No Central leader around to lead Congress protest

No Central leader around to lead Congress protest

Party state president Raj Babbar, other Rajya Sabha leaders absent after issuance of whip in House.

congress, uttar pradesh congress, luckn ow rally, lucknow congress, bharat bandh, aakrosh diwas, raj babbar, indian express news, india news
Congress workers protest against demonetisation in Lucknow on Monday. Source: Vishal Srivastav

AICC secretary Avinash Pandey on Monday led the Aakrosh Diwas protest rally in Lucknow after Congress state president Raj Babbar, who was scheduled to lead the march, could not make it after issuance of party whip in Parliament.

Other RS MPs such as P L Punia, Sanjay Sinh and Pramod Tiwari also could not attend the protests in their respective regions following the whip.

Watch What Else Is making News

Pandey demanded an inquiry into purchase of land in states such as Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh over the past few months, and alleged that select individuals had prior information regarding demonetisation. Apart from the heads of Mahila Congress, Seva Dal and the district president, party MLA Akhilesh Pratap Singh also participated in the protest.

Congress CM candidate Sheila Dikshit participated in the protest march at Kanpur, while the march in Varanasi was led by former MP Rajesh Mishra and Congress MLA Ajai Rai along with AICC Secretary Rana Goswami. Former state president Nirmal Khatri was in Gorakhpur, Imran Masood had led the march in Saharanpur, and former Union Minister Pradeep Jain Aditya led the protest in Ghaziabad.


Congress spokesperson Virendra Madan said, “Following party whip in Rajya Sabha, MPs including Raj Babbar, Pramod Tiwari, Sanjay Singh, PL Punia, Rajiv Shukla could not reach their respective allotted districts to participate in the protest, as they had to reach Delhi for Rajya Sabha proceedings in the morning.”