Follow Us:
Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Petta movie review and release highlights: Rajini fans make a beeline for theaters

Petta movie review and release highlights: Here's what celebrities, fans and critics are saying about Petta, starring Rajinikanth, Trisha, Vijay Sethupathi and Simran among others.

By: Entertainment Desk | Chennai | Updated: January 10, 2019 8:11:13 pm
Petta review Petta movie review: Petta will give tough competition to Ajith starrer Viswasam.

After the success of 2.0, Rajinikanth is back in theaters with Petta. Directed by Karthik Subbaraj, the film also stars Vijay Sethupathi, Trisha, Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Simran and Bobby Simha among others.

Subbaraj is a big fan of Rajinikanth and had revealed at the audio launch of the movie that Thalaiva was the one who asked him whether he had any scripts for him. Music composer Anirudh Ravichander has been successful in creating hype around the movie with tracks like “Marana Mass” and “Ullaallaa”.

Petta clashes with Ajith starrer Viswasam and it is to be seen how the two films fare and if their release on the same day will affect the business of both these films.

Also See | Petta: Rajinikanth fever takes over Chennai

Petta is expected to be a ‘typical Rajinikanth film’ unlike Kabali and Kaala. It is also Superstar’s first Pongal release in 24 years. The film promises a throwback to the vintage Rajinikanth and seems to have ‘mass’ moments to suit the taste of his fans.

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Rajinikanth's Petta. Read updates in Tamil and Hindi.

Highlights

    16:29 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    'Petta is a pure Thailavar swag'

    Tamil actor Sivakarthikeyan watched Petta and tweeted, "#Petta- #Thalaivar Full on mass mode💥👍stylish,energetic @rajinikanth sir on screen...@anirudhofficial sirrrr bgms vera level... it’s a pure #Thalaivar swag.. Wishes to @karthiksubbaraj and full team 👍😊 #Rajinified." 

    16:02 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Our verdict

    The director Karthik Subbaraj has taken us back to the ‘90s Rajinikanth that we sorely missed for a long time. Most of the scenes, gestures, dialogues and songs remind us of his blockbuster films including Aboorva Ragangal, Baashha, Annamalai, Chandramukhi and so on. It works like a dose of nostalgia. Even the names of the characters are inspired by the actor’s previous films. Rajinikanth is named Kaali (a hostel warden) in Petta. 

    Also read | Petta review: More celebration, less film

    15:40 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Petta leaked online

    Superstar Rajinikanth's Petta has found its way to piracy site Tamilrockers. Yes, even Thalaivar couldn't escape the wrath of piracy.

    Also read | Rajinikanth’s Petta leaked online by Tamilrockers

    15:30 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Lingusamy on Petta

    Filmmaker Lingusamy watched Petta and enjoyed it thoroughly. "#Petta - Completely enjoyed an out & out @rajinikanth sir movie after years. Got #Rajinified for sure. Happy for u @karthiksubbaraj..! Congrats to the entire team for this @trishtrashers @SimranbaggaOffc @VijaySethuOffl @anirudhofficial @DOP_Tirru @SasikumarDir #PettaParaak," he tweeted after watching the Rajinikanth starrer. 

    15:03 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Petta is purely a superstar special, says Aadhav

    Aadhav Kannadhasan posted on Twitter, "#Petta is purely a superstar special! Get #Rajinified in this marana mass movie. thank you @karthiksubbaraj for giveing our Thalaivar Back in his Style 🙏🙏 @anirudhofficial bro vera level BGM & songs ! Loved it 😇🎉🌟💫 lets celebrate this film!"

    14:18 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Best wishes to team Petta

    Actor Chandrika Ravi tweeted, "Sooooo excited to watch #Petta!!! The great @rajinikanth sir! Our thalaivar! What a dream it would be to share screen space with you sir 🙏🏽 All the best to team Petta!" 

    14:05 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Petta paused in theaters on Rajinikanth's entry

    Trade analyst Girish Johar took to Twitter to share the excitement around Petta among the fans of the Thalaivar. He tweeted, "Crowds & Fans going berzerk !!!🔥🌟💫🎉 #Petta ... The film is actually paused by the projectionists... in various cinemas ...at the entry of #MegaStar @rajinikanth .... really love to see this madness !!! ❤🔥#PettaFDFS."

    13:27 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Actor Vishal on Petta

    Actor Vishal wished both, Petta and Vishwasam, become blockbuster hits. He tweeted, "Wishing Blockbuster Hits for #SuperStar , #Thala & their Team for their Movies releasing today & Wishing all my Dear & Near ones Happy Pongal Holidays....GB."

