Follow Us:
Thursday, September 23, 2021

Clear mandate in interest of Bihar, we respect verdict given by people, says Sushil Modi

Live Bihar Election Results: For the Narendra Modi-led NDA, a victory in Bihar will be a shot in the arm for the party after the defeat in Delhi

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi/patna |
Updated: November 8, 2015 7:11:03 pm
bihar election results, narendra modi, bihar bjp results 2015, bihar narendra modi, bihar election results 2015, nda results 2015, nda results bihar elections, sushil modi, narendra modi 2015, election news BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi.

As a clearer picture emerges in Bihar, the BJP has lost out to the Grand Alliance led by Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad Yadav. Even though initial trends showed massive gains for the NDA, later the leads quickly collapsed for the saffron party.

A coalition government headed by Nitish Kumar is expected to be sworn in Bihar.

For all live updates on the overall picture in Bihar, click here

Here is an analysis of the Bihar polls: click here

Watch video where Express journalists analyse the results


Highlights from NDA camp on result day:

Read: The fundamental spirit of India has won, for BJP it’s time for a chintan baithak, writes Dinesh Trivedi.

5:55 pm: We will extend our full support to the Govt for development in state, will play role of constructive opposition: Sushil Modi.

5:45 pm: People have given clear majority to ‘Mahagathbandhan’, it’s good that it’s not a fractured mandate: Senior BJP leader Sushil Modi.

5:42 pm: I congratulate Nitish Kumar for the victory and the Election Commission for conducting a fair elections in Bihar, says Sushil Modi.

5:40 pm: BJP leader Sushil Modi addresses press conference.

4:40 pm: NDA leads in 42 seats and BJP in 36.

2:30 pm: Nand Kishore Yadav of the BJP still leading from Patna Sahib

2:15 pm: The leads are rapidly collapsing for the NDA. BJP and allies may not even hit the 60-mark if it continues in this fashion.

1:52 pm: NDA+ leading in just about 68 seats.

1:38 pm: Watch the Hindi analysis of the election results

1:32 pm: BJP leader Shahnawaz Hussain reacts.

1:20 pm: Home Minister Rajnath Singh congratulates Nitish Kumar

1:15 pm: Today’s Chanakya, which had predicted a NDA win, has apologized for its projections.

1:11 pm: Manjhi is leading by 20,000 votes in Imamganj. But he is trailing in Makhdumpur.

1:10 pm: Pashupati Kumar Paras of the LJP is trailing.

12:54 pm: Respect the mandate of the people of Bihar, says Amit Shah

Click here for all the reactions

12:45 pm: Manjhi’s son is leading in Katumba, a reserved constituency.

12:43 pm: According to the EC, the BJP is leading in about 58 seats.

12:22 pm: Nand Kishore Yadav, opposition leader in the outgoing assembly and senior BJP leader is winning in the Patna Sahib constituency.

12:20 pm: Jitan Ram Manjhi is now winning in Imamganj, but losing in Makhdumpur. Both are reserved seats.

12:19 pm: Senior leader and Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi speaks:

12:18 pm: Rebel leader Shatrughan Sinha is drawing reactions again.

12:14 pm: NDA losing the plot rapidly. The alliance which had leads in about 100 seats is now winning in just about 75 seats. BJP’s allies are equally responsible for this misery.

LJP in 5 seats, RLSP in 3 seats and HAM in 2 seats.

12:09 pm: Reactions are pouring in now.

12:08 pm: BJP MP Shatrughan Sinha calls JD(U)-RJD win victory of democracy and people of Bihar. “I salute them,” he says.

12:05 pm: Just getting news that PM Narendra Modi has called up Nitish Kumar to congratulate him on the victory in Bihar.

11:40 am: According to the Election Commission, the BJP leading in 57 seats. RJD leading in 68 and JDU leading in 60 seats.

11:30 am: An update on HAM leader Jitan Ram Manjhi – he is trailing in Makhdumpur by about 5,000 votes but he is leading in Imamganj by 10,000 votes.

11:15 am: We are now getting information that the BJP headquarters is getting deserted now. Senior leaders are staying away.

11:10 am: All three leading parties – BJP, JDU and RJD winning in about 50 seats.

10:49 am: NDA partners now seem to be losing the fight altogether. RLSP leading only in 1 seat, HAM in 3 seats, LJP in 4 seats.

10:45 am: NDA leads are now emerging in the Bhojpur and Tirhut regions, considered strongholds of the BJP.

10:32 am: Giving our readers an update on some of the seats where the NDA candidates are leading.

Amnour – shatrudhan Tiwary – BJP

Araria – Ajay Kumar Jha – LJP

Bagaha – Raghav Sharan Pandey – BJP

Chanpatiya – Prakash Rai – BJP

Darbhanga – Sanjay Saraungi – BJP

Gaya Town – Prem Kumar – BJP

Makhdumpur – Jitan Ram Manjhi – HAM

10:26 am: Party president Amit Shah has called for a parliamentary board meeting.

10:20 am: The leads are now rapidly changing. The Grand Alliance is marching ahead of the NDA.

10:15 am: Are we moving towards a hung assembly? Tell us in comments below.

10:08 am: BJP candidates are leading in Bettiah, Darauli seats

10:05 am: Slowly and slowly, as we inch towards the half-way mark, the gap seems to be narrowing, but the BJP-led NDA is still leading. We will have a clearer picture for you by 12 noon.

9:56 am: Celebrations are in order at the BJP office in Patna.


9:55 am: According to the EC, BJP leading in 18 seats.

9:50 am: Okay, there seems to be a lot of confusion among television channels. Contrasting pictures coming from all sides. While one channel has already declared victory for JDU+, the other one shows major leads for BJP+. Absolute mayhem!

9:37 am: Meanwhile,

9:35 am: NDA leading in 84 seats, Grand Alliance in 61 seats. This election might just get really close.

9:30 am: Update from Dinara

9:20 am: BJP leads are now coming from Garua and Motihari. The HAM candidate is leading in Sheohar.

9:15 am: A BJP candidate in Wazirganj is trailing behind the Congress candidate.

9:10 am: Here are the trends right now. BJP-led NDA still leading the way.


9:02 am: The Election Commission meanwhile has given its first lead to the RJD.

8:58 am: Shatrughan Sinha, widely seen as a rebellious BJP leader, has tweeted:

8:55 am: Okay, things are really moving fast. Manjhi is now leading in Imamganj.

8:51 am: Ram Vilas Paswan’s brother is leading in Alauli, but Manjhi is trailing in Imamganj.

8:47 am: Our experts are saying that momentum is slowly but gradually shifting in the favour of the NDA. Do you agree? Let us know in comments below.

8:44 am: Check our interactive map below. BJP-led NDA is leading in 20 seats.


8:35 am: HAM leader Jitan Ram Manjhi is leading in Makhdumpur. Remember, he is contesting from 2 seats.

8:30 am: The BJP would be really happy with these early leads it is getting for the NDA alliance. According to the leads we are getting, the alliance is leading in 18 seats. Counting is really fast.

8:20 am: Leads have increased for the BJP-led NDA. The alliance is leading in 7 seats across the state.

8:12 am: It is also the birthday of senior BJP leader LK Advani. PM Narendra Modi has said on Twitter that Advani’s contribution to the country has been invaluable.

“He is the best teacher and epitome of selfless service,” wrote PM Modi.

8:10 am: And there you go! The first leads are here for the NDA. It seems to be a lead for BJP ally LJP in Alauli.

8:00 am: The EVMs have been unsealed and counting has begun.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by