Modi cabinet expansion: Its BJP govt’s expansion not NDA’s, says Shiv Sena

Earlier, in a clear sign of being unhappy over being excluded from the Union Cabinet expansion, Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray declared his party would not "beg" for cabinet berths.

By: ANI | Mumbai | Published: July 5, 2016 3:19:39 pm
Modi cabinet expansion, Modi cabinet reshuffle, BJP cabinet expansion, Shiv sena , Shiv sena upset on cabinet expansion, Narendra Modi team, latest news, India news Shiv Sena Party Chief Uddhav Thackrey declared his party would not “beg” for cabinet berths. (Express Photo)

Asserting that it had no qualms on not being part of the Centre’s Cabinet expansion which inducted 19 new faces today, the Shiv Sena has asserted that the all the new faces in the expansion were affiliated to the Bharatiya Janata Party and not the NDA Government.

Speaking to ANI here, Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut said that the party had always given paramount important to the pride of its party and Maharashtra and never sold its self respect for the sake of power.

Talking about the Cabinet expansion, he added that it was limited only to the BJP and stated that this was not the expansion of the NDA Government.

Share This Article
Related Article

Watch Video: What’s making news

“Every face inducted today is from the BJP. Ramdas Athavale came to the Rajya Sabha from BJP quota, Anupriya Patel merged her party with the BJP. They did not invite Akali Dal or the Telugu Desam, the Shiv Sena has no qualms about not being part of expansion,” Raut said.

Earlier, in a clear sign of being unhappy over being excluded from the Union Cabinet expansion, Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray declared his party would not “beg” for cabinet berths.

“We are a dignified party with self-respect. Whatever comes, it should be with respect. We shall not beg for anyting,” Thackeray told media persons.

He said that berths in the cabinet was a “secondary issue” for the party, adding that “We shall not stand before anybody’s doors laachaar (helpless).”

Meanwhile, in a much-awaited Cabinet reshuffle, Prime Minister Modi today inducted 19 new faces, who have been chosen after an exhaustive vetting process to carry forward the government’s vision of ‘Gaon, Garib aur Kisan’.

The 19 leaders from the BJP and alliance partners the Apna Dal, AGP and RPI were sworn-in at a glittering ceremony held at the Rastrapati Bhawan here.

Minister of State for Environment and Forests Prakash Javadekar, who has been promoted to the Cabinet rank, was the first to take the oath.

Earlier, President Pranab Mukherjee, acting on the advice of Prime Minister Modi, appointed the following as members of the Council of Ministers:

Cabinet Minister:
1. Prakash Javadekar

Ministers Of State:

1. Faggan Singh Kulaste

2. S.S. Ahluwalia

3. Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi

4. Vijay Goel

5. Ramdas Athawale

6. Rajen Gohain

7. Anil Madhav Dave

8. Parshottam Rupala

9. M.J. Akbar

10. Arjun Ram Meghwal

11. Jaswantsinh Sumanbhai Bhabhor

12. Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey

13. Ajay Tamta

14. Krishna Raj

15. Mansukh L. Mandaviya

16. Anupriya Patel

17. C.R. Chaudhary

18. P.P. Chaudhary

19. Subhash Ramrao Bhamre

According to sources, the selection framework clearly laid out by the Prime Minister was to bring in “doers and performers”, who would deliver on his vision of development and good governance.

This marks a firm departure from the usual routine of frequent changes based on caste, religion and other time serving political considerations – and is a firm endorsement of the brand of developmental politics that the Prime Minister champions, they added.

The decision of expanding the Council of Ministers came after taking into consideration a diverse range of factors.

The first major Cabinet reshuffle was in November 2014.According to the Constitution, a maximum of 82 ministers can be accommodated in the Cabinet.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App