scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Thursday, August 18, 2022

Sarvam Thaala Mayam, Peranbu and Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven movie review and release highlights

Peranbu, Sarvam Thaala Mayam and Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven movie review and release highlights: Here's what celebrities, critics and fans have said about GV Prakash's Sarvam Thaala Mayam, Simbu's Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven and Mammootty's Peranbu.

By: Entertainment Desk
New Delhi | Updated: February 1, 2019 5:19:38 pm
Peranbu Sarvam Thaala Mayam Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven Peranbu, Sarvam Thaala Mayam and Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven movie review: Peranbu and Sarvam Thaala Mayam are off to a good start.

This week, cinephiles have a bunch of options at the box office down south. Three of the most-awaited Tamil films have hit the screens today and each one is different from the other.

First up, we have Peranbu, which has already garnered a very positive response from critics and celebrities who had the opportunity to watch the movie in a special screening. The film starring Mammootty in the lead role explores the complex relationship between a father and his differently abled daughter. It is directed by National-Award winning director Ram and stars Anjali, Sadhana, Anjali Ameer and Samuthirakani among others.

MOVIE REVIEWS: Sarvam Thaala Mayam | Peranbu

Director Rajiv Menon’s Sarvam Thaala Mayam has finally hit the screens. It stars music director-turned-actor GV Prakash Kumar in the lead role. Besides writing, producing and directing, Rajiv has also scored two songs for the musical drama along with Oscar-winner AR Rahman.

And then we have Simbu’s Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven, an out-and-out commercial potboiler. It is the official remake of hit Telugu film Attarintiki Daredi (2013). Simbu has stepped into the shoes of Pawan Kalyan, while Megha Akash and Catherine Tresa play the female leads. Directed by Sundar C, Lyca Productions has bankrolled Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven.

Live Blog

Read all the updates about Peranbu, Sarvam Thaala Mayam and Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven.

17:14 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven: Our verdict

Though Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven (an official remake of Pawan Kalyan’s Attarintiki Daredi) is a Sundar C film, it never felt like one – at least in the beginning. I know what you are thinking next. No, it never felt like Simbu’s film either. Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven is a glorification of its protagonist, Simbu, who plays a businessman.

Also read | Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven movie review: Of Simbu, by Simbu and for Simbu

15:33 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Athulya Ravi on Peranbu

"My best wishes for #peranbu from today 😍 @yoursanjali darling ❤️❤️ Again we gonna see our performer Anjali back 😘😘All the best to the whole team @mammukka sir @Director_Ram sir @thisisysr," tweeted actor Athulya Ravi. 

14:43 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Dulquer Salmaan on Peranbu: Mammootty has childlike enthusiasm

"The kind of movie he does with childlike enthusiasm. With his never-ending desire and passion for the art. For the love of the craft. For the love of cinema. @mammukka #directorRam #teamperanbu #Peranbu," tweeted Malayalam star Dulquer Salmaan on the film. 

14:22 (IST)01 Feb 2019
P Samuthirakani on Mammootty's Peranbu
14:01 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Listen to this track from GV Prakash starrer Sarvam Thaala Mayam

13:39 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Not watched Simbu's latest yet? Here's a clip from Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven

13:21 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Simbu celebrates Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven's release with fans
13:06 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Khushbu Sundar on Vantha Rajavathaan Varuven: Simbu is outstanding

"#VRV.. With me being thousands of miles far away, the reports and the reaction of the audience is overwhelming..thank you.. #SundarC #MasterOfEntertainment proves it once again why he is the best..#STR is outstanding in #VRV.. #VRVCarnivalBegins Watch it in the theatres," Khushbu tweeted on the STR starrer.  

More from Entertainment
Swara Bhasker praises Aamir Khan’s Laal Singh Chaddha: ‘An up...
Anupam Kher shares photos with Kartik Aaryan, says they are ‘supers...
Shehnaaz Gill begs to not be called Punjab Ki Katrina Kaif anymore: &#821...
She Hulk Attorney At Law first reviews: ‘Funniest MCU show ever’
Arun Vijay: After watching Tamilrockerz, people might stop watching pirat...
12:53 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Singer Srinivas on Sarvam Thaala Mayam

"Wishing my friend @DirRajivMenon the very best for Sarvam thala mayam which releases today. He has made a fantastic movie. Have done a small cameo appearance along with my friends Unnikrishnan, Karthik as reality show judges. Go watch it," Srinivas tweeted. 

