Sunday, Oct 02, 2022

Narendra Modi Cabinet reshuffle: Full list

Here is the complete list of ministers and their portfolios after Modi government reshuffled and expanded the Union Cabinet.

cabinet reshuffle, cabinet expansion, cabinet ministers list, modi cabinet reshuffle, modi cabinet ministers, cabinet ministers list, modi cabinet ministers list, narendra modi cabinet, cabinet reshuffle list, new cabinet ministers, venkaiah naidu, rai shankar prasad, smriti irani, cabinet news, india news PM Narendra Modi with Cabinet ministers after the reshuffle. (Source: Twitter/@narendramodi)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi inducted new ministers into his council of ministers in the first week of July. This was followed by a reshuffle of the ministers handling some key portfolios in the Union ministry. Among the significant names moved around where Smriti Irani from HRD to Textiles and Sadanand Gowda from Law to Statistics. Prakash Javadekar gets the Human Resource Development ministry. Finance Minister Arun Jaitley was relieved of the Information and Broadcasting ministry. Former journalist MJ Akbar was inducted into the Council of Ministers and he got the status of Minister of State in the Foreign Ministry.

Five ministers tendered their resignations to Prime Minister Narendra Modi. They are Nihalchand, Ram Shankar Katheria, Sanwar Lal Jat, Manuskhbhai D Vasva and M K Kundariya. The reshuffle was undertaken keeping in mind the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections. Three new faces were inducted in the Council of Ministers from the state.

The ceremony took place at the Darbar Hall of the Rashtrapati Bhavan, where senior leaders of the BJP were present. External Affairs Minister Sushma Swarajhad earlier tweeted that she would not be able to make it due to an engagement with the Foreign Minister of Hungary.

Here is the portfolio of the Union Council of Ministers

Subscriber Only Stories
From the Opinion Editor: An election for the Congress partyPremium
From Nehru to JP, the political leaders mentored by GandhiPremium
Uttarakhand resort murder: Amid questions within, BJP may revamp Dhami go...Premium
From suicide to graft: After power shift in Mumbai, key cases go on the b...Premium

Prime Minister Narendra Modi: 

Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions
Department of Atomic Energy
Department of Space

WATCH VIDEO: Keystrokes – Smriti Irani Gets Textiles


Cabinet Ministers

 Rajnath Singh: Home Affairs
 Sushma Swaraj:  External Affairs
— Arun Jaitley: Finance Corporate Affairs
— M Venkaiah Naidu: Urban Development Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation |Information & Broadcasting
— Nitin Jairam Gadkari: Road Transport and Highways Shipping
— Manohar Parrikar: Defence
— Suresh Prabhu: Railways
— D. V. Sadananda Gowda: Statistics & Programme Implementation
— Uma Bharati: Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
— Najma A. Heptulla: Minority Affairs
— Shri Ramvilas Paswan: Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution
— Kalraj Mishra: Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
— Maneka Sanjay Gandhi: Women & Child Development
— Ananth Kumar: Chemicals & Fertilizers | Parliamentary Affairs
— Ravi Shankar Prasad: Law & Justice | Electronics & Information Technology
— Jagat Prakash Nadda: Health & Family Welfare
— Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati: Civil Aviation
Anant Geete: Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises
— Harsimrat Kaur Badal: Food Processing Industries
— Narendra Singh Tomar: Rural Development | Panchayati Raj | Drinking Water & Sanitation
— Chaudhary Birender Singh: Steel
— Jual Oram: Tribal Affairs
— Radha Mohan Singh: Agriculture & Farmers Welfare
— Thaawar Chand Gehlot: Social Justice and Empowerment
— Smriti Zubin Irani: Textiles
— Dr. Harsh Vardhan: Science & Technology | Earth Sciences
— Prakash Javadekar: Human Resource Development

Ministers of State


— Rao Inderjit Singh: Planning (Independent Charge) | Urban Development Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation
— Bandaru Dattatreya: Labour & Employment (Independent Charge)
— Rajiv Pratap Rudy: Skill Development & Entrepreneurship (Independent Charge)
— Vijay Goel: Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge) | Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
— Shripad Yesso Naik: AAYUSH (Independent Charge)
— Dharmendra Pradhan: Petroleum and Natural Gas (Independent Charge)
— Piyush Goyal: Power (Independent Charge) Coal (Independent Charge) New and Renewable Energy (Independent Charge) Mines (Independent Charge)
— Jitendra Singh: Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge) Prime Minister’s Office Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions Department of Atomic Energy Department of Space
— Nirmala Sitharaman: Commerce and Industry (Independent Charge)
— Mahesh Sharma: Culture (Independent Charge) Tourism (Independent Charge)
— Manoj Sinha: Communications (Independent Charge) Railways
— Anil Madhav Dave: Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge)
— General V. K. Singh: External Affairs
— Santosh Kumar Gangwar: Finance
— Faggan Singh Kulaste: Health & Family Welfare
— Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi: Minority Affairs | Parliamentary Affairs
— SS Ahluwalia: Agriculture & Farmers Welfare | Parliamentary Affairs
— Ramdas Athawale: Social Justice & Empowerment
— Ram Kripal Yadav: Rural Development
— Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary: Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
— Giriraj Singh: Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises
— Hansraj Gangaram Ahir: Home Affairs
— G M Siddeshwara: Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises
— Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi: Drinking Water & Sanitation
— Rajen Gohain: Railways
— Parshottam Rupala: Agriculture & Farmers Welfare | Panchayati Raj
— MJ Akbar: External Affairs
— Upendra Kushwaha: Human Resources Development
— Radhakrishnan P: Road Transport & Highways | Shipping
— Kiren Rijiju: Home Affairs
— Krishan Pal: Social Justice & Empowerment
— Jasvantsinh Sumanbhai Bhabhor: Tribal Affairs
— Sanjeev Kumar Balyan: Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
— Vishnu Deo Sai: Steel
— Sudarshan Bhagat: Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
— Y S Chowdary: Science & Technology | Earth Science
— Jayant Sinha: Civil Aviation
— Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore: Information & Broadcasting
— Babul Supriyo: Urban Development Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation
— Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti: Food Processing Industries
— Vijay Sampla: Social Justice & Empowerment
— Arjun Ram Meghwal: Finance | Corporate Affairs
— Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey: Human Resource Development
— Ajay Tamta: Textiles
Krishna Raj: Women & Child Development
— Mansukh L. Mandaviya: Road Transport & Highways, Shipping, Chemicals & Fertilizers
— Anupriya Patel: Health & Family Welfare
— CR Chaudhary: Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution
— P P Chaudhary: Law & Justice Electronics & Information Technology
— Subhash Ramrao Bhamre: Defence

First published on: 06-07-2016 at 12:05:50 am
Next Story

K G Subramanyan: Writing an image, picturing a story

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments