Follow Us:
Saturday, July 02, 2022

Ahead of Odisha cabinet reshuffle, half of CM Naveen Patnaik’s ministers resign

Many of the ministers who resigned were either in-charge of the districts where the party was almost wiped out or posted less-than impressive results.

Written by Debabrata Mohanty | Bhubaneswar |
Updated: May 7, 2017 8:18:38 am
odisha, odisha ministers, odisha cabinet reshuffle, odisha cm, naveen patnaik, odisha ministers resign, odisha panchayat polls, india news, latest news, odisha news Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik addressing the media after Panchayat representative review meeting at party office in Bhubaneswar on Saturday. PTI Photo

Showing urgency in fighting a gung-ho BJP, chief minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik on Saturday accepted the resignations of 10 of his 20 ministers from his ministry a day ahead of the Cabinet rejig as punishment for their listless performance that led to BJP’s best-ever panchayat poll performance.

Finance minister Pradip Amat, micro, small and medium enterprises minister Jogendra Behera, Food supplies and consumer welfare minister Sanjay Dasburma, Panchayatiraj and law minister Arun Sahoo, higher education minister Pradeep Panigrahi, school and mass education minister Debi Prasad Mishra, housing and urban development minister Pushpendra Singhdeo, sports minister Sudam Marndi, energy minister Pranab Prakash Das, ST and SC development minister Lal Bihari Himirika today resigned from their posts ahead of ministry reshuffle.

Many of the ministers were either in-charge of the districts where the party was almost wiped out or posted less-than impressive results. In the 853 zilla parishad seats that went to polls in February and March this year, BJD won 474 of the 853 zilla parishad seats (down 178 from 2012), the BJP got 297 (up 261), and the Congress finished a poor third at 60(down by half).

“I am grateful to a number of ministers who have resigned voluntarily to work for the party. All of us in the party are very grateful to them,” said Naveen Patnaik, on the sidelines of his meeting with elected members of various panchayatiraj institutions of Kendrapara and Malkangiri. Naveen said that the restructuring within BJD will help the party to serve the people of Odisha for their development and progress.

Best of Express Premium
Women’s emancipation or population control? Why abortion was legalised in...Premium
Udaipur killing on video | ‘Do something spectacular’: Man from Pak told ...Premium
In village of fauji dreams, second thoughts, insecurity over AgnipathPremium
Delhi HC recently struck down powers of Banks Board Bureau; new body to s...Premium

BJD sources said other ministers like handloom and textiles minist​e​r Snehangini Chhuria may be asked to resign for the party’s poor panchayat poll performance in her assembly segment of Attabira. Yesterday Odisha Assembly Speaker Niranjan Pujari had resigned from his post over his possible inclusion in the ministry tomorrow. In his place Pradip Amat is likely to be the new Speaker.

​BJD sources said ​Surya Narayan Patro​, Pratap Jena​, Niranjan Pujari​, Maheswar Mohanty​, Nrusingha Sahoo​, Sus​h​ant Singh​,​​ Bijay Nayak​, Prafulla Samal​, S​h​asibhushan Behera​, Ananta Das ​and Chandra Sarathi ​are being included in the ministry.

To counter the resurgence of BJP, yesterday Naveen had named many of these ministers as observers of 11 districts in the state to further strengthen its base at grassroots level. While party vice president Surya Narayan Patro has been given the charge of Bolangir, Prafulla Samal has been assigned the charge of Jagatsinghpur district.

While Debi Prasad Mishra was asked to look after Sambalpur district, Pradeep Panigrahi has been entrusted with Gajapati. Similarly Arun Sahoo was put in-charge of Mayurbhanj and Sanjay Dasburma for Nabarangpur and Rayagada. Naveen loyalist Pranab Prakash Das was given the responsibility for Koraput and Malkangiri districts.

UPSC KEY Have you seen our section dedicated to helping USPC aspirants decode daily news in the context of their exams?

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by