scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Friday, October 30, 2020

Darbar movie review and release Highlights

Darbar movie review and release live updates: Here's what celebrities, critics and fans are saying about Darbar, starring Rajinikanth, Nayanthara, Suniel Shetty, Nivetha Thomas and Prateik Babbar.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi | Updated: January 11, 2020 9:48:37 am
Darbar Movie Review Darbar movie review live updates: The Rajinikanth starrer is expected to please his fans.

Rajinikanth starrer Darbar has hit screens. Helmed by AR Murugadoss, the cop drama also stars Nayanthara, Suniel Shetty, Nivetha Thomas, Prateik Babbar, Nawab Shah and Yogi Babu among others.

Explaining how he came on board for Darbar, Rajinikanth had earlier said, “After watching Ramana, I asked Murugadoss if he has got a script for me and it has taken these many years for a project to come along. The director approached me with the Darbar script after the release of Petta.”

Rajini also spoke about his character Aaditya Arunasalam in Lyca Productions’ Darbar.

“There is sadness in this character. Murugadoss had to put in a lot of effort to make this character look equal if not bigger than Alex Pandian. The audience might compare the two characters and will get disappointed if we don’t do enough justice. Aaditya Arunasalam is a different character. I struggled initially because there are a lot of emotions. I had to keep everything keep in mind and had to deliver. Murugadoss sir helped me achieve that.”

Suniel Shetty, who will be seen as the main antagonist in Darbar, will rub shoulders with Rajini for the first time in the film.

Speaking about his working experience, Suniel had said that he was initially scared to work with the Superstar.

“The hand of God was on me and that hand belonged to Rajinikanth. I was scared, nervous because I didn’t know what to do, but he makes you so comfortable that it’s unbelievable. He is one person who is so simple, and that’s why I consider him God. We all keep learning from him because we all emulate him,” Suniel had said.

Live Blog

Follow all the latest updates about Rajinikanth starrer Darbar. Read the updates in Malayalam.

17:06 (IST)09 Jan 2020
Karthik Subbaraj on Darbar

Karthik Subbaraj, who helmed the Rajinikanth-starrer Petta, tweeted, “#Darbar is MaranaMassss!! Aiyoo Thalaivaaa..What an energy n charisma in every single frame..You are a magic Thalaiva 🙏 Congratulations @ARMurugadoss sir, @anirudhofficial brother and whole team for giving a Thalaivarism max treat 👏👏👌 Thalaivan vera ragam paathu usharuu 💥”. 

16:51 (IST)09 Jan 2020
Santosh Sivan shares a contemplative photo of Rajinikanth
16:36 (IST)09 Jan 2020
'Excellent bond between Nevetha Thomas and Rajini'

A user @ersadique posted on Twitter, “@i_nivethathomas is just brilliant in #Darbar.. excellent bond between superstar @rajinikanth and her.. bright future ahead of her #DarbarThiruvizha”. 

16:21 (IST)09 Jan 2020
VJ Ramya praises Nivetha Thomas

Popular VJ and actor Ramya Subramaniam praised Nivetha Thomas’ acting in Darbar. “Darbaar isn’t complete without @i_nivethathomas’s supreme performance and chemistry with super star 😍. So happy to see you in the spot that belonged to you from the start and you were incredible 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻❤️💪🏻👌🏻”, she wrote on Twitter.

16:06 (IST)09 Jan 2020
Lakshmi Manchu wishes Rajinikanth and the Darbar team luck
15:51 (IST)09 Jan 2020
Arivazhagan on Darbar

Director Arivazhagan of Eeram fame tweeted, “#Darbar - One & Only Thalaivar Super Star @rajinikanth sir show completely bringing back ‘left & right’ vintage #Thalaiva Moments in a ‘straight’ revenge drama. @anirudhofficial scores big with electrifying nostalgia tones  #FDFS #FanMoment”.

