Gaya Charan Dinkar becomes Leader of Opposition in UP Assembly

Dinkar replaced Swamy Prasad Maurya as party leader of BSP legislature.

By: PTI | Lucknow | Published: June 27, 2016 4:51:22 pm
Uttar Pradesh elections, UP Assembly, Swamy Prasad Maurya, Swamy Prasad Maurya quits BSP, Gaya Charan Dinkar, Gaya Charan Dinkar new leader of opposition, BSP chief Mayawati, UP news, latest news, UP politics, Party leader of BSP Legislature Gaya Charan Dinkar. (File)

Newly elected leader of BSP Legislature Party Gaya Charan Dinkar was on Monday formally recognised as the Leader of the Opposition in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly.

A letter to this effect was handed over to Dinkar by the Assembly Speaker Mata Prasad Pandey.

Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council Naseemuddin Siddiqui and Rajya Sabha member Satish Misra were present in the Speaker’s chamber when the letter was given.

Share This Article
Related Article

Watch Video: What’s making news

Dinkar, an MLA from Naraini in Banda district, was on Saturday elected leader of BSP Legislature Party after Swami Prasad Maurya quit the party accusing party supremo Mayawati of “auctioning tickets” for the 2017 Assembly polls.

BSP, with 80 MLAs, is the largest opposition party in the 403-member Assembly and the post of LoP goes automatically to it.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App