Telangana Rashtra Samiti wins Warangal LS bypoll with 4.6 lakh votes

Today’s results showed that even in the TDP constituencies, a majority of voters preferred TRS.

By: Express News Service | Hyderabad | Updated: November 24, 2015 5:24:44 pm

Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) retained the Warangal Lok Sabha constituency, counting of which was held on Tuesday. TRS’s Pasunuri Dayakar trounced his rivals by a majority of 4,59,092 votes.

Dayakar, a Fine Arts graduate, who has been associated with the party since 2001 and has worked all this while in Warangal district, got a record 6,15,407 votes.

His nearest rival, the Congress’ Sarve Satyanaryana polled 156315 votes, the BJP-TDP’s Dr P Devaiah got 130178 votes while YSRCP’s Nalla Suryaprakash got 23352 votes.

Share This Article
Related Article

The Warangal Parliamentary constituency has over 15.35 lakh electors in seven Assembly constituencies including Ghanapur (Station), Palakurthi, Parkal, Warangal West, Warangal East, Wardhannapet, and Bhupalpalle.

While Palakurthi and Parkal have sitting Telugu Desam MLAs, the remaining five constituencies have TRS MLAs including former health minister Dr T Rajaiah in Ghanapur (Station) and Telangana Assembly Speaker T Madhusudhana Chary in Bhupalpalle.

Today’s results showed that even in the TDP constituencies, a majority of voters preferred TRS.

In the 2014 elections, Kadiam Srihari of the TRS won with a huge margin, polling 6, 61, 639 votes garnering 56.33 per cent of the votes. The Warangal (SC) bypoll was necessitated after the TRS MP Kadiam Srihari who was inducted into the TElangana Rashtra Samiti Government cabinet by Chief
Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao resigned and the seat fell vacant.

On November 21, Warangal recorded 69 per cent polling.

Education Minister Kadiam Srihari said that results reflected the TRS Government’s popularity. “This result proves that TRS Government is doing good work,’’ he said.

IT Minister K T Rama Rao, son of CM K Chandrasekhara Rao, said that the verdict inspires the TRS leaders to work more and better.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App