Punjab: AAP releases third list of 29 candidates

Wrestler Kartar Singh Pehalwan (64) has been named as candidate from Tarn Taran. Kanwar Sandhu, (62) a former journalist and head of Punjab Dialogue, will be fielded from Kharar.

By: Express News Service | Chandigarh | Updated: October 8, 2016 6:53:51 am

A PADMA Shri and an Arjuna awardee wrestler, a prominent journalist-turned-politician of the region, a Behbal Kalan activist, a good Samaritan helping the deaf and mute, an industrialist and three former MLAs, a Sikh preacher and a private bus operator are among the 29 candidates of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) announced for 2017 Assembly elections here Friday.

Wrestler Kartar Singh Pehalwan (64), a former director of Sports of Punjab, has been named the party candidate from Tarn Taran. Kanwar Sandhu, (62) a former journalist and head of Punjab Dialogue, will be fielded from Kharar, Kulwant Singh Pandori (44), a journalist, who led the protest against the Behbal Kalan firing incident is the party candidate from Mehal Kaalan, Paramjit Sachdeva (53), who runs a school for specially-abled children and trains them to be self-reliant, has been fielded from Hoshiarpur.

Sukhpal Singh Khaira, a former Congress MLA, has been fielded from Bholath, a constituency represented by women Akali Dal chief Bibi Jagir Kaur.

With the third list of 29 candidates, the AAP has announced 61 candidates for 117 Assembly segments till date. In the list of

29 released Friday, 24 are Sikhs, four are former journalists and two are women.

A popular Sikh preacher, Swaroop Singh Kadiana (41), has been fielded from Phillaur, Manjit Singh Bilaspur (39), a former journalist and an author of Taraf dar Taraf will contest from Mehal Kalan, Gulshan Sharma (60) nominated from Jalandhar (north) is an iron trader and president of Punjab Steel Traders Association, Parimal Khalsa an activist president of Beruzgar Linemen Union will contest from Bhadaur segment.

Dr Vinod Kumar, fielded from Bhoa is a former journalist, Joginder Chhina, fielded from Dina nagar is a private bus operator.

Darshan Lal Bhagat (54) fielded from Jalandhar (west) is a sports good manufacturer and an Independent councillor, Sulakhan Jaggi (43), candidate from Mukerian is a progressive farmer, Harjot Kaur from Banga is an IAS aspirant, Dr Ranyodh Singh Sra (49) fielded from Dharamkot would be taking on Agriculture Minister Tota Singh, Jagdeep Sandhu (35), organises mass marriages of poor girls and is a candidate from Gidderbaha, Nazar Singh Manshahia (56) took premature retirement from Punjab Pollution Control Board to be work for AAP is fielded from Mansa, Jagtar Singh Rajla, a former MLA from Samana, is the AAP’s candidate from Samana, RTI activist Lakhbir Singh Rai from Fatehgarh Sahib, AAP’s NRI wing chairman Jagtar Singh Sanghera from Nakodar, Dr Amarjit Singh Thind, who organises free medical camps has been fielded from Shahkot, trader and SC rights activist Hans Raj Rana from Adampur, Meet Heyar from Barnala, lawyer Amarpal Singh, an Anna Hazare movement activist from Sri Hargobindpur, Kulbhushan Minhas from Sujanpur, Sarabjit Kaur Manke from Jagraon, Dr Charanjit Singh from Chamkaur Sahib, represented by Congress Legislative Party leader Charanjit Singh Channi, and Gurpartap Singh Khushalpur, whose father was a freedom fighter, has been nominated from Dera Baba Nanak.

While releasing the list, AAP state convener Gurpreet Singh Ghuggi said the party would declare all the candidates by the month-end of this month.

In the list released by AAP Thursday, only two candidates are aged 20-30, five 31-40, eight 41-50, eight are between 51 and 60 and three are between 60 and 65 years of age. Five of them are graduates, four are senior secondary, two are matriculate, six are post-graduates, three are diploma holders and three are doctors.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App