My Sushil Modi-Nitish Kumar remark a joke: Rabri Devi

My Sushil Modi-Nitish Kumar remark a joke: Rabri Devi

Prime Minister has kept black money, Lalu Yadav doesn't have any: Rabri Devi

Rabri devi, demonetisation, Rabri devi black money, lalu yadav, lalu prasad yadav, Lau's wife, Former bihar CM Rabri devi, Nirish Kumar, RJD, BJP, Sushil Kumar Modi, BJP, Rabri devi on BJP, Demonetisation debates, india news, indian express news
Former Bihar CM Rabri Devi. (ANI photo)

Reacting to media reports on BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi’s claims that Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar will soon join hands with his party, former Bihar chief minister Rabri Devi on Tuesday stirred a row when she remarked that Modi should take Nitish away in his lap. She later said she made the statement in jest.

“Media wale bole Sushil Kumar Modi kahe hain Nitish Kumar RJD chhor BJP aa jaye, hum bole Modi ji Nitish ko godi mein utha lejaaye.” (Mediapersons were quoting Sushil Modi as saying that Nitish will soon join the BJP, I said let Modi take Nitish away in his lap),” said Rabri Devi in a controversial statement.

The wife of RJD chief Lalu Prasad, however, wondered why should an issue be made out of her remarks. “Par isme kya aapatti ki baat hai? Thoda hassi mazaak kar liya to kya? Sabhi karte hain na? (But what is the problem in this? I joked a little about it, so what? everybody does it right?),” she asked.

Rabri Devi’s statement comes a day after Nitish said his “opponents are trying to politically assassinate me by spreading canards that we are getting closer to the BJP”.

On whether Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s demonetisation move will flush out black money, she said, “PM kala dhan chupa ke rakhe hain.Lalu ji ke paas nahi hai kala dhan, 25 saal se case chal raha hai, 1 chavanni koi nikal ke dikhaye.” (The Prime Minister has hidden black money. Lalu Yadav doesn’t have any black money, the case has been running for 25 years, but dare anybody found a penny on him.)


Rabri Devi is a Member of the Legislative Council and has served as Bihar chief minister for three terms.