Sunday, Oct 02, 2022

Bypolls results 2016: No surprise across seven states, ruling parties hold sway

Demonetisation didn't influence BJP supporters as they voted for the party in Madhya Pradesh and Assam.

bypolls, by elections, by-elections, bjp, congress, tmc, trinamool congress, aiadmk, jayalalithaa, tamil nadu, latest news, indian express BJP and Trinamool Congress shared the honours by winning two Lok Sabha seats each, claiming it was a vindication of their stand on demonetisation.

There was no surprise in the Lok Sabha and Assembly by-elections held on November 19 as the ruling parties in all six states and Puducherry retained their respective seats. Demonetisation didn’t influence BJP supporters as they voted for the party in Madhya Pradesh and Assam. Trinamool Congress too swept Tamluk and Coochbehar Lok Sabha constituencies and Monteswar assembly seat in West Bengal. In Tamil Nadu, AIADMK won all three seats while North East Democratic Alliance bagged the Hayuliang seat in Arunachal.

Here’s how the parties fared in by-elections

AIADMK wins all three seats, Jayalalithaa happy

The ruling AIADMK won all the three assembly by-elections in Tamil Nadu. In Aravakkurichi, AIADMK’s V. Senthil Balaji defeated DMK’s K.C. Palanisamy while at Thirupparankundram AIADMK’s A.K. Bose defeated DMK’s P. Saravanan. In Thanjavur, the AIADMK’s M. Rengasamy worsted DMK’s Anjugam Bhoopathy. After the results were announced, Jayalalithaa said the election victory while she was in hospital gave her limitless happiness and enthusiasm. “With this it is proved again that people are on my side,” Jayalalithaa said. Following the three victories, the AIADMK’s strength in the 234-member house goes up to 136 (including Speaker). The DMK has 89 members, the Congress eight and the Indian Union Muslim League one.

Subscriber Only Stories
Nothing left to lose, be scared of: Prof whose wrist was severed by PFI menPremium
With ‘Atharva: The Origin’ starring MS Dhoni, Pratilipi Comic...Premium
UPSC Essentials: Weekly news express with MCQs— SC’s abortion rulin...Premium
How European colonisers observed and documented Durga Puja celebrations i...Premium

BJP wins both LS, Assembly seats in Assam

The ruling BJP won the by-poll to Lakhimpur Lok Sabha and Baithalangso Assembly seats in Assam defeating Congress, its nearest rival. Party candidate Pradan Barua won the Lakhaimpur Lok Sabha seat by a margin of 1,90,219 votes defeating his Congress’s Hema Prasanga Pegu by a convincing 1,90,219 votes. The seat was lying vacant after Sarbananda Sonowal quit it to contest the Majuli assembly seat in April this year and take on the reins of the state. Mansing Rongpi won the Baithalangso Assembly seat. Rongpi defeated his nearest Congress rival Ruponsing Ronghang by 16,600 votes. Rongpi garnered 72,160 votes, while Ronghang polled 55,560 votes.

BJP retains LS, Assembly seats in MP

The BJP retained Shahdol Lok Sabha and Nepanagar Assembly seats in the by-elections in Madhya Pradesh, defeating the Congress which had brought to the campaign the demonetisation issue alongwith local themes against the ruling party. In Shahdol(ST), BJP’s Gyan Singh defeated Himadri Singh of Congress by a comfortable margin of over 60,000 votes, belying the latter’s hopes of wresting the seat to add to the party’s tally in the Lok Sabha. Gyan Singh bagged 4,81,398 votes while his Congress rival polled 4,21,015 votes. The party also defended the Nepanagar Assembly seat where its contestant Manju Dadu trounced nearest Congress rival Antar Singh Barde by a margin of 42,198 votes. The ruling party sharply increased its winning margin in Nepanagar to 42,198 votes as against 22,178 in the 2013 Assembly polls.

TMC retains all three seats in Bengal

Trinamool Congress retained the two Lok Sabha seats and one assembly seat in West Bengal winning by massive margin. TMC candidate Dibyendu Adhikari won Tamluk Lok Sabha seat by defeating his nearest CPI(M) rival Mandira Panda by 4.97 lakh votes, up from 2.5 lakh votes in 2014. The party won the Coochbehar LS seat with its candidate Parthapratim Roy drubbing his nearest rival BJP’s Hemchandra Burman by a margin of 4.9 lakh votes and pushed Forward Bloc, a LF partner to the third position. In Monteswar assembly seat, Saikat Panja of TMC won the seat by a margin of 1.27 lakh votes over his nearest CPI(M) rival Md Osman Gani Sarkar. The CPI(M), Congress and BJP lost their deposits in the polls.

CPI-M wins both Assembly seats in Tripura

The ruling CPI-M in Tripura won the two Assembly seats, Barjala (SC) and Khowai, by defeating Congress and TMC candidates respecitively. CPI-M candidate Jhumu Sarkar trounced his nearest BJP rival Shistamohan Das by a margin of 3,374 votes in Barjala (SC) constituency. CPI-M secured 15,769 votes, while BJP garnered 12,395 votes. By-poll in the constituency was necessitated due to the resignation of Congress MLA Jitendra Sarkar in June last. In Khowai constituency, CPI-M candidate Biswajit Datta trounced his nearest TMC candidate Manoj Das by a margin of 16,047 votes. CPI-M secured 24810 votes and TMC 8763 votes.

BJP’s Dasanglu Pul shines in Arunachal


North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) candidate Dasanglu Pul of BJP won the Hayuliang Assembly by-poll after defeating her lone rival Yompi Kri, an Independent candidate, by 942 votes. Pul, who was contesting on a BJP ticket, polled 5,326 votes while Kri could secure 4,384 votes in the by-poll held on November 19. The winner is the youngest of three wives of former Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Kalikho Pul. The by-poll was necessitated due to his alleged suicide.

Narayanasamy wins Nellithope in Puducherry

Senior Congress leader and Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy won the bypoll to the Nellithope Assembly constituency defeating AIADMK’s Om Sakthi Segar, by a margin of 11,144 votes. While Narayanasamy, whose victory was on expected lines, polled 18,709 votes out of the total 26,564 votes, Segar got 7,565 votes.

(With inputs from agencies)

First published on: 22-11-2016 at 07:19:37 pm
Next Story

Baahubali 2 war scene leaked online, graphic designer arrested

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments