Follow Us:
Friday, October 15, 2021

Delhi Election Results 2020 Key Constituencies: AAP retains all but one as rebel MLA Anil Bajpayi wins Gandhi Nagar on BJP ticket

Delhi Election Result 2020 Key Constituencies, New Delhi, Patparganj, Chandni Chowk, Dwarka, Rohini Election Result 2020: In East Delhi's Gandhi Nagar, AAP leader Naveen Chaudhary, who has had a long association with the Congress, lost to BJP's Anil Bajpai by over 6,000 votes.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: February 11, 2020 10:19:37 pm
delhi election result, election result, delhi election result 2020, delhi election result 2020 live, new delhi election result 2020, patparganj, patparganj election result 2020, patparganj delhi election result 2020, chandni chowk, chandni chowk election result 2020, dwarka election result, rohini election result, kalkaji election result Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal won his New Delhi seat defeating BJP’s Sunil Kumar Yadav.

Delhi Election Results 2020 Key Constituencies, New Delhi, Patparganj, Chandni Chowk, Dwarka, Rohini, Rajinder Nagar, Kalkaji, Model Town Election Result 2020: With governance as the only weapon to fight its key contender BJP, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Tuesday swept the Delhi Assembly elections 2020 winning 62 seats. The party succeeded in retaining the key constituencies — New Delhi, Patparganj, Kalkaji, Rajinder Nagar, Dwarka, Model Town and Chandni Chowk while AAP turncoat Anil Bajpayi won his Gandhi Nagar seat again but this time on a BJP ticket. BJP sitting MLA Vijender Gupta emerged victorious in his Rohini seat with a greater margin of 12,648 votes against 5,367 votes in 2015.

In his victory speech, the Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, who himself won from New Delhi constituency defeating BJP’s Sunil Kumar Yadav, thanked the voters and said the verdict was for development. After initial hiccups, Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia managed to defeat BJP’s Ravinder Singh Negi from Patparganj constituency.

Delhi Election Results Key Constituencies

06:15 pm: Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal retained his New Delhi seat by defeating BJP’s youth leader Sunil Kumar Yadav and Congress’ Romesh Sabharwal by over 21,000 votes. According to the India Today-Axis My India poll, 54 per cent of the voters want Kejriwal to return as the chief minister, for the third time.

Follow Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020 Highlights here

02:40 pm: In Patparganj, Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia, who was earlier trailing behind BJP’s Ravinder Singh Negi, finally won the Delhi Assembly Elections. Congress candidate Laxman Rawat was also in the fray.

07:05 pm: In Chandni Chowk, AAP leader Parlad Sawhney, who had earlier won the polls four times in a row between 1998 and 2013 on a Congress ticket, defeated BJP candidate Suman Gupta by 29584 votes.

In 2015, Sawhney had lost to Alka Lamba, who had fought on an AAP ticket and was the Congress candidate on the same seat this year. Lamba shifted to the Congress in October last year — and Sawhney left Congress to join AAP the same month.

Follow Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020 Reactions here

07:05 pm: AAP lost out on Rohini constituency as BJP’s Vijender Gupta retained the seat defeating AAP’s Rajesh Nama Bansiwala by 12,648 votes —  a margin way bigger than that of 2015. Congress’ Sumesh Gupta was also in the fray.

08:50 pm: In Dwarka seat, Congress veteran Mahabal Mishra’s son Vinay Mishra, who joined the ruling party only days before it released the list of candidates, defeated former Dwarka BJP MLA Pradyuman Rajput by 14,387 votes. Sitting MLA Adarsh Shastri, grandson of former prime minister Lal Bahadur Shastri, also had contested the seat from Congress after being denied ticket from AAP.

07:05 pm: In East Delhi’s Gandhi Nagar, AAP leader Naveen Chaudhary, who has had a long association with the Congress, lost to BJP’s MLA Anil Bajpai by over 6,000 votes. Congress’ Arvinder Singh Lovely was also in the fray. Bajpai had in 2015 won the seat on AAP’s ticket.

All the three candidates from the AAP, BJP and Congress have something in common — at some point in their political career, all of them have switched parties.

Read Delhi election result 2020: Full list of winners constituency wise here

04.40 pm: In Model Town, AAP’s sitting MLA Akhilesh Pati Tripathi knocked out BJP leader Kapil Mishra, who had claimed that the AAP and Congress have created a “mini Pakistan” at Shaheen Bagh by a margin of 11,133 votes. Congress’ Akanksha Ola was also in the fray.

03:10 pm: AAP leader Raghav Chadha, who was contesting the Delhi Assembly polls for the first time and was given a ticket from Rajinder Nagar in place of current AAP MLA Vijender Garg Vijay, defeated BJP’s Sardar R P Singh by a margin of 20,058 votes. Singh had won the seat in 2013. Congress’s Rocky Tuseed was also in the fray.

02:40 pm: In Kalkaji, after trailing for a while, AAP leader Atishi successfully defeated BJP’s former area councillor Dharambir Singh. Congress’ Shivani Chopra, who has stepped into the shoes of her father and Delhi Congress chief Subash Chopra — a three-time MLA (1998-2013) from the same constituency, was also in the fray.

Even though the exit polls have predicted that AAP will storm back to power in the Delhi Assembly elections and as counting of votes are underway, the above candidates and the high-profile seats are being curiously watched.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by