scorecardresearch
Follow Us:
Sunday, March 07, 2021
Live now

Drishyam 2 movie review and release LIVE UPDATES: ‘Best crime thriller of Malayalam cinema’

Drishyam 2 movie review and release LIVE UPDATES: Starring Mohanlal in the lead role, Jeethu Joseph's Drishyam 2 is streaming on Amazon Prime Video.

By: Entertainment Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: February 19, 2021 7:39:40 pm
drishyam 2 movie releaseDrishyam 2 is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video. (Photo: Prime Video)

Mohanlal starrer Drishyam 2 has released today and is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video. The story of Georgekutty and his family picks up after the events of the first film where the family went through a trauma but were somehow able to pull off ‘a perfect murder’. But is there something like a ‘perfect murder’? We get the answer to that question when ghosts of the past come back to haunt Georgekutty.

Alongside Mohanlal, Drishyam 2 also stars Meena, Ansiba Hassan, Esther Anil, Asha Sarath, and Siddique among others. Jeethu Joseph has directed the film.

From what we gathered from the trailer, Georgekutty has become a much wealthier man now. He now owns a theatre and is even planning to produce a film. Things seem to be getting difficult for him and his family, and now the murder case from Drishyam is reopened and the family is pulled back into the investigation.

Read in Malayalam | Drishyam 2 movie review

In an interview with indianexpress.com, Mohanlal spoke about the sequel. “We had been planning to do Drishyam 2 (for a long time). It was in my mind, Antony Perumbavoor’s mind, and Jeethu’s mind. And suddenly it happened. When Drishyam 2 started rolling, we were all prepared. We weren’t sure when this film would happen. But, it had to happen. Georgekutty and his family should be remembered by the audience. Because it was such a cult film. Thanks to Jeethu for bringing out such an intelligent film,” he said.

Live Blog

Follow this live blog for all the updates on Drishyam 2

19:39 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'Outstanding thriller'

Filmmaker Vysakh shared on Facebook, "Drishyam 2 Super exciting...Outstanding thriller...👏👏👏👌👌👌👏👏👏 Must watch film. Congratulations #jeethujoseph#lalsir #antonyperumbavoor"

18:49 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'A well-made sequel'

Actor Unni Mukundan watched Drishyam 2 and shared on Facebook, "Watched #Drishyam2... Fantastic movie.. A well-made sequel of the path breaker Drishyam!! Hats off to Jeethu Joseph for succeeding in the biggest challenge. Lalettan.. The Legend!! Forever Crowd puller.. 🔥😍whether it is in theaters or OTT!! Bringing the audience closer to the cinema. Astonishing and subtle performance.. 
Happy to see Murali Gopy as an actor here and delivers his best as if he does in his scripts.. 🤗" 

18:15 (IST)19 Feb 2021
Ajai Vasudev praises Drishyam 2

Film director Ajai Vasudev called Drishyam 2 'best crime thriller of Malayalam cinema'. He wrote on Facebook, 'Probably one among best Crime/emotional thriller of malayalam Cinema. Astonished, really.! what a script, Brilliant performances from the Cast. Georgekutty will remain one of Lalettan's best characters. He made it impossible for others to touch his mark. #Jeethujoseph #Mohanlal #Antonyperumbavoor✌️' 

17:56 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'Mind blowing'
17:17 (IST)19 Feb 2021
Prithviraj Sukumaran reviews Drishyam 2

Prithviraj Sukumaran penned a lengthy post on the eve of Drishyam 2’s release, explaining how much he enjoyed the sequel to the 2013 crime thriller. He wrote, "Been wanting to say something about the film for a long time now. Guess since the world premiere is just hours away..it’s ok to not hold on any longer. Following up a cult piece of cinema with a sequel is a huge responsibility. And with something like Drishyam, a film that pretty much changed the schematics of the entire industry, the pressure on a proposed 2nd part would have been immense (trust me..I know!).”

Also read | Prithviraj Sukumaran pens glowing review for Mohanlal’s Drishyam 2: ‘You’re in for one hell of a surprise’

16:44 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'One man show'

"Completed watching the #Georgekutty's brilliant narration of  #dhrisyam2 one man show. Back to back blockbusters to 
@PrimeVideoIN #Master #SooraraiPottru and now #Drishyam2 @Mohanlal #JeethuJoseph #Drishyam2OnPrime," @sivatweet said via Twitter. 

16:22 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'Must watch'

@onesuperstarfan shared via Twitter, "#Drishyam2OnPrime #Drishyam2 -  @PrimeVideoIN Excellent writing and a brilliant sequel from the team - Must watch. Spell bound. Hats off to Jeethu Joesph and team. What we can tell about @Mohanlal The complete actor and a natural performer at his best as usual. Congrats."

15:51 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'Georgekutty is an Epic Character'

Dharma Chandru posted on Twitter, "#Drishyam2OnPrime Yet another Stunning Thriller. Post Interval &  The Climax is Fire. The whole movie may not be as Epic as the first part but it's a great watch as an Individual film. Loved it Totally @Mohanlal. Georgekutty is an Epic Character #Drishyam2 #Mohanlal."

