scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Monday, June 14, 2021
Live now

Loki review and release LIVE UPDATES: Tom Hiddleston series is an emotional rollercoaster

The Disney Plus Hotstar series stars Tom Hiddleston as Loki, Owen Wilson as Mobius M Mobius, Gugu Mbatha-Raw as Ravonna Renslayer and Wunmi Mosaku as Hunter B-15.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: June 9, 2021 7:51:26 pm
LokiLoki will stream on Disney Plus Hotstar.

Starring Tom Hiddleston in the lead role, Disney Plus Hotstar series Loki starts streaming from 12:30 pm on June 9. While the God of Mischief died in the main timeline during the events of Avengers: Infinity War, the character got another lease of life during Avengers: Endgame as the Avengers visited the timeline of Battle of New York where Loki was being held captive. The events of this MCU series kick off from that moment, and the Loki we see here is the one who vanished with the Tesseract.

In an earlier interview with TV Insider, Tom said, “I think what’s really interesting is that the audience broadly has a better perspective on Loki than Loki does. Because the audience has seen the events of The Dark World, and Ragnarok, and Infinity War, and Endgame, and this is a Loki that doesn’t have any of that self-awareness. He hasn’t been on this arc of redemption and catharsis, and upon being apprehended by the TVA, he’s a very confused and destabilized being. He’s out of his comfort zone, a fish out of water, and not happy about it.”

The show also stars Owen Wilson as Mobius M Mobius, Gugu Mbatha-Raw as Ravonna Renslayer and Wunmi Mosaku as Hunter B-15.

From what we have seen in the promos so far, Loki is caught by Time Variance Authority, who apprehends people trying to play with the timelines. Mobius tries to join forces with Loki in trying to capture dangerous Variants.

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Loki.

19:51 (IST)09 Jun 2021
'Who will be Lady Loki?"

Fans were thrilled with the mention of the Multiverse in Loki and how the series would set up Doctor Strange 2. "Not 100% sold on the series yet, slow start, but I’m liking where #Loki is going. Definitely going to be setting up the Multiverse of Madness further and I’m hyped for who I’m guessing is going to be Lady Loki?" User @Kezarus wrote. 

19:29 (IST)09 Jun 2021
'Broke my heart'

User @RockstarKn1ghts wrote, "Man that first episode of #Loki was amazing these scenes broke my heart tho I never cried watching a show but this broke me I guess I see myself in Loki and knowing he finds this out just to die isn’t fair." 

18:57 (IST)09 Jun 2021
'Loki deserved a theatrical release of his own'

Fans just can't get enough of the God Of Mischief. User @CheezFryz tweeted, "#Loki deserved a theatrical release of his own!

18:37 (IST)09 Jun 2021
'Emotional rollercoaster of Marvel'

Marvel's series WandaVision, The Falcon And The Winter Soldier and now Loki, have been twisting the knife. If fans were expecting the premiere of Loki to be entirely comic, or filled with action, they were wrong. User @itz__Prabhaa tweeted, "Welcome to the emotional rollercoaster of Marvel...#Loki." 

18:19 (IST)09 Jun 2021
'Owen Wilson as Mobius is amazing'

User @StraderZane tweeted in praise of Owen Wilson who plays Agent Mobius. "#Loki was fantastic. Much of the credit for Loki’s fun Owen Wilson as Agent Mobius is Amazing and Tom Hiddleston was born to play Loki. They have Great Chemistry. The show off to a great start." 

17:50 (IST)09 Jun 2021
'Won't recover from watching Loki cry'

Fans were in tears after seeing Loki cry, when he saw his future self bonding with Thor. User @Lottewaldram wrote, "I genuinely won’t recover from Loki crying this episode." 

17:42 (IST)09 Jun 2021
'Loki represents the most human side of us.'

Twitter user @RoseMilo94 had a lot to tweet about the hidden side of Loki.

17:28 (IST)09 Jun 2021
Is Mephisto the main villain in Loki?

Fans were sure that Mephisto was at the center of all evil in WandaVision. However, as the series progressed, they were proved wrong. When the 'devil' was referenced in Loki, they were sure that this time, they were right. Except they weren't. 

When Loki director Kate Herron was asked about this, she answered, “It’s honestly just a super weird coincidence. Like, it’s genuinely a reference to Loki — the horns, he was cast out of heaven, that’s what it’s a reference to,” Herron said. “Because we filmed that a long time before — I think WandaVision must have been in post (post-production) when we filmed that. I did see all the stuff about that online and I was like, ‘Oh, this is going to be interesting.’ But no, it’s more relevant to the themes of our show and it’s not a nod to that character.”

17:17 (IST)09 Jun 2021
Loki not a part of Thor: Love and Thunder

Tom Hiddleston told Digital Spy and the Empire, "We talked about the Thor movies as a family saga, and the diametric opposition between Thor and Loki and duality and antagonism being a book that perhaps should remain closed for the moment. We have explored about as much as we can about these two brothers." Read more here.