12:41 (IST)01 Feb 2019
A sneak-peek into the film set of Peranbu
12:30 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Mammootty on Peranbu: You will be moved to tears

“After watching this film, many said that they were moved to tears and felt heavy-hearted. But, mostly your eyes will well up due to happiness. Tears of happiness is the big plus point of this film,” Mammootty had earlier said during Peranbu's screening.  

12:18 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Peranbu has to be seen in theaters to promote good cinema, says Mohan Raja

Filmmaker Mohan raja urged the audience to watch Peranbu in the theares. He tweeted a video where he said, "@Director_Ram 's intention, @mammukka sir's dedication, @thisisysr n other technicians brilliance has to be respected.. Promising film like #peranbu has to be seen in theaters, sooner, to promote good cinema.. Kindly ignore if my opinion is irrelevant"

11:57 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Peranbu: Our verdict

Indianexpress.com's S Subhakeerthana gave Perandu a four-star rating. She wrote in her review, "Mammootty as a confused parent, Amudhavan, is his most natural self. It is amazing how a Superstar of his stature quickly sheds the glitz when given a challenging script. Sadhana tugs at your heartstrings as Paapa as she delivers her role with great aplomb. Her innocent face haunts you long after the film is over. How Meera becomes a part of Amudhavan’s life has been told poignantly, and it’s one of the brilliant climaxes ever written in the history of Tamil cinema."

Also read: Peranbu review: There’s a lot of heart in this delicately textured moving drama

11:41 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Prakash Kumar had thanked his fans for all the love for Sarvam Thaala Mayam

Music director-turned-actor GV Prakash Kumar had tweeted his gratitude through a video. He said, "Hi everyone . thanks a lot for the love u have been showering on Sarvam Thaala Mayam .thanks to the press who have celebrated the film ... the film is all yours from tomm .do catch it in theatres .an @arrahman musical .a @DirRajivMenon film . #sarvamthaalamayam #STMFromTomorrow"

11:27 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Why don’t people who make the mridangam play it?: Rajiv Menon

Talking to The Hindu, Sarvam Thaala Mayam director Rajiv Menon said, "The germ of the storyline of Sarvam Thaala Mayam stemmed from one question: why don’t people who make the mridangam play it? For the last 150 years, why haven’t we seen anyone from the manufacturer’s community playing the instrument? We don’t know where the problem lies but it’s a fact that there is an under-representation."

11:12 (IST)01 Feb 2019
'Sarvam Thaala Mayam is a sensitive film'

"I watched the subtitled copy of Sarvam Thaala Mayam, a Tamil film directed by the ace cameraman Rajiv Menon. Loved it. Good story, good direction and good performances. It is a sensitive film about social justice in the music world," Javed Akhtar said via Twitter.

10:46 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Director Ram said that with Peranbu he realised his dream of working with Mammootty

Director Ram on working with Mammootty, "This film took shape in 2004 when I was an assistant director. In 2007, I made my first movie (Kattradhu Thamizh). Actor Padmapriya was my friend. I told her that I had a story for Mammootty during the making of Thanga Meenkal (2013). In 2015, I was asked to meet Mammootty. I narrated the script for 30 minutes, and he agreed to do this film."

Also Read | Mammootty: Peranbu will make you shed tears of happiness

10:35 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Actor Mammootty on Peranbu

Mammootty earlier shared, "I am acting in a Tamil film after 10 years. Peranbu will speak for itself, and I don’t have to. We were involved with the production work for many days, and we did this film with so much love and affection. From here on, the film is yours. You have to celebrate it, and you are responsible for it."

Also Read | Peranbu will speak for itself: Mammootty

10:26 (IST)01 Feb 2019
Watch the trailer of Peranbu here

Talking about Peranbu, Mammootty said, “We all live a blessed life, and we don’t know how blessed are we until we realise how the world of the differently-abled functions. Peranbu has a unique story, and acting in it wasn’t difficult. I just did whatever I could if I were a father, who had a spastic child.”

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
First published on: 01-02-2019 at 08:35:39 am