Follow Us:
Wednesday, April 08, 2020

14 years to Gulberg case verdict

A day after the Sabarmati Express train carnage at Godhra on February 27, 2002 which killed 59 persons, mostly kar sevaks returning from Ayodhya, violence broke out across Gujarat.

By: Express News Service | Updated: June 3, 2016 2:36:01 am
 2002 Gujarat riots, 2002 riots, BJP, congress, narendra modi, gulberg society, godhra case, gulberg society massacre, amit shah, 2002 Gujarat riots victims, gujarat riot victims, families of victims, indian express news, indian express gujarat riot, india news, latest news The abandoned Gulberg Society in Ahmedabad.

The killings

February 28, 2002: Day after burning of Sabarmati Express coach in Godhra, a mob sets Gulberg Society in Ahmedabad on fire and kills 69 residents, including former Congress MP Ahsan Jafri.

gulberg 1

2002-04, Crime Branch
June 2002-October 2004: Ahmedabad Detection of Crime Branch files 6 chargesheets
November 2003: In between, Supreme Court stays trial of riot cases

2008: SIT
March 2008: Special investigation team set up under former CBI director R K Raghavan
April: SIT takes over probe of 9 cases including Gulberg
July-December: SIT files three chargesheets

2009-16, Trial & judgment
May 2009: Supreme Court vacates stay on trial, B U Joshi appointed special judge for Gulberg case
August: Charges framed
September: Trial begins

gulberg 2

May 2010: Supreme Court stays pronouncement of judgment
January 2011: Trial completed
February: Judge B J Dhandha takes over the case
June 2011-January 2012: Arguments reheard
September 2013: Judge Dhandha retires, K K Bhatt takes over
January 2014: FIR by Ahmedabad DCB against Teesta Seetalvad, accusing her of embezzling funds
September: Judge Bhatt retires
November 2014: Fresh arguments in court presided over by Judge P B Desai
September 2015: Arguments conclude

June 2016: Judgment



Godhra train burning (59 killed): 31 convicted in 2011; 11 death sentences, 20 get life

Naroda Patia massacre (97 killed): 32 convicted in August 2012, 31 of them sentenced to life including former minister Maya Kodnani and former Bajrang Dal leader Babu Bajrangi, 29 others acquitted


Sardarpura case (33 killed): 31 convicted of murder in November 2011, sentenced to life

Dipda Darwaja case (11 killed): 22 convicted, 11 of them sentenced to life, in 2012; 61 acquitted including former BJP MLA Prahlad Gosa

Ode twin massacres (24 and 2 killed): 23 sentenced to life, 23 acquitted in first case; 9 sentenced to life, 31 acquitted in second case; 3 others formerly absconding now being tried

Prantij murders (4 killed): All 6 accused acquitted; the victims included 3 UK nationals

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by