    13:07 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Actor Sathish wishes team Petta

    Actor Sathish tweeted, "Best wishes to our super star @rajinikanth sir @anirudhofficial bro @karthiksubbaraj bro @VijaySethuOffl bro @SimranbaggaOffc @sunpictures and #Petta team. Releasing today. Watch in theatres."

    12:58 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Telugu actor Manoj Kumar Manchu on Petta

    Telugu actor Manoj Kumar Manchu said he is "Rajnified" after watching Petta. "Each character he plays is just crafted & created for him!😍What swag! Thalaivaa da..💪💪😍😍❤️❤️#Petta! Extremely #Rajinified!😎😎🙌 Congratulations to entire team! Special thanks to @karthiksubbaraj for such a grand visual treat & @anirudhofficial with his best one ever!👍✌️," he tweeted. 

    12:22 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Rajinikanth mania hits the young and the old alike
    11:41 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Women pray for Petta's success in Mumbai
    11:31 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Watch: Petta fever grips India

    11:20 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    'Petta is a classic Rajinikanth film'

    A fan of Rajinikanth, after watching Petta said, "It is a very good movie. After five years, I liked a Thalaivar's film. It's a classic film and the action sequences are too good." Another fan came out of the theater cheering for Rajinikanth and called Petta a "superb" film.

    11:07 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Fans in Mumbai celebrate Petta

    The fans of Rajinikanth has thronged the theaters to watch Petta in Mumbai as well. 

    10:46 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Petta opens to good numbers in USA

    Ramesh Bala shared Petta's performance in the USA. He tweeted, "#Petta crosses $500K at the #USA Box office.. Premiere. As of 8:30 PM PST, it has grossed $502K." 

    10:42 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Petta: Quick Review

    Indianexpress.com Antara writes, "The plotline of Petta is fairly simple but there is that Karthik Subbaraj touch that we have all come to know and love that keeps this movie from turning predictable. The first half is full of amazing Thalaivar moments. He is seen joining a hostel as a warden named Kaali and quickly becomes the coolest guy in the campus. The romance scenes with Mangalam (Simran) are heartwarming without them trying to hide their age." 

    Also read | Petta quick review: Thank you Karthik Subbaraj for bringing back the old Rajinikanth

    10:23 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Filmmaker Suseenthiran on Petta
    09:58 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Petta director's plea

    Petta director Karthik Subbaraj posted on Twitter, "#Petta response is so overwhelming and awesome...Thank you Thalaivar fans...Love you Thalaivaaaaaa...Thank you @sunpictures & whole TEAM!! One sincere request: PLS DONT SHARE FILM CLIPS FROM THEATRE.. PLS DONT REVEAL THE STORY... Let everybody #GetRajinified like you did!! 🙏😊"

    09:43 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Simran on sharing screen space with Rajinikanth in Petta

    In an interview with The Hindu, Simran said, "I have been a Rajinikanth fan for a long time. There have been times when I have tried walking like him and putting on my glasses like him. I thought I would forget my dialogues because I was star-stuck on the first day. But he ensured that everything was calm on sets and kept telling us that what we are doing is to entertain people."

    09:30 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    'Petta is gonna be a sure shot hit'

    The city-based theater owner adds the response so far has been overwhelming in his theater. He says, "I was sitting at the back row, and couldn't hear half the dialogues. All I could hear was whistles and claps. Petta is gonna be a sure shot hit."

    09:07 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    'Many people thank us for holding early morning shows'

    A city-based theater owner, on condition of anonymity, says, "So many people thank us for holding early morning shows. Most of Superstar's fans watch the film and head to their workplace or colleges and get on with their daily routine. I don't think anyone goes by the press reviews or Twitter updates at least for the early shows. It is all pure love that these fans have for Rajini sir."

    08:52 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    'There is no way we will miss watching Thalaivar on-screen on his film’s release day'

    Viswanathan is here with his wife. "She is a Rajini maniac. So, I ensured that I got two tickets for the morning show. There is no way we will miss watching Thalaivar on-screen on his film’s release day."

    08:40 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    'I haven't missed any Rajinikanth films'

    Vijay Andrew, an MBA graduate, says, "I was so desperate to watch 4 am show, but couldn't. By the time I came from Adyar to Porur, it was 5.30 am. I waited at one of my friends' place for a couple of hours, and now all set for the 8.30 am show. I am an ardent fan of the Superstar, and so far, I haven't missed any film of his. Somehow I will make sure I begin the day with his film."

    08:28 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    'It is a marana mass Rajinikanth film'

    Sathya Prakash and his friends are at GK Cinemas to watch the morning show of Petta. Sathya says with a laughter, "We have applied for half a day leave because it is a 'marana mass' Rajinikanth film."

