Punjab polls: HS Phoolka in AAP’s first list of 19 candidateshttps://indianexpress.com/article/india/india-news-india/aaps-punjab-first-list-of-candidates-has-19-names-including-hs-phoolka-2953300/

Punjab polls: HS Phoolka in AAP’s first list of 19 candidates

With its list, AAP becomes the first party in Punjab to come out with its first list.

AAP, HS Phoolka, Punjab assembly elections, Punjab polls, Arvind kejriwal, AAP, Aam aadmi party, AAP releses candidate list, AAP list of candidates, AAP candidates, Punjab elections, Punjab assembly polls, HS Phoolka, Dhaka, Sajjan Singh Cheema, Harjot Singh Bains, Anna Hazare, Anna Hazare movement activists, Himmat Singh Shergill, Punjab news, AAP news, AAP 19 candidates, 19 candidate list, india news
HS Phoolka had contested Lok Sabha elections from Ludhiana unsuccessfully in 2014.

THE AAM Aadmi Party (AAP) Thursday declared its candidates for 19 out of 117 Assembly seats in Punjab for the 2017 elections.

The party released the first list of its nominees ahead of any other party in the state and even as Delhi CM and AAP convener Arvind Kejriwal is at a meditation camp in Dharamshala.

Senior lawyer and activist H S Phoolka (60), whose nomination was expected, has been given a ticket from Dakha constituency in Ludhiana that is represented by Shiromani Akali Dal’s Manpreet Singh Aiyali.

Phoolka had contested from Ludhiana Lok Sabha seat in 2014 but had lost to Congress’s Ravneet Singh Bittu.


Another prominent name in the list is lawyer Himmat Singh Shergill, 36, who too had lost from Anandpur Sahib in the last parliamentary elections. Shergill is in the fray from Mohali.

Former MP Mohan Singh Phalianwala, who is the party’s Dalit face, has been fielded from Ferozepore (Rural), a reserved (SC) seat. Lawyer Harjot Singh Bains, who participated in the Anna Hazare movement and heads the party’s youth wing, has been nominated from Sahnewalin Ludhiana, represented by SAD’s Minister Sharanjit Singh Dhillon.

Former captain of Indian basketball team and an Arjuna awardee Sajjan Singh Cheema is in the fray from Sultanpur Lodhi

Rupinder Kaur Rubi, 27, is the only woman candidate in the list. She will contest from Bathinda Rural constituency.
While the party was to announce nominees for 26 seats, it dropped seven names from the first list following objections by volunteers.

Follow the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 real-time on IndianExpress.com/elections. Check the Lok Sabha election schedule, your Lok Sabha constituency details as well as where Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi are campaigning in the Lok Sabha Election. On Twitter, follow @Decision2019 for the latest news and analysis.