Ex-CM, minister among 9 Congress rebels

Lalmani Verma profiles the nine Congress rebel MLAs of Uttarakhand, who have joined hands with the BJP against Chief Minister Harish Rawat.

Written by Lalmani Verma | Updated: March 21, 2016 4:04:57 am

congress, BJP,Chief Minister Harish Rawat, Chief Minister Harish Rawat repalcement, india news, nation newsVijay Bahuguna
State Congress leaders consider him to be the leader of the rebel group. Son of a Congress leader and former UP CM Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna, Vijay Bahuguna served as a judge in Allahabad and Mumbai high courts. He became an MLA from Sitarganj in 2012 bypoll, and served as CM from March 2012 to 2014. Sources said he was not in party vice-president Rahul Gandhi’s good books. While he expected a Rajya Sabha ticket from Uttarakhand last year, the party picked Raj Babbar instead. An AICC member, Bahuguna also served as the party’s state vice-president. He was elected to Lok Sabha from Tehri Garhwal twice — 2007 and 2009.

Amrita Rawat
An MLA from Ram Nagar, Amrita is the wife of Satpal Maharaj, who had joined the BJP in May 2014 after spending nearly 28 years in the Congress. In May 2014, she was sacked from ministry for blaming CM Rawat for the party’s debacle in the Lok Sabha elections in Uttarakhand.

Harak Singh Rawat
Harak Singh Rawat held 10 important portfolios till Saturday, when the state Cabinet removed him. According to sources, his persistent request for more departments like PWD and power was turned down by the CM. In 2012, he lost to Vijay Bahuguna in the race to the CM’s post, and was inducted in the Cabinet. He won his first Assembly election in 1991 on a BJP ticket from Pauri and served as the youngest minister in the Kalyan Singh government in undivided Uttar Pradesh. He later joined the BSP. In 1998, Rawat switched to the Congress after being denied a ticket by the BSP and got elected as MLA from Lansdowne in 2002 and 2007. He was the Leader of Opposition in the state from 2007 to 2012.

Kunwar Pranav Singh ‘Champion’
A third-time MLA from Laksar in Hardwar, Pranav won his first Assembly poll as an Independent in 2002. In 2007 and 2012, he won as a Congress nominee. He held a Cabinet-rank as chairman of the state mining corporation. A former weightlifter, he later added ‘Champion’ to his name.

Shaila Rani Rawat
A teacher-turned-politician, Shaila enjoyed a Cabinet-rank post as a parliamentary secretary. An MLA from Kedarnath, she is known as the disciple of Satpal Maharaj, who played a key role in bringing her into active politics.

Pradeep Batra
A first time MLA from Roorkee, Pradeep Batra too held a Cabinet-rank post. He runs a famous sweet shop in Roorkee.
Subodh Uniyal
A lawyer by profession, Uniyal is known as a close aide of Vijay Bahuguna. He won the 2012 Assembly polls from Narendra Nagar. Uniyal has an image of being an aggressive leader. On Saturday, his younger brother was removed from the post of State Advocate General.

Shailendra Mohan Singhal
A renowned medical practitioner in Dehradun, Singhal is the son of a Congressman. His father once served as block head in Jaspur. In 2002, he won the Jaspur Assembly seat as an Independent. He won the seat again in 2007 and 2009 as a Congress nominee. He held a Cabinet rank as chairman of Mandi Parishad.

Umesh Sharma
A farmer and a real estate dealer by profession, Sharma won his first Assembly election in 2012 from Raipur on a Congress ticket. Sources said he has an image of a humble politician, who otherwise tries to stay clear of controversies.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App