Follow Us:
Thursday, February 27, 2020

BMC polls 2017: Shiv Sena, BJP to control major civic bodies in Maharashtra, Congress wiped out

Uddhav Thackeray's Shiv Sena won 84 seats, though falling short of an absolute majority.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: February 23, 2017 7:46:36 pm
senawin A Shiv Sena supporter celebrates after the BMC polls results in Mumbai.

The Shiv Sena and the BJP cemented their grip on major civic corporations in Maharashtra with both registering significant gains in Birhanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), Thane, Pune, Nashik and Nagpur. In Mumbai, Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena won 84 seats, though falling short of an absolute majority. Shiv Sena’s former ally, the BJP, improved its previous tally and have won 81 seats.

WATCH| BMC Elections 2017: Shiv Sena Wins 84 Seats, BJP Closes Gap With 81 Seats

In the absence of a clear majority and to reach the halfway mark of 114 in the BMC, the chances of a possible alliance cannot be ruled out.  Interestingly, BJP and Shiv Sena had called off their over two-decade old alliance in the run-up to the assembly elections this year. The results have come as a huge disappointment for the Congress as it failed to improve its prospects in the state politics. In Mumbai, it won 31 seats and 17 in Thane.

Even as the results continued to pour in, Congress’ Mumbai chief Sanjay Nirupam offered to resign in the wake of the poor show in the polls. Raj Thackeray’s Maharashtra Navnirman Sena failed make any dent as the party won just seven seats. While Sharad Pawar’s NCP got nine seats.

For live updates and highlights of the BMC election results, click here

WATCH VIDEO | BMC Elections 2017: Shiv Sena Leads In Mumbai, Thane; BJP Ahead In Pune, Nashik & Nagpur

For live updates and highlights from Pune corporation, click here

The BJP is likely to come to power in at least six civic bodies — Pune, Nashik, Ulhasnagar, Akola, Nagpur and Amravati — out of the 10 corporations for which the elections were held on Tuesday. Apart from Mumbai, the city corporations which went to polls were Thane, Ulhasnagar, Nashik, Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Solapur, Akola, Amravati and Nagpur.


For Nashik corporation election result live updates, click here

WATCH VIDEO |Mumbai: Counting Of Votes Underway For Maharashtra Civic Polls

For live updates on Nagpur corporation election results, click here

Though the BJP made major inroads in the cash-rich Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation and neighbouring Thane, it is not sure if Sena will be ready for a post-poll pact, after a no-holds-barred fight between the allies, which often turned a murky slugfest.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by