Follow Us:
Sunday, January 16, 2022

FIFA World Cup 2018: Kylian Mbappe wins Young Player Award

Kylian Mbappe became the second France player in two consecutive World Cup to win the Young Player Award.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: July 16, 2018 9:23:27 am
France’s Kylian Mbappe poses with the best young player award after the final match. (Source: AP)

Kylian Mbappe, 19, became the second player from France and second in a row to win the Young Player Award at the FIFA World Cup 2018 as France beat Croatia 4-2 in the final in Moscow, Russia. Four years back, Paul Pogba won the same award.

Mbappe scored four times in seven appearances to help his side lift a second world title, scoring in the 4-2 win over Croatia in Sunday’s final. He is only the fourth teenager to ever play a World Cup final. Not only did he score in the final, Mbappe also gave Argentina a hard time with his brace in the Round of 16 mach.

FIFA World Cup 2018 Awards: Full list of winners

The award is presented to outstanding young footballers at the FIFA World Cup. Even though this award is meant for players below 21 years and there wasn’t much of a competition for the Paris Saint Germain forward, Mbappe was still the worthy winner of the award.

Here is a list of the previous Young Player Award winners:

2014: Paul Pogba (France)

2010: Thomas Muller (Germany)

2006: Lukas Podolski (Germany)

2002: Landon Donovan (USA)

1998: Michael Owen (England)

1994: Marc Overmars (Netherlands)

1990: Robert Prosinecki (Yugoslavia)

1986: Enzo Scifo (Belgium)

1982: Manuel Amoros (France)

1978: Antonio Cabrini (Italy)

1974: Wladyslaw Zmuda (Poland)

1970: Teofilo Cubillas (Peru)

1966: Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany)

1962: Florian Albert (Hungary)

1958: Pele (Brazil)

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Fifa News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard