Suspended Congress leaders float new party, ‘Nagaland Congress’

Suspended Congress leaders float new party, ‘Nagaland Congress’

The concept of forming a new party as a regional outfit is to provide transparency in governance. The new party will also contest in elections in 2018.

NAGALAND, Nagaland Congress, Nagaland new party, Nagaland congress leader Nillo Rengham, Nagaland Government, Nagaland Elections, Nagaland news, latest news, India news
The new party, ‘Nagaland Congress’, aim to reform Nagaland. (Google Maps)

A group of suspended Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC) leaders on Tuesday floated a new political party called the ‘Nagaland Congress’.

Launching the party in Dimapur, former minister and suspended Congress leader, Nillo Rengma, who has been elected a the president of Nagaland Congress, said the concept of forming the party as a regional outfit was to provide transparency in governance and accountability to the public and to give all round development and equal opportunities to the people of the state.

“Our aim is to reform Nagaland, safeguard the rights of Nagas by making it free from corruption and clean the electoral roll,” Rengma said.


Watch Video: What’s making news

He asserted the party would strive to promote and safeguard the traditions and rich cultural heritage of Nagas.


“Nagaland Congress will fully support the Indo-Naga peace process for early settlement, which should be acceptable to all sections of the people,” Rengma added.

Further, the newly formed political party has announced to contest the 2018 state Assembly elections.

Former MLA S Supongmeren Jamir would be the general secretary of the party.

Senior Congress leaders including former Deputy Speaker Joshua Sumi, ex-ministers H Chuba, Vaprumo Demo and few others who were suspended by NPCC president K Therie in September last year for anti-party activities, also joined the new party.

Follow the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 real-time on Check the Lok Sabha election schedule, your Lok Sabha constituency details as well as where Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi are campaigning in the Lok Sabha Election. On Twitter, follow @Decision2019 for the latest news and analysis.