and Bansi Dhar Pahariya, targetted both the SP government as well as BSP and BJP. They raised slogans against BSP-SP shouting ‘Bua-Bhatija waad khatam karo’, ‘Takhta badal do taaj badal do, in luteron ka raaj badal do’. Referring to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, they said: ‘Banaras ka saansad kaun hai, maun hai, maun hai.’

In the House, Azam Khan accused the Opposition of staging protest for the benefit of media. “They are trying to communalise things and vitiate the atmosphere of the state. They are doing all this for cheap media publicity. Instead of pointing banners to us, they are showing it to media,” he said.

“It has never happened in the House. Some legislators used force with marshals,” Khan charged.

In the absence of Opposition leaders, the Speaker continued with the Question Hour and Azam Khan even replied to two of the questions, including one on efforts of the government to remove water logging in cities lile Agra, Kanpur, Lucknow, Ghaziabad, and another on whether government would consider putting up CCTV cameras in police stations.

Later, Azam Khan moved a resolution to call back the protesting legislators stating “the House proceedings do not look good without them”.

Though Congress members conceded, BSP, BJP and other parties continued sloganeering outside the House.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App