scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Saturday, June 12, 2021
Live now

The Family Man Season 2 review and release LIVE UPDATES: Fans say Samantha Akkineni steals the limelight

The Family Man Season 2 review and release live updates: The Family Man Season 2 stars Manoj Bajpayee, Samantha Akkineni, Priyamani, Sharib Hashmi, Seema Biswas, Darshan Kumar, Sharad Kelkar, Sunny Hinduja and Shreya Dhanwantary among others.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: June 4, 2021 7:53:48 pm
The Family Man Season 2The Family Man Season 2 is streaming on Amazon Prime Video. (Photo: Amazon Studios)

The Family Man Season 2, starring Manoj Bajpayee, Samantha Akkineni, Priyamani, Sharib Hashmi, Seema Biswas, Darshan Kumar, Sharad Kelkar, Sunny Hinduja, Shreya Dhanwantary, Shahab Ali, Vedant Sinha, Mahek Thakur, Mime Gopi, Ravindra Vijay, Devadarshini Chetan, Anandsami and N. Alagamperumal, has released on Amazon Prime Video.

The second season marks the digital debut of popular south Indian actor Samantha Akkineni. Though her appearance in the trailer has generated some controversy, the makers stood by her and said that she “took an extreme risk to do this role.” Director Raj Nidmoru told indianexpress.com, “Samantha’s choice of doing The Family Man 2 is an extremely risky one, especially if you see how passionately her fans follow her work. Already there are few comments saying, ‘What did you do to our beautiful Samantha?’ I said, ‘She is still beautiful but in just a different role.’ Someone like her doing this role is very risky. It is brave to say, ‘I am going to let go of all the things people look in me, in my character and I will embrace a completely different, contrasting character and try and do my best with it.’”

After the controversy regarding the depiction of Tamil people and their culture in The Family Man Season 2 erupted, Raj & DK issued a statement that read, “Some assumptions and impressions have been made based on just a couple of shots in the trailer. Many of our lead cast members, as well as key members of the creative & writing team, are Tamilians. We are very cognizant of the sentiments of the Tamil people and Tamil culture and have nothing but the utmost love and respect towards our Tamil people.”

From the trailer of Season 2, it seems like Srikant Tiwari, played by Manoj Bajpayee, has taken a job that has nothing to do with the intelligence force, but he slowly finds a way back to his old roots. The Family Man always focused on Srikant’s home-life as well as work-life as the show’s premise relies on the fact that people with dangerous jobs can have an equally demanding home life. This season too, it looks Srikant’s marital life is on the rocks as he is trying to patch things up with his wife, played by Priyamani.

Manoj Bajpayee shared with indianexpress.com, “They have created such a fantastic creative piece with season one, and the second season is uninfluenced and unimpacted by the success of the first season, because we already shot the first schedule by the time the first edition was out.”

He added, “The family has moved on, Srikant has moved on and he has new challenges on work front and I am restlessly curious to know how people are going to receive Srikant in these new circumstances, how they will welcome this explosive character like Samantha’s. That way, I am assured we have a great product in hand.”

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about The Family Man Season 2.

19:39 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'A reality check'

Twitter user @guruprsth wrote, "Family man is a reality check between Judiciary - politics - religion - emotion and terrorism."

19:13 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'Samantha stole the show'

Twitter user @Vamckrishnaa tweeted, "When an extra ordinary performer is given extra ordinary role,which is challenging it turns out to be #Rajji. What a brilliant performance by our Samantha Prabu, stole the show. Of course Manoj Bajpayee was terrific,brilliant."

18:53 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'Season 1 was better'

Twitter user @Baahubali wrote, "Story wise & screenplay wise felt season 1 better than #FamilyMan. But nevertheless #FamilyMan is the best Indian Webseries according to me #Sacred Games and #Mirazapur are no were near to #FamilyMan2

18:34 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'Brilliant performance by Samantha'

"This is why people say don't pass judgements before knowing the facts!!! @Samanthaprabhu2 ma'am was on fire🔥 Brilliant performance by her!!! "Raji" the name is enough✅ The Showstealer #SamanthaAkkineni 💥#Samantha #TheFamilyMan2 #TheFamilyMan #TheFamilyMan2Review," Twitter user @BiswasDebanshi wrote. 

18:09 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'A 5-star series'

Twitter user @PranavS42691918 wrote, "#TheFamilyMan2 5 star for series it is pure darma based series every thing good but drama on screen is great"

17:45 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'Awesome acting and action'

'@Samanthaprabhu2 mam u nailed in #TheFamilyMan2. Awesome acting and action ..' Twitter user @factomania2 shared. 

17:28 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'Super excited for The Family Man 2'

Writer-director Rajesh M Selva said via Twitter, "Super excited for #TheFamilyMan2 release today. Congrats to the entire team! Personally feeling proud for #ManojKalaivanan and looking forward to our association in our upcoming projects. @BajpayeeManoj @Samanthaprabhu2." 

