Follow Us:
Friday, January 15, 2021

BJP wins 6 seats, SP 3 in UP MLC elections

With the latest round of elections, BJP's tally in the 100-member Upper House of the state rose to 25 from 19, SP's to 55 from 52 and Independents to four from two.

By: Express News Service | Lucknow | Updated: December 7, 2020 5:50:00 am
Saiyed Imtiyaz Jaleel, Waris Pathan, Chhotu Vasava, AIMIM, BTP, Gujarat local body polls, indian express newsMahesh Vasava, national president of BTP, had called up AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi and proposed to form a coalition. (Representational)

With the results of the two remaining UP Legislative Council seats – Lucknow and Meerut — being declared on Sunday, the BJP has won six of the 11 seats that went to polls on December 1. The Samajwadi Party (SP) won three seats, while two seats went to Independents.

With the latest round of elections, BJP’s tally in the 100-member Upper House of the state rose to 25 from 19, SP’s to 55 from 52 and Independents to four from two. The Bahujan Samaj Party, which did not field any candidate for the polls, has eight MLC, the Congress two, Apna Dal (Sonelal) one and Sikshak Dal two. There are still three vacancies in the House.

Of the 11 seats, five were reserved for graduates. The BJP won three of them – Avaneesh Kumar Singh from Lucknow, Dinesh Kumar Goel from Meerut and Dr Manvendra Pratap Singh ‘Guruji’ from Agra, snatching from the Samajwadi Party. In Meerut, Goyal defeating four-time, sitting independent MLC Hem Singh Pundir.

Samajwadi Party won in two — Maan Singh Yadav from Allahabad-Jhansi division and Ashutosh Sinha from Varanasi.

Of the six teachers’ constituencies, the results of which were declared on Friday, the ruling BJP won three – Umesh Dwivedi from Lucknow, Shrishchandra Sharma from Meerut and Hari Singh Dhillon from Bareilly-Moradabad teachers’ constituencies.

SP’s Lal Bihari Yadav won from Varanasi teachers’ constituency and Independents Akash Agarwal and Dhruv Kumar Tripathi won from Agra and Faizabad teachers’ constituencies, respectively.

In Meerut teachers’ constituency, BJP snatched the seat from MLC Om Prakash Sharma of Shikshak Dal.

In Bareilly-Moradabad teachers’ constituency, the BJP won the seat after defeating the SP.

In Varanasi teachers’ constituency, SP’s Lal Bihari Yadav defeated sitting MLC (independent) Chet Narayan Singh.

In Agra Teachers’ constituency Independent candidate Akash Agarwal defeated another Independent candidate Jagveer Kishor Jain.

In the Gorakhpur-Faizabad teachers’ constituency, Independent candidate Dhruv Kumar Tripathi retained his seat.

Till now, the SP has dominated the Upper House in the state. This time, the ruling BJP had gone the extra mile as their ministers camped in the respective constituencies to ensure victory for their candidates in order to improve their strength in the Upper House.

Meanwhile, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav congratulated the party’s winning candidate. Akhilesh said that if the polls were held honestly, the party would have won more seats. “The entire administration and police were working to ensure win for BJP,” he said. —With PTI Inputs.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by