Puducherry: CM V Narayanasamy to be inducted as member of Assembly tomorrow

Narayanasamy defeated AIADMK's Om Sakthi Segar in the bypoll, held on November 19, by a margin of 11,144 votes.

By: PTI | Puducherry | Published: November 22, 2016 3:27:38 pm
Narayanasamy, V Narayanasamy, Puducherry, Puducherry bypolls, Puducherry chief minister, Puducherry CM Narayanasamy, Puducherry news, indian express news V Narayanasamy (Express Archive Photo)

Chief Minister V Narayanasamy, who won the Nellithope Assembly bypoll, will be inducted as a member of the House on Wednesday. He would be inducted as member by the Speaker V Vaithilingam in the latter’s chamber in the Assembly premises at 11 am, official sources said.

The 69-year-old senior Congress leader, who was Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office in the second UPA government after serving as MoS Parliamentary Affairs in UPA-I, was sworn in as Chief Minister on June 6, though he was not a member of the Assembly.

A John Kumar of the Congress had vacated the Nellithope seat on September 15 to enable Narayanasamy to contest a by-election before December 6 deadline for getting elected to the House.

Narayanasamy defeated AIADMK’s Om Sakthi Segar in the bypoll, held on November 19, by a margin of 11,144 votes.

While Narayanasamy polled 18,709 votes, Segar got 7,565 votes.

With his election, the strength of the Congress in the 30-member Assembly has been restored to 15 while its ally DMK has two members.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App