scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
Live now

Bigil and Kaithi movie review and release LIVE UPDATES

Bigil and Kaithi movie review and release LIVE UPDATES: Bigil is a sports drama that brings back the actor-director duo, Vijay and Atlee. Kaithi, starring Karthi in a lead role, is an action thriller directed by Lokesh Kanagaraj.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: October 25, 2019 4:21:31 pm
Vijay's Bigil vs Karthi's Kaithi this Diwali Bigil and Kaithi movie review and release: It is Vijay’s Bigil vs Karthi’s Kaithi this Deepavali at the box office.

Kollywood’s two big films Bigil and Kaithi release today. While Bigil stars Vijay in the lead role, Kaithi will see Karthi playing the protagonist. Both films belong to different genres but will see some competition on Deepavali weekend.

Bigil is a sports drama that brings back the magical actor-director duo of Vijay and Atlee. The two have previously worked on Mersal (2017) and Theri (2016). Bigil has Vijay playing two roles – one of a young man who coaches a women’s football team, and another one of being a local don.

Read Bigil LIVE UPDATES in Tamil

Ever since the release of the trailer, fans are patiently waiting for the film’s release. The film’s tickets are being sold at higher prices in many theaters.

On the other hand, Kaithi’s trailer has grabbed eyeballs for presenting Karthi in a different angry-young-man avatar. The film is directed by Lokesh Kanagaraj.

Kaithi, an action thriller, also has Ramana, Anjadhey-fame Naren and George Mariyaan, in pivotal roles. This prison break drama, shot in and around Tirunelveli and Chennai, has music by Sam CS, and camera work by Sathyan Sooryan.

Live Blog

Follow live updates of Bigil and Kaithi here.

16:21 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Our Verdict | Kaithi

Karthi has essayed his role in an almost self-effacing manner while allowing the space for other people’s acts of courage in the narration to get their due screen time. Kaithi is the director’s canvas. It is necessary to appreciate Karthi to let Lokesh do his thing without trying to bend the narration to suit his star image.

Read More | Kaithi movie review: Karthi’s light and pacy action thriller keeps you engaged

15:36 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Stunt sequences of Kaithi receive praise

"The way they have executed the stunt sequences and the way they have given attention to even the tiny details - Really respect the team for respecting the audience !! #Kaithi," writes @itisprashanth.

14:51 (IST)25 Oct 2019
'Kaithi edge of the seat thriller'

"#Kaithi edge of the seat thriller packed with lot of action sequences. Kudos to the entire crew. After watching #Bigil and #Kaithi , Vijay fans should rejoice to the face that @Dir_Lokesh is directing his next 😀" @Prashanth3591 writes.

14:09 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Fans celebrate Bigil's release in Mumbai
14:00 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Watch the trailer of Kaithi here

13:30 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Watch the trailer of Bigil here

13:06 (IST)25 Oct 2019
'Bigil is a lifetime opportunity'

Actor Indhuja said, "Bigil is a lifetime opportunity, and I had a tremendous experience working with Atlee sir, Vijay sir, Nayanthara ma’am and AR Rahman sir. The sets were truly electrifying, thanks to the presence of Thalapathy."

12:37 (IST)25 Oct 2019
'Vijay only gives love'

In a recent Twitter chat, Atlee said, "He (Vijay) is a true human being who only gives love and no hatred!"

12:12 (IST)25 Oct 2019
'Kaithi is an out-and-out action film'

Karthi on making Kaithi, "When the director (Lokesh Kanagaraj) approached me for the first time, he told me it was a small film. But, after hearing the narration, the opposite was the truth. It will be like Virumaandi (2004) and Die Hard (1988). The scope of the film is so big that Arnold Schwarzenegger can do this film. It is an out-and-out action film with a lot of massy elements. And the film is about the events that take place in four hours one night. When the story is set in the backdrop of night and travel, naturally there would be a lot of suspense elements. Because danger can strike from anywhere and one can’t predict it. I felt it had the potential of a huge action film."

