Full access at just Rs 3/day

Journalism of Courage
Advertisement

Ponniyin Selvan 1 release and review LIVE UPDATES: Mani Ratnam delivers a royal epic, to collect Rs 50 cr on day 1 in box office

Ponniyin Selvan 1 movie review, movie launch Live Updates: Mani Ratnam's magnum opus is out in theatres. The film stars Vikram, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Jayam Ravi, Karthi, Trisha, Aishwarya Lekshmi, Sobhita Dhulipala, Prabhu, R. Sarathkumar, Vikram Prabhu, among others.

Ponniyin Selvan 1Ponniyin Selvan 1 review and release live updates: The Mani Ratnam film has released in theatres.

Mani Ratnam’s magnum opus Ponniyin Selvan 1 is out in theatres. Starring Vikram, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Jayam Ravi, Karthi, Trisha, Aishwarya Lekshmi, Sobhita Dhulipala, Prabhu, R Sarathkumar and Vikram Prabhu in significant roles, PS 1 has been in the making since 2019 and in a recent interview, Jayam Ravi revealed that both the parts of the film were shot in 150 days.

Ponniyin Selvan is based on the novel of the same name by Kalki Krishnamurthy, which was first published in 1955. Talking about adapting the book into a film, Mani Ratnam told Film Companion, “I think when you converted it (novel) into a script, you have to follow some spine and go with it. My writer told me the best line I heard before the film. He said, ‘Read the book once, throw it away and then you write.’”

Vikram, who plays the role of Aditha Karikalan, the crown prince and the commander of Northern troops in Sundara Chola’s reign, recently spoke to PTI about the ensemble cast and said, “It’s a very rare thing to feel comfortable and not feel threatened by your co-actors. It’s very rare that you want them to excel in what they’re doing and want to keep up with that.” Praising Karthi and Jayam Ravi, he said, “Karthi carries the whole film on his shoulder. The whole story goes through his character… It’s not straight at all, there are so many ups and downs. It’s a crazy trip for him. It’s a trippy character. And Ravi’s character is again something else, very different where he’s so composed and he’s so calm but there’s so much confusion and so many things going on in his head. At the same time, he has to be princely. And so these are roles that as actors you really want to get into.”

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Ponniyin Selvan 1 here:

20:52 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Comparing Ponniyin Selvan-1 to Baahubali is 'amateurishly silly'

A Twitter user @kyapatabro wrote, "#PonniyanSelvan is a magnificent piece of Period CINEMA (Proper Cinema, not Movie) with an outstanding cast. For period cinema lovers, it doesn't get any better than this. Comparing it with Bahubali is just amateurishly silly."

20:13 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Sobhita Dhulipala thanks for the love that's pouring in
19:44 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Prakash Raj thanks Mani Ratnam
19:21 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Fans like the realistic approach of Ponniyin Selvan-1

A Twitter user @BrandAK4Eva wrote, "Done watching #PonniyanSelvan #ponniyinselvan1 #PS1. To be honest, I went for the movie with low expectations but ended up being fully satisfied and now eagerly waiting for Part 2. I like the realistic approach of the film. Engaging and all the actors has performed well."

18:58 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Mani Ratnam is glad he didn't do the movie earlier

The ace director had told The New Indian Express, "Fitting Ponniyin Selvan into a single film was the biggest challenge I had when thinking of adapting. Today, the audience has embraced the idea of duologies and trilogies, and this seemed like the perfect time for me to explore the format. If I had made the material as a single film, I would have been critical of myself for leaving out so many details."

18:41 (IST)30 Sep 2022
'A stellar cast has been assembled'

Twitter user @Gowdamakash wrote, "I never read the novel.I watch the film.I went to witness the story of the Chola dynasty.I was so invested in the film and the film took me into its world.I was wondering how a film could be too good without any flaws & keep us engaged with our mouths open. A Stellar cast had been assembled, Every character was brilliant with their performances. I loved the comedy of Nambi and the show-stealer Vallavaraiyan Vandiyadevan."

18:11 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Chiyaan Vikram says Aishwarya Rai is the symbol of 'perfection'
17:52 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Ponniyin Selvan-1 shines overseas
More from Entertainment
17:31 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Twitter user explains how Ponniyin Selvan-1 is a big let-down in a series of Tweets
17:07 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Fans plan on watching Ponniyin Selvan-1 again

A Twitter user @devrajmukesh wrote, " A Mani Ratnam Masterpiece. This is exactly how I wanted to see it in a big screen. Surely going to watch again this weekend.. What a pride moment."

