Saturday, Dec 03, 2022

From Delhi to Kashmir: States that have extended Covid lockdown

Bengal was the latest addition to the list of states under a lockdown, imposing curbs till May 30.

The Jama Masjid area wears a deserted look on Eid owing to the ongoing lockdown in Delhi. (PTI)

With the novel coronavirus rapidly spreading across the country, most states have resorted to imposing or extending lockdowns and related restrictions to deal with the pandemic.

On Saturday, West Bengal became the latest state to go under a lockdown, imposing curbs till May 30, to check the spread of the virus. The state government has announced a complete lockdown across the state for a fortnight from 6 am on Sunday, May 16 to 6 pm on May 30. It also imposed a night curfew, from 9 pm to 5 am, beginning Sunday night.

Himachal Pradesh, too, has extended the coronavirus-induced curfew in the state till May 26.

Here is a look at the states that have extended restrictions to curb the spread of the virus:

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Essentials| Weekly news express with MCQs : Project GIB, Remittances...Premium
Delhi Confidential: Why CJI Chandrachud says children should be taught as...Premium
Shaped by war: Ukraine artist to showcase work at Kochi-Muziris BiennalePremium
Most drones crossing border originate from Pak Rangers outposts: AgenciesPremium

Delhi: The ongoing lockdown in Delhi, which has been extended every week since April 19, will be in place till May 24, 5 am. Essential services, including plumbing and electrician services, will continue to function. The Delhi metro, however, will also remain shut.

Maharashtra: Maharashtra’s lockdown-like restrictions have been extended till 7 am on June 1. The new restrictions include a mandatory negative RT-PCR test report for those entering the state and curbs on those arriving from places of “sensitive origins”, says an order issued by Chief Secretary Sitaram Kunte on Wednesday.

Uttar Pradesh: The Yogi Adityanath government, which had imposed a curfew across the state to curb the spread of the virus till May 10, has extended the duration till 7 am on May 24. This was the fifth such extension so far in the past few days.


Jharkhand: The partial lockdown imposed in Jharkhand since April 22 had been extended till May 27 with some additional restrictions. Movement of inter-state and intra-state buses were restricted while private vehicles are allowed to move only with e-passes issued by the district administration.

Haryana: The state government had extended statewide lockdown with even more stringent curbs till May 17. Now, the lockdown will remain in place till May 24.  “Mahamari Alert / Surkshit Haryana extended from 17 May to 24 May Stringent measures will be taken to implement the Alert,” Haryana Home Minister Anil Vij tweeted on Sunday.

Jammu and Kashmir: The administration had extended the curfew in place across all 20 districts by a week. The curfew, which has been in force since April 29, will now run till May 24.


Kerala: The Kerala government on Friday decided to extend the lockdown till May 23 as test positivity rate remained high across the state. More stringent containment measures were also implemented in four districts – Thiruvananthapuram, Ernakulam, Thrissur and Malappuram – where Covid-19 cases have continued to rise.

Chhattisgarh: The Chhattisgarh government has asked district administrations to extend the lockdown till May 31 to contain the surge of Covid-19 cases. The lockdown, in force in all 28 districts, was to end on Saturday midnight.

First published on: 15-05-2021 at 06:53:13 pm
Next Story

Mumbai: Three arrested for gang-raping 20-year-old at Bandstand

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments