Gaya Charan Dinkar takes charge as LoP in Uttar Pradesh Assembly

Dinkar was elected the leader of BSP Legislature Party at a meeting of party MLAs Saturday.

Written by RAMENDRA SINGH | Lucknow | Published: June 28, 2016 5:31:28 am
uttar pradesh, uttar pradesh assembly, uttar pradesh assembly lop, up assembly leader of opposition, Gaya Charan Dinkar, Gaya Charan Dinkar up lop, swami prasad maurya, india news, uttar pradesh news BSP’s Gaya Charan Dinkar with colleagues Satish Misra and Naseemuddin Siddiqui and Speaker Mata Prasad Pandey at the state Assembly in Lucknow on Monday. (Source: Express photo)

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MLA from Naraini in Banda district, Gaya Charan Dinkar Monday took charge as the new Leader of Opposition in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly, replacing Swami Prasad Maurya, who recently quit the party.

Dinkar was elected the leader of BSP Legislature Party at a meeting of party MLAs Saturday.

Dinkar was accompanied by BSP general secretaries Satish Chandra Misra (a Rajya Sabha MP) and Naseemuddin Siddiqui (Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Council) when he met the Speaker this afternoon. The Assembly secretariat later issued a notification to this effect while the Speaker handed over the letter of appointment to Dinkar.

Share This Article
Related Article

Watch Video: What’s making news

The four-time MLA from Bundelkhand region has been a BSP member since party’s foundation. His predecessor Maurya, who quit from the post of BSP general secretary last Wednesday accusing party supremo Mayawati of “auctioning” tickets for the assembly elections, had held the post since March 16, 2012.

BSP, with 80 MLAs, is the largest opposition party in the 403-member Assembly and the post of Leader of Opposition, which comes with the status of a cabinet-minister rank, goes automatically to it.

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App