Who’s who in Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani’s govt

Rupani was sworn-in as the Gujarat Chief Minister in a ceremony attended by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) top brass.

By: Express News Service | Ahmedabad | Updated: August 8, 2016 5:18:36 am
 gujarat, gujarat elections, vijay rupani, new cm, gujarat new cm, new chief minister, cm vijay rupani, anandiben patel, gujarat government, indian express Newly appointed Gujarat Chief Minster Vijay Rupani with Governor O P Kohli and his team of ministers after the swearing-in ceremony at Mahatma Mandir in Gandhinagar, Sunday.

Cabinet Ministers

Bhupendrasinh Chudasama, 66: One of the senior ministers in the previous Anandiben government, Chudasama (a Kshatriya) has been retained by Vijay Rupani in his Cabinet. Having strong RSS roots, Chudasama is elected from Dholka constituency of Ahmedabad district. He is associated with the occupations related to education and law. He has been minister in previous governments also in 1990 and 1995.

Ganpat Vasava, 45: A tribal, Vasava was elected from Mangrol constituency of south Gujarat which is reserved for the Scheduled Tribes. He was Speaker of the Assembly during the Anandiben government. He was the youngest and first Speaker of Gujarat from the tribal community. Earlier, he had worked as a minister of state in the Anandiben government.

Chiman Shapariya, 61: Shapariya is a noted Leuva Patidar leader from Jamnagar who elected from Jamjodhpur constituency. For Shapariya, this is a re-entry into the state cabinet, as earlier he had served in the cabinet of Narendra Modi.

Babu Bokhiria, 63: Bokhiria, a science graduate, has retained his position as cabinet minister. He was rewarded with the cabinet berth in 2012 after he convincingly defeated the then Gujarat Congress chief Arjun Modhwadia from the Porbandar constituency. In the Anandiben government he was Agriculture minister.

Atmaram Parmar, 64: Parmar, a BJP MLA from reserved Gadhada constituency is the only Dalit minister in Rupani cabinet. A lawyer by profession, Parmar is a resident of Surat. He was deputy speaker in Gujarat Assembly during Anandiben government. Parmar seems to have been rewarded by the party with a cabinet berth for the first time.

Dilip Thakor, 57: Thakor is a powerful OBC leader from Chanasama constituency of North Gujarat, Patan district. In Anandiben government, he was a Minister of State. In Rupani cabinet, he has been elevated to the cabinet rank.

Jayesh Radadiya, 35: Radadiya is a first time MLA from Jetpur constituency of Saurashtra. He is also the youngest minister in the cabinet of Rupani. He was a Minister of State in Anandiben government. Radadiya is son of Patidar heavyweight in Saurashtra and BJP Member of Parliament from Porbandar constituency, Vithhal Radadiya. Rupani has promoted him to the cabinet rank.

Ministers of State

Shankar Chaudhari, 46: Chaudhari, an MLA from Vav constituency of Banaskantha, Chaudhari is a representative from OBC communities and a controversial figure. In the Anandiben government, he was Minister of State (MoS). Political observers say that it won’t be a surprise, if Chaudhari is given Home portfolio.

Pradipsinh Jadeja, 54: Jadeja was an MoS in the Anandiben government and has been retained by Rupani in his cabinet. A strong Amit Shah loyalist, Jadeja is a Kshatriya who got elected from Vatva constituency of Ahmedabad. He is a science graduate.

Jayanti Kavadiya, 56: Kavadiya is a Patidar elected from Dhrangadhra constituency of Surendranagar district in Saurashtra region. He has retained his position as an MoS in Rupani ministry as well. He was holding independent charge of Panchayat in Anandiben government. Kavadiya had started his political career from Mumbai as a Shiv Sena worker.

Nanu Vanani, 60: He is one of the seven Patidar ministers in Rupani cabinet. Elected from Katargam constituency of Surat, Vanani was an MoS in Anandiben government also. He is associated with diamond industry and had once held position of President, Surat Diamond Association. Although elected from Surat, Vanani is orginally a native of Botad.

Parshottam Solanki, 55: An influential Koli leader, Solanki has retained his position as an MoS in Rupani cabinet as well. In the Anandiben government, he was an MoS for Animal Husbandry. Solanki was elected as a councilor in Mumbai in 1992. He is associated with construction work.

Jasha Barad, 64: An OBC, Barad has been elected from Somnath constituency of Saurashtra. He has worked as an MoS in different governments in the past and was an MoS (Agriculture & Civil Aviation) in the Anandiben government. He is an active co-operative leader in Saurashtra.

Bachubhai Khabad, 61: Khabad an OBC, has been elected from Devgadh Baria constituency of Central Gujarat. He was an MoS (Fisheries and Forests & Environment) in the Anandiben government. He was also an MLA between 2002 and 2007.

Jaydrathsinh Parmar, 52: Parmar, a Kshatriya from Vadodara, is one of the ministers from Anandiben government who have been retained by Vijay Rupani. A three time MLA, Parmar — a commerce graduate — was an MoS for Roads & Buildings Department in the Anandiben Government. He is elected from Halol constituency.

Ishwarsinh Patel, 51: Three-time MLA from Ankleshwar, Patel is an OBC leader from South Gujarat who was also an MoS in the Narendra Modi government in Gujarat for around 10 months in 2012. Patel has roots in Vishwa Hindu Parishad and was also a student leader in Veer Narmad South Gujarat University. He is active in the Sugar co-operative politics of South Gujarat.

Vallabh Kakadiya, 72: Kakadiya, a Patidar, is a second time MLA from Thakkarbapa Nagar constituency of Ahmedabad city. This constituency was one of the worst affected parts of Gujarat during the Patidar reservation stir last year. Kakadiya is associated with diamond & construction industry along with farming. He has studied till Class IV. He is also president of Kakadiya Hospital in Bapunagar area of Ahmedabad.

Rajendra Trivedi, 62: Trivedi is an MLA from Vadodara’s Raopura constituency. He is a law graduate from MS University of Vadodara. He began his career as a lawyer in the Vadodara court. Trivedi was the Vice President of the city unit of the party between 1993 and 1996. Trivedi also served as the Legal Cell convener for the party’s central zone unit. He served as the Chairman of the Primary Education Board of the Vadodara Municipal Corporation from 2000 to 2005, and as an elected Municipal Corporator from 1995 to 2000 and from 2005 to 2010. He is also a third-time member of the MSU Senate. Apart from social work, his subjects of interests include poetry writing.

Keshaji Chauhan, 54: An OBC, Chauhan has been elected from the North Gujarat constituency of Deodar. He is associated with farming and social work and has studied till Class XII.

Rohit Patel, 67: A strong Patidar leader, Rohit Patel is an MLA from Anand constituency of prosperous Charotar region. He is BE (Mechanical) and a law graduate. Patel was elected to Gujarat assembly during the by-election for the constituency in 2014. He had been the treasurer of BJP for Anand district between 1999 and 2010. An industrialist, Patel has also been awarded by Gujarat government for Best MSME (Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises).

Vallabh Vaghasia, 61: Vaghasia, a Patidar, has been elected from Savarkundla constituency of Saurashtra. He is an LIC agent and has been

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App