Follow Us:
Monday, June 25, 2018

Chandigarh: Woman who caught son’s cycle thieves to be honoured on Independence day

She is among 48 people who will be awarded on the occasion of Independence Day.

By: Express News Service | Chandigarh | Updated: August 15, 2016 4:19:21 am
woman wins bravery award on Independence day, Independence day bravery awards, awards on Independence days, India news, Chandigarh woman wins bravery award, Seema.

The woman who displayed courage by nabbing two thieves will be awarded for bravery by the UT Administration on Monday.

On June 6 this year, Seema, a resident of Sector 41, had chased and caught two thieves while they were fleeing after stealing her son’s bicycle. Even after she managed to catch one accused with the cycle, she chased the other accused on her two-wheeler.

“When I raised the alarm, people gathered and helped in catching one of them with the cycle. I handed over the youth to the passersby. However, I saw the other boy fleeing and thought if I didn’t catch him, they would continue to commit such thefts. So I took my two-wheeler and chased him as well,” said Seema.

The other accused was caught after a chase in Sector 42. Till that time, the police had arrived and both the accused — identified as Deepu and Honey — were arrested. Both were residents of Sector 56. A case was lodged at Sector 39 police station.

Seema is among 48 people who are going to be honoured on the occasion of Independence Day. Of these, there are 21 from different government departments.

Deputy Superintendent (Jail) Amandeep Singh will be honoured for coordinating various educational and other skill programmes for prisoners through IGNOU and NIOS. From organising different events in the jail to introducing new measures to ensure security in the jail, Singh did it all.

Naresh Kumar, assistant town planner of the Department of Urban Planning, will be awarded for enabling the Department of Urban Planning to draft and finalise the “Rural Building By-Laws” in respect of villages falling within the jurisdiction of not only MC but director (rural development) as well.

Narinder Singh, superintendent accounts, is another achiever who will be honoured. Apart from being physically handicapped, he was instrumental in computerisation of FD records in UNIX-based software system. All financial reports of budget and expenditure of the administration were got uploaded on computerised data by him.

Inspector Ram Rattan and Sub-Inspector Arun Kumar are among others who will be awarded. From arresting the gang of Nigerian foreign nationals in drugs case to recovering 31 vehicles by nabbing an auto lifters’ gang, Inspector Ram Rattan cracked several cases of murder and snatching among others.

Next on the awardees’ list are nine different organisations and people who helped in getting the International Yoga Day orgainsed successfully. Prime Minister Narendra Modi had participated in the event that was held on June 21 this year.

Eighteen are from the UT Police who will be awarded police medals for their meritorious and distinguished

*Abhinav Bindra’s coach Amit Bhattacharjee to be honoured
On the recommendation of shooter Abhinav Bindra’s father A S Bindra, the UT Administration will be honouring Abhinav’s coach Amit Bhattacharjee. A research officer by profession, Bhattacharjee helped Abhinav in winning the first gold at Beijing Olympic Games. “Amit motivated Abhinav to return after his fall in Athens Olympics, followed by a successful show at the World Championship in Zagreb, 2006, where Abhinav became the World Champion. Abhinav created history in Beijing Olympics 2008 by winning gold medal. Amit has dedicated his entire youth and career towards Abhinav’s sporting career,” stated a press release by the administration.
Watch Video: What’s making news

In the sports category, one Kartik Jindal, a student of St. Kabir Public School, Sector 26, Chandigarh, will be honoured for representing Chandigarh in Skating Quads in various state- and national-level competitions since 2008. He has won more than 125 medals, including gold in a national-level completion held at Vadodra (Gujarat) in 2016.
Another national-level skater, Manvi Goyal, a student of class XII at Sacred Heart Senior Secondary School, will be awarded for being a national champion in CBSE National Games. She has won more than 100 medals in state- and national-level competitions.

*President’s  Police Medal
Names of two cops were also recommended for President’s Police Medal. They are Inspector Karnail Singh and homeguard Pawan Kumar.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App