16:30 (IST)09 Jun 2021
Did Loki episode 1 have post-credit scenes?

Marvel fans have been compelled into staying till the end of the credits for every film, as there is usually an Easter Egg or a teaser always waiting for you. Unlike the films, the Marvel-Disney Plus series like WandaVision and The Falcon And The Winter Soldier switched things up a bit, where the post-credit scenes were introduced in the later episodes. Loki, starring Tom Hiddleston, followed the same route as the other series. The show premiered on June 9, and while it was an action-packed episode, there was no post-credit scenes, though it was fun to sit through the credits. Read more.

16:00 (IST)09 Jun 2021
Loki release in Tamil, Telugu delayed

While Loki premiered on Wednesday in English and a dubbed version in Hindi on Disney+ Hotstar, its Tamil, and Telugu dubs are not available yet. The Tamil and Telugu dubbed versions of Loki have been delayed as of now. According to NDTV, the streaming service has said that Loki will release “soon” in Tamil and Telugu.

15:39 (IST)09 Jun 2021
Loki and the curious case of the timelines

Loki died in Avengers: Infinity War, only to vanish with the Tasseract in Avengers: Endgame. The new Disney+ series shows exactly what’s been happening with Loki as his escapade creates a new branched-off reality. In an interview with TV Insider, Tom Hiddleston, who has played the character for over a decade, explains the complicated timelines. Read it here.

15:17 (IST)09 Jun 2021
Behind-the-scenes of Loki

Writer-director Kate Herron shared a video and wrote, "First behind-the-scenes of @LokiOfficial, please enjoy me and #OwenWilson bringing our best jacket game."

15:04 (IST)09 Jun 2021
Thor Love and Thunder will not feature Loki, confirms Tom Hiddleston

Loki star Tom Hiddleston has revealed that he is not a part of Thor 4 aka Thor: Love and Thunder. In an interview with Digital Spy and the Empire, the actor said the relationship between Thor and Loki has been explored fully on-screen, and for now, they have decided to close that particular chapter in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Read more

14:47 (IST)09 Jun 2021
When Tom Hiddleston auditioned to play Thor

Tom Hiddleston’s Loki entered the Marvel Cinematic Universe with 2009’s Thor, and twelve years later, the character is all set to have his own series starting June 9. But did you know that Tom had initially auditioned to play Thor? Watch the video here.

14:31 (IST)09 Jun 2021
All Loki fan theories as show releases

With Loki's release, fans have come out with some unusual theories about the upcoming show. Though the God Of Mischief has ‘died’ many times, fans as well as Hiddleston assumed that Avengers: Infinity War was the last bow of the character, as Thanos (Josh Brolin) killed him in front of his brother Thor (Chris Hemsworth). Well, during the Time Heist in Avengers: Endgame, Loki was seen escaping with the Tesseract in 2012, leading to a whole new world of possibilities. And now, he has his own eponymous show, which is airing. The trailers and teasers have kept the fans speculating, though the makers are keeping mum about the plot details. Read this.

13:59 (IST)09 Jun 2021
Loki character guide

Wondering who are the major characters in Loki? Here is a brief character guide of all the major characters in the latest MCU series. As the name suggests, it traces new adventures of the Asgardian God of Mischief. Although the Loki of the main MCU timeline is dead, this series follows the character as he vanished with Space Stone in the immediate aftermath of the Battle of New York. Read More

13:33 (IST)09 Jun 2021
'Loki is now streaming'

Disney+HotstarPremium tweeted, "The time has come ⌛ The series premiere of Marvel Studios' #Loki is now streaming. https://bit.ly/2TfOMN1."

13:15 (IST)09 Jun 2021
'Loki is a labour of love'

Loki's director Kate Herron tweeted on the eve of the series' launch, "Staring into the abyss of my dishwasher today at these mugs and realize it’s two years since this all began. I can’t believe I finish in a week and you all get to see the show tomorrow. This is a labor of love by hundreds of brilliant people. Thank you to them all #loki"

12:33 (IST)09 Jun 2021
Excited to watch Loki's first episode?

Disney+HotstarPremium's Twitter page posted, 'Us disappearing from our work desks at 12-30 PM today!#Loki."

In an earlier interview with Empire, Marvel head Kevin Feige said that Disney Plus Hotstar series Loki will have more impact on the Marvel Cinematic Universe than any of the shows so far. After WandaVision and The Falcon and the Winter Soldier, Loki is the third series to come out of MCU. Feige said, "It's tremendously important. It perhaps will have more impact on the MCU than any of the shows thus far. What everybody thought about WandaVision, and was sort of true, and The Falcon And The Winter Soldier, which was sort of true, is even more sort of true for Loki."

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.