16:47 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Dulquer Salmaan says Ponniyin Selvan 1 feels like a 'personal victory'
16:30 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Aishwarya Rai Bachchan's role gets love

A fan @okimmthinking tweeted, "Just watched Ponniyan Selvan #PS1 Karthi steals the show. Detailing could have been better for outside Tamil audience. Can't imagine another human being in Nandini role the Queen Aishwarya Rai Bachchan 👑."

16:22 (IST)30 Sep 2022
'Everyone delivered their best'

A Twitter user @Devanayagam shared, "The true success of a film with such an ensemble cast lies in how every character is registered long after the film! #PS1 does it comfortably! Everyone delivered their best & that's the reason the film stands true to its novel! Thanks to MR for making no compromises whatsoever!💥."

15:52 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Ponniyin Selvan 1 movie review: Our verdict

Mani Ratnam's film is a 'largely faithful and brilliant adaptation and has no dull moments'. Indian Express critic gave the film four stars and wrote, "Mani Ratnam understands Kalki's novel is a mainstream page-turner, so he retains its flavour and neither intellectualises it, nor dumb it down."

READ THE FULL PS1 REVIEW HERE

15:20 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Fans in love with PS1

@_VijayFan_ tweeted "Its my personal review....(4.5/5)😊❤️ #PS1 is just an Amazing Period Film 🥹 Mani sir take me to the Chola Dynasty with the Great VFX..! Don't miss the Theatre Experience guys👍🏽."

14:57 (IST)30 Sep 2022
'Masterpiece'

Karthik Subbaraj tweeted, "#PS1 Spellbound.... Mindblowing..... Masterpiece!!!!  Crown to Indian Cinema 👑👑👑 Big bow to King #Manirathnam sir & team.. 🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼."

14:38 (IST)30 Sep 2022
'Hearing the most amazing things'

Dulquer Salmaan tweeted, "Hearing the most amazing things about #PonniyinSelvan1 #PS1 ! With so many friends like family in the film it feels like a personal victory ! Take a bow team ! @MadrasTalkies_ #ManiSir @arrahman."

14:22 (IST)30 Sep 2022
Abhishek Bachchan shares his best wishes for his wife Aishwarya's film

Abhishek Bachchan took to Twitter to post, "The day is finally here! #PS1 in theatres today, congratulations to the team who've put in years of hard work & excellence in making this masterpiece. Best wishes on the release! #PonniyinSelvan1 #AishwariyaRaiBachchan #ManiRatnam."

14:12 (IST)30 Sep 2022
'Super screenplay'

Director Ponram tweeted, "Finally I watched #PonniyinSelvan1 in cinemas, epic cinema Wow super screenplay! Finally, Thanks to the Legend & Ace Director #maniratnam sir and the entire  #PonniyinSelvan1 team for making this happen.💚💚💚 A.K, A.M.V and V.D these are all the main grips of the story."

13:54 (IST)30 Sep 2022
WATCH | Initial reactions on first day first show of Ponniyin Selvan

Fans seem me be happy with this Mani Ratnam's magnum opus, PS 1.

Ponniyin Selvan 1 has generated a lot of interest in cinemagoers. Rakesh Gowthaman, who manages Chennai’s popular twin-screen Vettri Theatres, told indianexpress.com, "People who have read the book, who have not gone to a theatre in a long time, would want to watch this film on the big screen. I know a 75-year-old person and the last film he watched in the theatre was Baahubali 2; now, he wants to come to cinemas to watch this film. The crowd we are going to see is going to have a lot of family audience and senior citizens. This is not the crowd we saw for Vikram or KGF 2. If the movie is a good watch, it might break the record of Vikram in Tamil Nadu."

PS 1 will face competition in the Hindi belt from Vikram Vedha, which stars Hrithik Roshan and Saif Ali Khan in the lead roles. It’s said that the movie may open to Rs 2 crore in box office receipts in the north Indian circuit. Even in that case, it’s still a good start for an original Tamil film. If it generates good word of mouth, the movie may perform better.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
First published on: 29-09-2022 at 05:26:44 pm
Home
ePaper
Next Story
close
X