Follow Us:
Monday, June 01, 2020

Kadaram Kondan and Aadai movie review and release: Highlights

Here's what celebrities, critics and fans said about Kamal Haasan’s production venture Kadaram Kondan, starring Vikram and Akshara Haasan, and Amala Paul's Aadai, directed by Rathna Kumar.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: July 27, 2019 9:33:37 pm
Kadaram Kondan and Aadai release Kadaram Kondan and Aadai movie review: It’s Vikram vs Amala Paul down south.

Kadaram Kondan and Aadai were expected to hit the screens today. While the Vikram starrer has opened to positive reactions, the Amala Paul film’s morning shows were cancelled due to financial issues over issuing KDM key. Kadaram Kondan has been touted to be a no-nonsense actioner much like director Rajesh M Selva’s previous film Thoongaa Vanam. Amala plays an adrenaline junkie, Kamini, in Aadai.

Kadaram Kondan also stars Akshara Haasan. It has been bankrolled by Kamal Haasan’s Raajkamal Films International along with Trident Arts. After Sathyaraj’s Kadamai Kanniyam Kattupadu, Revathy’s Magalir Mattum and R Madhavan’s Nala Damayanthi, it is the fourth film that Kamal is producing which will not star himself.

Talking about Kadaram Kondan, Vikram shared that he was confident the film would create a new set of audience for him. At the film’s trailer launch earlier this month, the actor said, “Kamal sir has a huge influence on my acting career and is one of the reasons I signed the film. I have been an ardent fan of his since my schooling. In particular, I have loved Nayakan and Vaazhve Maayam.”

Producer Kamal Haasan assured that his latest outing will be at par with international films. “Not everyone can pull off roles with panache and Vikram is one such actor who can be effortlessly stylish. He is the ultimate hero,” Kamal said.

Aadai, on the other hand, had been directed by Rathna Kumar of Meyaadha Maan fame. It also stars Bijili Ramesh, Vivek Prasanna and Sarithran in pivotal roles. Viji Subramaniyan of V Studios has produced the film and the music has been composed by singer-composer Pradeep Kumar and the band Oorka.

Aadai will also simultaneously release in Telugu.

Live Blog

Read all the updates about Vikram starrer Kadaram Kondan and Amala Paul's Aadai.

17:48 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'Amala Paul waives her salary for the release of Aadai'

Sreedhar Pillai tweeted, "#AmalaPaul waives her salary for the release of #Aadai! @Amala_ams not only give up a big sum but was also present at the ‘Panchayat’ (settlement negotiations), which may enable the film to release from evening shows all over.

17:26 (IST)19 Jul 2019
Amala Paul talks to financiers; Aadai to release soon
16:56 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'Stylish Entertainer'

V2Cinemas posted on their Twitter page, "#KadaramKondan - 3.5/5. A complete stylish action pack entertainer with lot more mass moments. A interesting execution from @RajeshMSelva. As usual @GhibranOfficial takes a major role on BGM . "Stylish Entertainer" 🤘🎉."

16:03 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'Vikram is the show stopper'

@AndersonNimal tweeted, "Ufff!! And the end. #kadaramkondan #ChiyaanVikram show stopper🔥 Nailed every scene #bitsandpieces. A complete entertainer. Hatsoff @RajeshMSelva ✌."

15:25 (IST)19 Jul 2019
Amala Paul shares Aadai poster
14:59 (IST)19 Jul 2019
Vikram posed for a slefie
14:25 (IST)19 Jul 2019
On the fence about watching Aadai? Watch the trailer of Amala starrer here

14:16 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'Great choice of supporting actors in Kadaram Kondan'

@Krishna_4 tweeted, "Great choice of supporting actors in #Kadaramkondan.. everybody who's fresh faced makes it believable and make us remember the characters more and special mention to stunts, camera work n editing..truly international film with top class work from all #ChiyaanVikram #Mass."

13:59 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'Aadai noon show also stands cancelled'

Sreedhar Pillai shared on Twitter, "#Aadai noon show also stands cancelled. Multiplexes across Chennai and Chengalpet switch to #KadaramKondan for noon."

13:48 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'Well made action movie'

"#KadaramKondan - The Complete & a Well made action movie. 👌🏻Thoroughly engaging... For the Stunts, Vikram’s looks & The Music. WORTH it !! @GhibranOfficial’s owns this movie completely🎶🎶🔥🔥," tweeted @balajidtweets.

13:31 (IST)19 Jul 2019
Amala Paul: Be experimental, not judgemental
13:16 (IST)19 Jul 2019
Vikram visits theater screening Kadaram Kondan
13:01 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'Great expectations among the audience for Aadai'

Journalist Sidhu tweeted earlier, "Great expectations among the audience for #Aadai, thanks to the teaser and the following promo material which has all worked very well. Looking forward to seeing it soon!"

12:47 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'Vikram is an international actor'

A fan @sai_surya143 tweeted, "Watched #Kadaramkondan @ Dubai few minutes back n just 2 WORDS..ACTION EXTRAVAGANZA...#ChiyaanVikram is truly an international actor and there is no surprise this is proved once again !! He is the heart soul blood of this fast paced film salute @RajeshMSelva @GhibranOfficial."

12:25 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'Aadai team will create a sensation'

Kaushik LM tweeted, "#AadaiFromToday @Amala_ams, @MrRathna and team are gonna create a sensation with #Aadai.. Can't wait to experience their audacity on the big screen.."

11:58 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'May all your efforts get paid off'

Ajay Gnanamuthu tweeted, "Wishing dear #ChiyanVikram sir, @RajeshMSelva and the entire team a massive massive success for #KadaramKondan 👍🏻👍🏻 May all your efforts be paid off.. 😊😊 @RKFI @proyuvraaj."

11:30 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'The film will be massive comeback for Vikram'

"#KadaramKondan 1st half is like roller coaster ride.. Stunts & bgm were amazing.. Chiyan is the pulsating.. If 2nd half carries the moment like this.. Then it will be massive comeback for Vikram.. @RajeshMSelva nails in direction department, " tweeted @Shan05804680.

11:15 (IST)19 Jul 2019
Amala Paul: We have bigger things to worry about than who's wearing what
11:01 (IST)19 Jul 2019
'Movie travels at a rapid pace'

Journalist Rajasekar wrote on his Twitter account, "Halfway through #KadaramKondan, movie travels at a rapid pace. @RajeshMSelva takes some time to establish the key characters but on the whole perfect meter for an action thriller . Good going so far! #ChiyanVikram's swag ."

The trailer of Aadai had hinted that Amala Paul's unapologetic character feeds her desire for thrill by indulging in some crazy things, including wielding a chain-saw machine while dressed apparently as the female version of Joker.

During one of the promotional events, Amala had revealed how Aadai came to her when she was about to quit films. "Many filmmakers approached me with heroine-centric scripts, but nothing was interesting. Those were highly pretentious and I had no interest in signing them. Then, came the gutsy Aadai and I fell in love with its synopsis. I couldn’t believe the fact it was a Tamil film, besides someone was already on board as a producer," Amala said.

Speaking on working with director Rathna Kumar, Amala added, "When I met him, he had a thick beard and looked totally different. That’s why they say never judge a book by its cover. He is the ballsiest director I have ever met. He wanted me to be myself on the sets, and I was so relieved because half the directors want me to be ‘cute’. I hope he continues to direct more films in future with the same courage and conviction."