15:21 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'Mohanlal is internalised intensity'

B Unnikrishnan tweeted, "@Mohanlal is internalised intensity #Drishyam2 #JeethuJoseph."

14:40 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'We get to see Georgekutty again'

@RajDeeepLive shared on Twitter, "Very well made film! Very rarely makers gets the second part right. #Drishyam2  hits it out of the park. Ending had me glued to my seat. @Mohanlal another master stroke. Hopefully we get to see georgekutty again."

14:19 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'Don't remember any Indian thriller movie having a sequel as good as this one

@classsytweeting tweeted, "I don't remember any Indian thriller movie having a sequel as good as this one. Mohanlal does these expressions, even with a slightly raised eyebrow it just speaks a lot about the character he plays. He gives this feel of a gift being unwrapped for an amazing reveal! #Drishyam2."

14:08 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'One of the best suspense thriller'

"#Drishyam2 best screenplay & unexpected twists over beaten the previous sequence.  One of the best suspense thriller movie in recent past.. #georgekuttyisback," shared a fan @vinovish.

13:51 (IST)19 Feb 2021
Mohanlal thanks his fans

"Forever grateful for my fan-family. ❤️Watch #Drishyam2OnPrime now, " tweeted the actor.

13:27 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'Just brilliant filmmaking'

Antony Varghese Pepe posted on Twitter, "#Drishyam2 Really enjoyed #Drishyam2OnPrime and hats off #JeethuJoseph sir, just brilliant making @Mohanlal ettan."

13:04 (IST)19 Feb 2021
Drishyam 2 climax was kept from the cast

“Except for a couple of people, like Jeethu and myself, no one else knows about the climax and what is going to happen. Each and every scene is new for them, so everyone has their own version of the ending. I used to have fun with the assistant directors and ask one of them, ‘Please tell me what is going to happen?’ And they’d say ‘No sir, I am not supposed to say.’ It was very interesting as I would call them up and ask them all the time about their idea of Georgekutty and what they thought is going on, in their mind. It's interesting because no one actually knew the whole story. It will be a surprise for them when the movie comes out. They’ll be like ‘Oh My God, I never thought of this," said Mohanlal in his interview. 

12:34 (IST)19 Feb 2021
Jeethu Joseph on Mohanlal

“Mohanlal is one of the finest actors in India. He is highly professional, and above all he is a director’s actor. He exceeds the Director’s expectations. He is very interesting to work with and there's a lot to learn from him as well," said Jeethu Joseph.

12:21 (IST)19 Feb 2021
Mohanlal talks about his journey in the film industry

In this exclusive interview with indianexpress.com, director Jeethu Joseph, Mohanlal, Meena, Ansiba Hassan and Esther Anil discuss the challenges of making a sequel to a highly-loved crime film, Drishyam.

11:59 (IST)19 Feb 2021
Drishyam 2: Our verdict

Indian Express film critic Shubhra Gupta gave the Mohanlal starrer three stars. She wrote in her Drishyam 2 movie review, "It’s not easy to craft murder-mystery sequels. Jeethu Joseph’s film jumps over the familiarity hurdle by broadening its ambit on crime and punishment." READ THE FULL DRISHYAM 2 REVIEW HERE

11:30 (IST)19 Feb 2021
It's a privilege: Composer Anil Johnson on scoring for Drishyam 2

“It has been a privilege to work and compose music for this cult film which will be visualized on veteran actors like Mohanlal and Meena. I absolutely adore and respect Lalettan and it is an honour for me to work with him once again. Working with Jeethu Joseph is always magical, as he understands music and its importance. He conveys his needs in a simple and poetic manner. There was a lot of pressure to do justice to the film and create music which weaves in seamlessly with the film’s narrative. Jeethu gave me the space to dive deeper into the nuances of the tune and its orchestration creatively, experiment in my own style and make the song more interesting. He actively participates during the creation of songs which makes the entire process even more interesting and fulfilling.”

11:13 (IST)19 Feb 2021
'Really Missed The Theatre Experience'

Snehasallapam tweeted, "#JeethuJoseph Proves Once Again He's Master At The Thriller. #Drishyam2 Is Truly An Intelligent Movie And A Perfect Sequel With Amazingly Thrilling Moments. Really Missed The Theatre Experience."

In an interview with indianexpress.com, Drishyam 2 director Jeethu Joseph said that it took him five years to finalise the script of the sequel to the 2015 film. Jeethu said he wanted to explore the after-effects of the trauma that the family faced in the first film. "I thought what would be the reaction of the society to that crime? Georgekutty has been accused of a crime and now people are realizing that there is something (fishy) about it. There is no smoke without fire, right? People start gossiping," he said.

He added, "Georgekutty’s standard of life has increased. Now he has become a theatre owner. Automatically, it leads to jealousy in the neighbourhood and people start making stories. So how these sorts of things will affect Georgekutty’s family? Then I thought okay, family trauma should be the core element of this film."

After the 2015 film became a hit, Drishyam 2 inspired remakes in Tamil, Kannada, Telugu, Hindi, Sinhalese and even in Chinese. This is the first sequel that takes the audience back to the crime scene.