Follow Us:
Monday, July 16, 2018

Cinema paradiso

The fifth edition of Raja Paranjape Festival was held in Pune from April 14 to 20 at Bharat Natya Mandir, Sadashiv Peth

Written by Screen Correspondent | Mumbai | Updated: April 16, 2014 4:16:20 pm
A still from Lakhachi Goshta A still from Lakhachi Goshta

The fifth edition of Raja Paranjape Festival was held in Pune from April 14 to 20 at Bharat Natya Mandir, Sadashiv Peth. While senior actor couple Ramesh Deo and Seema Deo have been selected for the Raja Paranjape Lifetime Achievement Award, young artistes such as director-cinematographer Mahesh Limaye, and actors Swapnil Joshi, Gauri Gadgil and Kishore Kadam will be awarded with the Raja Paranjape Tarunai Sanman. The organisers, Raja Paranjape Pratishthan has been holding the event for five years, as a tribute to actor-director-producer-writer Late Raja Paranjape, whose birth anniversary falls on April 20. The Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to the awardees by veteran actor Sulochana. The highlights of the festival include classical and semi-classical music, natyasangeet, abhanga and songs from the films by Paranjape. They will also be screening Paranjape’s remarkable films such as Lakhachi Goshta, Oon-Paus, Suvasini, Pudhache Pavul, Pathlag, Jagachya Pathiwar and Pedgav Che Shahane at the National Film Archives, Prabhat Road.


Voicing an opinion

Under an initiative that converts famous Marathi literature into audio books, city-based Snovel has come out with their latest audio version of Jim Corbett’s Kumaonche Narabhakshak, a Marathi adaptation of
Man Eaters of Kumaon. The book deals with the real life experiences of Jim Corbett and talks about his hunts of man-eating tigers and leopards in the Kumaon region. Three stories from the book — Chaughad Che Wagh, Thak Cha Narabhakshak and Robin – have been adapted in the audio version. This is the sixth audio book by Snovel. While the book has been translated by Dr. Subhash Bhende, the audio adaptation is directed by Shardul Saraf — with music by Gandhar Sangoram and Ketaki Chakradeo as the sound designer. The audio book has been given voice by actors such as Sachin Khedekar, Kiran Yadnyopavit, Ketaki Saraf and Vikas Patil. It was launched on April 12, at The National Film Archive. Actor-directors Subodh Bhave and Kiran Yadnyopavit were present as the guests of honour.

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App