Follow Us:
Friday, July 20, 2018

Bypolls in 12 Assembly seats of 8 states on February 13

Results will be announced February 16.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Updated: January 13, 2016 1:18:50 am

The Election Commission Tuesday announced bypolls in 12 Assembly seats across eight states — Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar and Tripura — on February 13. Results will be announced February 16.

Uttar Pradesh and Karnataka have the maximum seats going to polls. In UP, Muzaffarnagar, Deoband and Bikapur constituencies and in Karnataka, Devadurga, Bidar and Hebbal will elect new representatives.

All seats in UP were held by SP MLAs. Devadurga in Karnataka was held by the ruling Congress, while Bidar and Hebbal had BJP legislators.

Punjab, Maharashtra, Bihar, Tripura, Telangana and Madhya Pradesh each have one seat going to polls. Khadoor Sahib in Punjab was held by Congress, while Harlakhee in Bihar was held by RLSP. In Tripura’s Amarpur, vacancy was created after CPM expelled its MLA M Acharjee last year.

The bypolls in Palghar, previously held by Shiv Sena, in Maharashtra was due since last June. The poll panel could not proceed as an election petition was pending in court. Narayankhed in Telangana and Maihar in MP had Congress MLAs.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App