Twenty-one Delhi Police personnel awarded medals for exemplary service

The police personnel also included a woman police officer.

By: PTI | New Delhi | Published: August 15, 2016 2:51:09 pm

Twenty-one Delhi Police personnel, including a woman officer, have been conferred Police Medals for their exemplary services on the occasion of
Independence Day.

Delhi Police’s Special Cell members Sub-Inspector Krishan Kumar, Assistant SI Ajay Bir Singh, Head Constables Raj Kumar and Umesh Kumar have been awarded Police Medal for Gallantry.

The President’s Medal for Distinguished Service was awarded to Sub-Inspector Girdhari Singh. He has been associated with investigations and arrests in several sensational cases of robbery, forgery and kidnapping. Sub-Inspector Kaushal Pandey is the lone woman officer of Delhi Police who has been awarded President’s Medal for Meritorious Service. Participating in a UN Mission in South Sudan, she was instrumental in saving lives of about 35,000 people who had taken shelter in the UN campus.

The Medals for Meritorious Service have been conferred on 16 Delhi Police officers, including Special Cell Inspectors Hridaya Bhushan and Lalit Mohan Negi who have been associated with probes and arrests in connection with terrorist activities in the national capital like attack on the Parliament and Red Fort shootout.

Ravinder Kumar Tyagi, ACP Model Town, has also been conferred the Medal for Meritorious Service. He served in Angola on a UN Mission and was awarded a medal by the world body.

Other recipients of Meritorious Service medal include Head Constable Bala Nath who has earned 92 rewards for his unblemished service and devotion to duty.

Two honorary officers of Civil Defence have also been conferred the President’s Police Medals. Chief Warden (North West) Brij Mohan Vij has received Medal for Distinguished Service while Deputy Chief Warden (North West) Pawan Kumar Bashin has received Meritorious Service medal.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App