Chandigarh MC Polls: Wards of nine sitting councillors reserved

Chandigarh MC Polls: Wards of nine sitting councillors reserved

The draw of lots took place at the UT guesthouse in the presence of State Election Commissioner Rakesh Mehta.

Chandigarh MC Polls, municipal corporation polls, Chandigarh, congress, councillors, reservation, sc candidates, India news, Indian express news
State Election Commissioner Rakesh Mehta in front of the display board after the draw of lots for reservation of wards for Municipal Corporation elections, at UT Guesthouse in Chandigarh on Friday. (Source: Express Photo by Kamleshwar Singh)

NINE SITTING councillors, mostly from the Congress, on Friday lost their wards to reservation during the draw of lots for the Municipal Corporation polls.

A total of seven wards out of 26 were reserved for women while five were reserved for SC Candidates. Those wards that were reserved for women were ward numbers 2, 4, 9, 12, 13, 15 and 17 while those that were reserved for the SC candidates were 5, 6, 7, 11 and 23. Among the SC wards, two wards 5 and 6 were reserved for SC women candidates. There are 14 general wards. Of the 12 wards that were reserved, seven belong to the Congress, three to the BJP, one to the SAD and one to the BSP.

Those who lost their wards after these were reserved for women were Congress councillors Mukesh Bassi and H C Kalyan and BJP councillor Saurabh Joshi. Even the candidature of Congress councillor Sheela Devi would be affected as her ward became reserved for women candidate in general category. She is likely to be fielded from SC women reserved ward. Those sitting women councillors whose ward remained reserved for women and they are unlikely to change are Congress councillor Gurbax Rawat, BJP councillor Asha Jaswal and SAD councillor Harjinder Kaur.

Those of whom who lost their wards to SC candidates were former Congress mayors Subhash Chawla and Poonam Sharma, Congress councillor Darshan Garg and BJP councillor Sat Prakash Aggarwal. BSP councillor Jannat Jahan’s ward was also reserved for SC candidate. Interestingly, wards of councillors Subhash Chawla and Sat Prakash Aggarwal were reserved for SC women candidates.


The draw of lots took place at the UT guesthouse in the presence of State Election Commissioner Rakesh Mehta. As the draw of lots was announced, BJP Mayor Arun Sood and Senior Deputy Mayor Davesh Moudgil were seen being congratulated as their wards were not reserved for any category and their prospects to contest the polls from their wards got brightened.

City Congress chief Pardeep Chhabra too was all smiles saying that ever since the formation of the Municipal Corporation, his ward had never been reserved.

With the reservation changing the game, there are some wards where neither the BJP nor Congress had decided on their tentative candidates.

In ward number 2 — which belonged to Saurabh Joshi but now reserved for women — both BJP and Congress are unclear about their prospective candidates. Similarly, in ward 13 and 17, which belong to Congress councillors H C Kalyan and Mukesh Bassi respectively, both the parties have not thought over any prospective candidate.

With Congress councillor Poonam’s Sharma’s ward 7 becoming reserved for SC candidate, it is likely that Kalyan may be fielded from there now. Sharma may be fielded from sectors 23, 24 and 36 against the BJP’s Asha Jaiswal.

Congress heavyweight Subhash Chawla whose ward became reserved for SC candidate is likely to be fielded against Mayor Arun Sood now. There are chances that Chawla may also be considered from sitting Congress councillor Pardeep Chhabra’s ward as well.

In ward number 9 which is reserved for women, sitting Congress councillor Gurbax Rawat is likely to contest from there while the BJP has still not decided on their candidate against her.

Who is the election result winner in your Lok Sabha constituency? Click here to find out. Get real-time updates, news and analysis on the 2019 Lok Sabha election results only at | For a deep dive on the elections check out