Follow Us:
Monday, July 16, 2018

Mamata takes oath as Bengal chief minister at massive Red Road ceremony

Around 1000 people were deployed on the Red Road where Mamata Banerjee was sworn into power

By: Express Web Desk | Kolkata | Updated: May 27, 2016 1:51:30 pm
mamata banerjee, mamata banerjee oath, mamata oath ceremony, west bengal elections 2016, arvinf kejriwal, nitish kumar, akhilesh yadav, indian express news, india news West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC Supremo Mamata Banerjee. (PTI photo)

Mamata Banerjee was sworn in today as the chief minister of West Bengal for the second consecutive time at Kolkata’s historic Red Road. She will be leading a cabinet of 42 members including her. 17 new faces will be among the cabinet of Banerjee’s new term in Bengal.

Officials said an elaborate security cover has been arranged for the function — around 1,000 policemen were deployed on Red Road. This is the first time a chief minister has taken oath on Red Road in an event “open to the public”.

Many of the leaders seen in the Narada tapes feature in the new Banerjee cabinet. Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and MoS for Urban Development Babul Supriyo represented the Centre at the ceremony.


1:05 pm: All the ministers have now taken oath.

1:00 pm: The full list of ministers in the Mamata cabinet

Amit Mitra,
Partha Chatterjee,
Subrata Mukherjee,
Sovandeb Chatterjee,
Suvendu Adhikari,
Goutam Deb,
Abani Joardar,
Bratya Basu,
Sovan Chatterjee,
Abdur Rezzak Mollah,
Jyotipriyo Mullick,
Binay Barman,
Rabindranath Ghosh,
Santiram Mahato,
Churamani Mahato,
Tapan Dasgupta,
James Kujur,
Siddiquallah Chowdhury,
Ashima Patra,
Bachhu Hansda,
Ghulam Rabbani,
Zakir Hossain,
Laxmi Ratan Shukla,
Indranil Sen,
Sandharani Tudu,
Firhad Hakim,
Shashi Panja,
Sadhan Pande,
Moloy Ghatak,
Chandranath Sinha,
Rajib Banerjee,
Ashish Banerjee,
Purnendu Bose,
Manturam Pakhira,
Soumen Mahapatra,
Swapan Debnath,
Arup Roy,
Arup Biswas,
Giasuddin Mollah,
Javed Khan,

Shyamal Santra

12:52 pm: There are 41 ministers in the Mamata cabinet.

12:49 pm: Prominent ministers include Amit Mitra, Partha Chatterjee, Sovan Chatterjee, Subrata Mukherjee and Firhad Hakim took their oaths.

12:47 pm: The ministers are now taking their oaths. Prominent

12:42 pm: Banerjee has taken her oath as the chief minister of the state.

12:32 pm: Banerjee has arrived for the ceremony.

12:29 pm: At least 20,000 people have come in to attend the function.

12:25 pm: Nitish Kumar, Arvind Kejriwal and Akhilesh Yadav are scheduled to be present.

12:20 pm: The CM told reporters on Thursday that all districts except Malda have been represented. The Trinamool does not have a single MLA in Malda district.

12:15 pm: Kolkata Mayor Sovan Chatterjee, former Indian cricketer Laxmi Ratan Shukla and singer Indranil Sen will be among 17 new faces in the new cabinet.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App