16:50 (IST)04 Jun 2021
What made Family Man a winner

The thriller, The Family Man, starring Manoj Bajpayee was an instant hit with the audience as soon as it released in 2019 and continues to be one of the most popular shows in India’s OTT space. Before you watch The Family Man Season 2, here's a reminder of everything that worked for the show's first season starring Manoj Bajpayee, Priyamani, Neeraj Madhav and Sharib Hashmi. READ THIS

16:15 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'Samantha Akkinneni is da bomb'

Indian Express critic Shubhra Gupta tweeted, "Didn’t expect to enjoy #TheFamilyManSeason2 as much as I did. Manoj Bajpayee is still the OG, Sharib Hashmi is as good as before. The action is kickass. And Samantha Akkinneni is da bomb @PrimeVideoIN."

16:10 (IST)04 Jun 2021
Liked Priyamani in The Family Man 2?

Priyamani’s performance in the newly-released Amazon Prime Video’s The Family Man 2 is garnering appreciation from all corners. And she couldn’t have asked for a better gift as she is celebrating her 37th birthday today. If you liked Priyamani’s acting in the second season of The Family Man, and wish to see more of her performances, we have you covered. Here are five films where Priyamani shined as a performer. READ MORE

15:50 (IST)04 Jun 2021
Sharad Kelkar shares his happiness on The Family Man Season 2

The Family Man Season 2 star Sharad Kelkar tweeted, "मेरे दो अनमोल रतन" क्या solid season बनाया है boss."

15:13 (IST)04 Jun 2021
Sharib Hashmi predicted Family Man 2's success

Sharib Hashmi is as excited forThe Family Man 2, as the audience. In a candid chat with indianexpress.com, Sharib spoke about how he reacted when the script of season two came to him. "When your first season becomes such a hit, things are on the edge. I was equally curious about a lot of things at the end of season one, just like the audience. But they’ll get all the answers. The script of season two was so engaging, I read it at one go. The thrill element is very fast-paced this time with more action scenes. My hopes soared after reading the script and I knew then and there that we’ve got another winner. Like how the first season revived my career, its second season will take it to newer heights," he shared.

15:05 (IST)04 Jun 2021
It is Priyamani's birthday today

Amazon Prime Video shared a birthday wish for The Family Man 2 star Priyamani with this video and wrote, "happy birthday priyamani, we love you and we are so proud of the timing, it’s perfect."

14:50 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'Manoj Bajpayee, Sharib Hashmi excel yet again'

A Twitter user @prayaghs posted, "Marveled at the treatment & content @rajndk have delivered again.Talking about @BajpayeeManoj@sharibhashmi duo have excelled yet again @Samanthaprabhu2 veere level  #TheFamilyMan2Review .Must watch."

14:14 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'Yet another masterpiece by Manoj Bajpayee'

@Pradiptospeaks shared on Twitter, "#familymanseason2 was yet another masterpiece by @BajpayeeManoj and also @Samanthaprabhu2. Loved the drama and action. Excited for season 3 :)#TheFamilyMan2."

13:41 (IST)04 Jun 2021
Samantha 'a powerhouse of talent'

@Prudhvisagar shared, "2nd episode ending of #TheFamilyMan2 shows why @Samanthaprabhu2 is a powerhouse talent and one of the lady superstars of Indian industry. Such ferociousness in eyes."

13:21 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'Family Man 2 is a killer series'

@BiswasDebanshi tweeted, "The build up that the creators of #TheFamilyMan2 have created in the first episode "EXILE" is just commendable. Great work @rajndk. The series is going to be a killer!!Fire As usual JK and Srikant are brilliant #ManojBajpayee #SamanthaAkkineni @BajpayeeManoj @sharibhashmi."

12:32 (IST)04 Jun 2021
'I'm in awe of Samantha performance'

A fan @NafisaJoseph posted on Twitter, "Moments like these make u fall in love with @BajpayeeManoj & @sharibhashmi .. I'm in awe with @Samanthaprabhu2 performance, look and expression so powerful Smiling face with heart-shaped eyes..You are a dynamite Firecracker.. more power to u while I continue to binge on #TheFamilyManSeason2."

12:02 (IST)04 Jun 2021
Family Man 2 is 'a complete package'

@maddy_meet shared via Twitter, "Finished #familyman2 without taking a break. A complete package deliverd by the team. @BajpayeeManoj sir was expectedly awesome. @sharibhashmi bhai ek hi dil hai yr kitne baar jeetoge. Entire team was amazing @PrimeVideoIN lots of love for @Samanthaprabhu2 5⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐."

11:46 (IST)04 Jun 2021
Family Man gets its second season right

@maharshs shared on Twitter, "Family Man S02 is a lesson in how to get second seasons right. A rarity. Midway and blown. I reckon this is going to be my fastest binge in a long time! Kudos @Suparn - proper pathbreaker!!!! #Familyman2."

Samantha Akkineni opened up to indianexpress.com about watching The Family Man Season 1 as an audience member. She said, "It was like watching a blockbuster film with comedy, action. It was a complete package. I didn’t expect to watch what I watched." The actor added, "I was patting myself that you made such an amazing decision."

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.