Follow Us:
Friday, August 19, 2022

Athani (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: BJP wins by over 39,000 votes

Athani (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: Get all the updates on Athani assembly constituency bye-election results on Athani assembly constituency went to polls on December 5.

Athani Bye-Election Results 2019: Athani constituency went to polls on December 5.

Athani (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: BJP candidate Mahesh Iranagoud Kumatalli won by a margin of 39, 989 over Congress’ Gajanan Bhalachandra Mangasuli in Athani constituency.

Bye-elections to the seat were held on December 5, and the results are being declared Monday.

Follow LIVE updates on Karnataka bypoll result

The seat is among 17 that fell vacant after rebel MLAs from the Congress and JD(S) parties defected to the BJP in a bid to bring down the coalition government. The MLAs were subsequently disqualified from the House but were allowed by the Supreme Court to the contest the bypolls. Elections to two seats — Rajarajeshwari Nagar and Maski — were not held as separate election petitions challenging the results of the 2018 elections are still pending in the Karnataka High Court.

Subscriber Only Stories
Newsmaker | Syed Shahnawaz Hussain, the giant killer and youngest Union C...Premium
Explained: Manish Sisodia raided by CBI, what is the alleged scam in Delh...Premium
Delhi Confidential: Rajeev Chandrasekhar takes a break from work for a sp...Premium
Hamid Karzai: ‘After Taliban takeover, I told Indian envoy not to l...Premium

An overall of 66.25 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the bypolls to 15 constituencies across nine districts of Karnataka.

In the 2018 Assembly elections in Karnataka, BJP won 104 seats, Congress 80, and the JD(S) 37 seats in the 224-member House. Three seats were won by others.

After BJP failed to muster a majority, the Congress and JD(S) forged an alliance to form the government, with HD Kumaraswamy becoming the Chief Minister.

In July 2019, 14 MLAs from the Congress and three from the JD-S quit the Assembly; a trust vote on July 23 led to the collapse of Kumaraswamy’s government. The BJP staked claim to form a new government under Yediyurappa on July 26.

First published on: 09-12-2019 at 08:37:57 am
Next Story

Hunsur (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: Congress wins seat by nearly 40,000 votes

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by

Featured Stories