11:53 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Kathir on working with Vijay

Kathir shared "For the longest time, I wanted to act with Vijay sir, and it got materialised, finally. I’m a bit nervous because I have a Deepavali release this time, and I play a role alongside my favourite actor. What more do I need?"

11:44 (IST)25 Oct 2019
'Vijay is highly a work-oriented person'

Jackie Shroff on working with Vijay, "Vijay is highly a work-oriented person and one of the finest thinking actors I have seen. He has everything under control, be it expressions, and emotions. He’s known to be amiable and approachable."

11:25 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Atlee on working with Vijay

"I’m an ardent fan of Thalapathy, and I don’t think many filmmakers get to direct the actors they idolise. I am lucky that I’m working with him for the third time," Atlee shared.

11:06 (IST)25 Oct 2019
'Kaithi is monstrous'

Vijay Kartik Kannan shared on Twitter, "#Kaithi is monstrous !! Kickass !! Brilliant extraordinary !! Deepavali saravedi by @Dir_Lokesh @sathyaDP @SamCSmusic and team @Karthi_Offl 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽Do not miss it !! One hell of a theatre experience !!! 😀😀"

10:50 (IST)25 Oct 2019
'No Diwali without Thalalathy Vijay'

"Theres no diwali without #ThalalathyVijay wooohoooo all set for #BigilDiwali @ vetri theater..woohoo cant wait for the madness to begin...first to enter the theater...excitement at peak...!!" shares Varalaxmi Sarathkumar.

10:30 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Fans embrace Vijay's Bigil

10:13 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Actor Kathir on Bigil

Kathir shared on Twitter, All the wait & excitement has come to a point of its peak celebration!Thank u @actorvijay na @Atlee_dir na @dop_gkvishnu @arrahman sir @archanakalpathi @Jagadishbliss #Singapengal Ast Directors,Light officers & everyone who was a part of #BIGIL ! Fans ur Vera level nanba! Love u"

10:01 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Vishal wishes Team Kaithi and Bigil

Vishal shared on Twitter, "Wishing the very best for #Bigil & #Kaithi releasing today....GB"

09:58 (IST)25 Oct 2019
'Family audience will love Varsha Bollamma's role'

"#Bigil I think Family Audience will love @VarshaBollamma role. She has got excellent characterisation with beautiful scenes. Her role will motivate lots of Women," @sathishmsk writes.

09:29 (IST)25 Oct 2019
'Nayanthara looks beautiful'

Ramesh Bala shared on Twitter, "#Bigil [3.5/5] : #Nayanthara looks beautiful.. Her romantic scenes with #Thalapathy @actorvijay are enjoyable.. All #Singapenneys are good.. Especially liked @Reba_Monica's acid survivor episode.. "Bet Match" football choreography is good.. 👌 @am_kathir has done well.."

09:10 (IST)25 Oct 2019
Karthi on clash with Vijay's Bigil

Karthi had earlier shared, "Everybody wants to see films during festivals. So, there should be options for the audience (smiles). It’s not a necessity to have only one film for release. If there are two movies, the audience will choose according to their desire. If both are good films, they will watch one after another. Rajinikanth sir’s (Petta) and Ajith sir’s (Viswasam) released on the same day for Sankranthi. And both films became big hits. If a film is good, the audience themselves promote the film."

Also Read | Kaithi is an attempt to make an action film of international standards: Karthi

In an interview with indianexpress.com, Karthi expressed that the film has been made at par with Hollywood films. "We can say that Kaithi is an attempt to make an action film of international standards. The film is set in the night time and we took extra care of the lighting. So, a lot of planning went into making it visually appealing. It was a new experience for me. Even we did not go with a typical mass background score. The music is also very stylish like Hollywood movies. I feel everything is fresh in this film," the actor said.

Speculations were rife that the stakeholders of the industry were considering options to avoid releasing Kaithi and Bigil on the same day. However, the box office clash was inevitable given that Deepavali is too big a festival in Tamil Nadu to give it a miss. It is believed that films that release on this festival register higher collections as theatres in rural areas see a spike in the number of footfalls during the holiday.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.