15:35 (IST)09 Jan 2020
Rajinikanth and cop roles

In today's big release Darbar, Rajinikanth plays Mumbai's police commissioner. But did you know that in his initial years in Bollywood the Thalaivar made a mark with campy portrayals of police officers, most famously in 1991 films Hum and Farishtay.

Read more | Rajinikanth in uniform: The Darbar star’s Bollywood years glisten with ‘cop’ roles

15:21 (IST)09 Jan 2020
Here's what audience is saying after watching Darbar
15:12 (IST)09 Jan 2020
'Respects to Thalaivar'

Film trade analyst Kaushik LM was all praise of Rajinikanth as he watched Darbar. "#Darbar - #SuperstarRajinikanth #AadityaArunachalam has been so sporting in letting actors like Yogi Babu (funny tone) & Sreeman (serious tone) make comments on his age. Only a completely confident, light & generous actor can do that. Respects to #Thalaivar 🙏 Always at the peak," he tweeted.  

14:54 (IST)09 Jan 2020
'Feels like a rushed job'

Indianexpress.com's Manoj says, "AR Murugadoss is among the handful of filmmakers who enjoy a reputation for making sensible and meaningful commercial films as opposed to churning out just brain-dead popcorn fare. We are used to finding something which captures our imagination in a Murugadoss film. But, Darbar feels like a rushed job. It is more or less a rehash of what Karthik Subbaraj did with Rajinikanth in Petta. The film zaps through its runtime without making a lot of sense. It is all about Rajinikanth. The 69-year-old superstar carries the film entirely on his shoulders with his never-dying charisma, will and age-defying energy. But, there is no single signature moment of Murugadoss in the film."

14:42 (IST)09 Jan 2020
Our Verdict

"Darbar may be Superstar Rajinikanth’s first film with hit director A R Murugadoss, but it remains a Rajini film which bows at each step to the continuing myth of the one and only Thalaivar. He is the fighter, the romancer, the jokester, the dancer, and everything else that you can think of, all rolled into one," wrote The Indian Express' film critic Shubhra Gupta in her review of Darbar.

Also read | Darbar movie review: An out-and-out Rajinikanth film

14:08 (IST)09 Jan 2020
'A typical Rajini movie'

"#Darbar A typical Rajini movie with some good fan moments. Little slow in the second half. One time Watchable for Pongal," writes Twitter user @kovurusatish.

13:47 (IST)09 Jan 2020
Here's what Mumbai is saying about Darbar
13:31 (IST)09 Jan 2020
'Experienced a new and young Rajni'

"I just watched the FDFS of #Darbar in #Mumbai. I couldn't take my eyes away for 1 sec from @rajinikanth sir. I can't believe that he is 70. Today I experienced a new n young Rajni. His styles,dance n especially action scenes r really swag. It's a must watch movie. #DarbarReview," writes Twitter user @tusharTheHero.

13:20 (IST)09 Jan 2020
'Darbar is pure entertainment'
13:10 (IST)09 Jan 2020
Jatin Sarna talks about his cameo in Darbar

12:59 (IST)09 Jan 2020
'Weak screenplay'

Twitter user @pughalarasu writes, "#Darbar.. The last 30 mins is the weakest part of the movie.. Til that movie was Ok and engaging ! Very Poor villan and weak screenplay drags the movie in 2nd half"

12:48 (IST)09 Jan 2020
Meet the cutest fan of Rajinikanth
12:36 (IST)09 Jan 2020
'Fans will definitely love the first half'

Twitter user @naveenkumar_345 wrote, "Muragadoss kept Rajni fans in mind and directed it ... Never felt anywhere that its a Muragadoss film ... Fans will definitely love the first half 🥰 #Darbar"

12:27 (IST)09 Jan 2020
Watch what the audience is saying about Darbar

Darbar is one of the most anticipated movies of the new year. However, only time will tell if it will manage to break box office records held by previous Rajinikanth movies. Darbar has released simultaneously in Tamil, Telugu, Hindi and Malayalam.