Pinarayi Vijayan sworn in as CM of Kerala

Pinarayi Vijayan sworn in as CM of Kerala

Pinarayi Vijayan is leading a 19-member LDF cabinet in Kerala, one less than the outgoing UDF government

pinarayi vijayan, pinarayi vijayan swearing in, vijayan kerala cm, kerala live, CPM, LDF, kerala, kerala news, pinarayi vijayan cabinet, pinarayi swearing in, kerala government
LDF’s Pinarayi Vijayan takes oath as the CM of Kerala. (Source: Tiwtter/ANI)

Pinarayi Vijayan on Wednesday was sworn in as the chief minister of Kerala at the central stadium in state capital Thiruvananthapuram. He will be leading a 19-member cabinet of the LDF which includes alliance partners CPI and NCP. Vijayan himself is set to handle critical portfolios of Home and Vigilance.

The CPM has prepared a tentative list of ministers, which includes E P Jayarajan, Thomas Issac, K K Shylaja, A K Balan, T P Ramakrishnan, G Sudhakaran, Kadakampally Surendran and C Raveendranath.

READ: Austerity drive for the LDF

Here are the highlights:

4:09 pm: Kerala Governor P Sathasivam congratulates Pinarayi Vijayan after he takes charge as the new CM of Kerala.

4:00 pm: Pinarayi Vijayan sworn in as chief minister of Kerala


12:48 pm: How did the other states fare and what’s the analysis we can draw? Read here in detail

12:45 pm: CM-designate said the new government will meet the expectations of the people.

12 noon: Preparations are underway for the swearing-in function scheduled in the evening in Thiruvananthapuram.

11:45 am: Read our analysis of the state assembly election results here

11:35 am: Mathew T Thomas will be the water resources minister.

11:00 am: Film actor Mammootty, who is seen to have leanings towards the LDF, will attend the swearing-in function.

10:55 am: CPM national general secretary Sitaram Yechury has arrived in Thiruvananthapuram to attend the swearing-in function.

10:50 am: Right now, Vijayan and the senior leaders of the LDF are engaged in a meeting at the AKG Bhawan.

10:45 am: CM-designate Pinarayi Vijayan has met the governor and given him the tentative list of ministers in the cabinet.

For latest coverage on Haryana and Maharashtra Elections, log on to We bring you the fastest assembly election 2019 updates from each constituency in both the states.