    08:15 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Petta: Quick take

    Indianexpress.com's Antara says, "The second half dragged a bit but the entertainment in the first half more than makes up for it. There are lot of references to old Rajini films so it induces a lot of good nostalgia. I think it will go down as one of the Rajinikanth movies that people watch over and over, like Padayappa or Sivaji."

    07:41 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Here's what the audience has to say about Petta
    07:23 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Petta is epic, says Dhanush

    "#petta is EPIC ... superstar .. love you thalaivaaaaa ... tharamaana sambavam senjiteenga. Congrats to the whole team. @karthiksubbaraj .. 🙏🙏🙏🙏 big big big thank you .. we are indeed #rajinified .. Anirudh .. your best bgm work till date. Petta paraaaaaaak !!!!" Dhanush said via Twitter.

    07:10 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Sai Dhanshika on Petta

    Sai Dhanshika tweeted, "Just Can’t wait to see Thalaivar on screen & of course @trishtrashers ♥️ #FDFS #100percent"

    06:54 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Fans heap praise on Petta

    While Kousik Karthikeyan (@kousik23) wrote on Twitter, "Frame by frame Rajinism is top notch !!! No one can Glorify Thalaivar like this !! Best Thalaivar film of the decade ! Thank you Karthik Subbaraj #Petta #PettaFDFS #PettaParaak #PettaReview #GetRajinified #PettaPongal," Krish (@BejwadaKurrodu) shared on Twitter, "Done with my show in San Francisco. Only one word Blockbuster. Semma MASSSSS. Padayiappa level Acting by thalaivar. Rajini sir is back with a bang. @karthiksubbaraj sir is real fan of Thalaivar. Petta > Padayiappa > Sivaji."

    06:38 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    On the fence about watching Petta? Check out the trailer of Rajinikanth's film here

    06:23 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Thirunavukarasu on Petta

    Petta cinematographer Thirunavukarasu posted on Twitter, "Thank you @rajinikanth, @karthiksubbaraj & @sunpictures for a wonderful working experience. Finally the day has arrived, can't wait for you all to watch and experience #Petta in cinemas near you. SAY NO TO PIRACY. #GetRajinified #PettaPARAAK #PettaFromToday 😊"

    06:09 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Rajinikanth is a phenomena, says Trisha

    Trisha shared on Twitter, "Rajini sir ...You are a PHENOMENA !! Lets leave it at that. #PETTAFDFS"

    05:58 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Rajinikanth is looking super hot, says Kasturi Shankar

    "Interval block... MASSU MARANAM ! Thalaivar @rajinikanth looking SUPER HOT SUPER YOUNG SUPER STYLISH. every shot is amazing. @karthiksubbaraj thank yooooo! @sunpictures #petta FDFS," actor Kasturi Shankar said via Twitter.

    05:46 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Jayam Ravi on Petta

    Jayam Ravi tweeted, "Wishing Thalaivar @rajinikanth sir and the entire team of #Petta the very best for a grand success!"

    05:36 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Petta first half: Quick review

    Indianexpress.com's Antara says, "Petta is damn entertaining. Rajnikanth is in his element. Reminds me of his Baasha days."

    05:28 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Thank you dear Rajinikanth for constantly changing the game, says Santhosh Narayanan

    Music director Santhosh Narayanan posted on Twitter, "Best wishes to my dearest @karthiksubbaraj, @anirudhofficial and the energetic team of #Petta for a huge success. Thank you dear Thalaivar @rajinikanth sir for constantly changing the game and bringing in such amazing talent."

    05:17 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Watch: Rajinikanth fans fill theaters

    Rajinikanth's fans make a beeline for Chennai theaters. The first show of Petta in Chennai started at 4 am.

    05:06 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Watch: Fans are ready to get Rajinified

    Fans in Chennai celebrate the release of Rajinikanth starrer Petta by bursting firecrackers.

    04:56 (IST)10 Jan 2019
    Surprises galore

    “Petta is an out-and-out entertainer that will satisfy the expectations of fans. I hope that the members of the press continue the love and support that me and my previous films have received. I request the members of the press to preserve the surprises the film has to offer. I sincerely request every one of you to keep the surprises in the film undisclosed while writing your reviews and articles, so that every single viewer out there gets to experience the fullness of the cinematic experience and Thalaivarism that Petta has to offer,” Petta director Karthik Subbaraj said in a statement.

    Talking about the Petta and Viswasam clash, trade analyst-producer-distributor G Dhananjayan told indianexpress.com, “Both Rajinikanth and Ajith Kumar are brilliant in their own right. Their films have always had a massive opening. For the first time in more than a decade or so, an Ajith film is releasing alongside a Rajinikanth film. I wish there were more films joining the race because Pongal can easily accommodate three films. Moreover, technically there is no release on the day of the harvest festival."